We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cheap and cheerful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Griffin House Hotel
Ranked #870 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Cornwall
1 review
“Great, cheap and cheerful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have just spent one night at the Griffin House Hotel and thought it was great for the money. It has been refreshed....hastily and the paint job wouldn't pass close scrutiny, but now it is clean, bright and contemporary. The local Ikea must be rubbing its hands in glee because all the rooms feature Scandinavian styling. Our double bedroom was quiet, bright, small and comfortable. The refurb hasn't stretched as far as the bathroom but the shower worked well and there were good fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. I was amazed the breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, selection of bread and cheeses, jams, eggs and tea or coffee was included in the price. The hotel needs to update its own website to reflect the changes.For a short cheap stay in London, close to the tube and shopping you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirateofPZCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    55
    47
    32
    62
See reviews for
37
55
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I AM A POSITIVE PERSON AND WOULD LIKE TO SAY SOMETHING NICE....BUT....THE GRIFFIN IS PRETTY AWFUL!!!! The location is absolutely top! Security is superb! The staff was helpful, what can they do really?, not the best job...they DID try. I was tempted to offer my servicesfor a complete interior overhaul gratis!!! It would take really so little to improve this place! For crying out loud! this DUMP could be an absolute gold mine with just a minimum of effort!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Copenhagen
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

low cost with good location, terrible beds, small , boring rooms.
Service was fair.
Breakfast low quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

If this is the general standard of English,and more so,London Bed and Breakfast establishments,then,NO THANK YOU. This has to be the worst experience of a Bed and Breakfast Establishment, in my entire 62 years of living on this planet.I can `only speak for myself,and not my wife.As a Major Organ Transplant Recipient,and also a double below knee leg amputee,this is most certainly the last sort of establishment that i should within a mile of.My chances of catching an infection from this lot,was very very high.On arrival,we were asked to pay the remainder of our 2 night payment up front.We were then ushered into a back room,along beside the reception area.The first thing that met us,was an extremely vile,ghastly smell,from a burst main sewer pipe,directly outside our bedroom window.The toilet was no more disabled friendly than fly in the air.There was no room to open 2 suitcases,unless you used the top of the bed.No kettle in the room to make tea or coffee.There was not even 1 seat on view.But of course the room was too small for one, anyhow.Then there was the dangerous,steep, filthy,stairway,down into what they describe as the breakfast room.Quite frankly,our 2 wee staffy doggies eat in a far superior eating area, than what we had here.My wife asked for corn flakes.The young man who served us,must have emptied the entire contents into her bowl.He maybe thought that we were staying away from the premises for a month.She also asked for toast,which surprise, surprise,she is still waiting for,and we have been back home in Dundee now for 5 days.I asked for scrambled egg and toast.It was in front of me within a minute.This must be a world record.But alas,the bread was barely lukewarm,which can hardly be described as toast.The scrambled egg was barely edible.We were planning a 2 night stay,as we had laid down a deposit for it.But,we decided to head back to Bonnie Dundee,Pronto.I demanded a refund for the night we cancelled.After a bit of discussion with the receptionist,who eventually telephoned the owner,i was then handed the refund. What is even more unbelievable,is that Ex-Prime Minister,Tony Blair,lives within a stones throw from this pathetic place,with a 24 hour armed guard !! My advice to anyone planning to book up, in this run down premises,is,LOOK ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#768 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#676 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#672 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Mayfair
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin House Hotel

Property: Griffin House Hotel
Address: Marble Arch 10 Connaught Street, London W2 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #870 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griffin House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Griffin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffin Hotel London
Griffin House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing