We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNSAFE - avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cromwell Hotel
Ranked #866 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UNSAFE - avoid at all costs”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Due to availability, I was booked into a double room for the first night and asked if I minded being moved to a single room for the remaining 2 nights. My suitcase would be moved during the day, hotel mgmt. assured me. Not only was the suitcase not moved, but two unsupervised minors were checked into the double room. They must have thought Christmas came early, as they completely ransacked the suitcase, stole a number of items, including passport (thrown in bin), stole car keys etc. Hotel management extremely slow to accept responsibility at every stage, even though it clearly is their responsibility and liability, no refund of room costs offered or agreed to once requested insistently, some damages paid after legal action was threatened, still dragging feet on paying remaining damages - may need to take them to court next.

Hands down the worst hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prendergast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    50
    32
    44
See reviews for
33
36
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Having read previous reviews on this website we were nervous about staying here. Fortunately for my friend and our two daughters this hotel was very nice and staff very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was big, warm and basic but spotlessly clean. Its very close to Earl's Court tube station and close to all the amenities we needed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Well how do i begin.
I was shown the room before paying (only cash or a 3.5% charge on credit card £40 per night) it was really very small i could reach out and touch both wall.
It seemed ok, although there was a very unpleasant smell..
Once i was left, I was horrified to discover the dirty, filthy bathroom, the toilet had not been cleaned from the last guest, there was [--] all around the bowl and bits of toilet paper all over the floor... my worst nightmare was realised..
I stayed in room 8 top of the stairs, as for a good nights sleep forget it, there was a loud droning noise all night, i tried to sleep with the TV on.
As for breakfast, i didn’t bother going back, once was enough.. with only a choice of toast or cornflakes accompanied by really awful instant coffee. My advice is to avoid this so called hotel, it is the WORST place i have EVER EVER stayed in..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

I’m extremely disappointed with the West Cromwell Hotel management and services. I’ve arrived at 11.00 am of the 1st July after having booked a single room with private bathroom for a fare of £60.

The prices reported by the West Cromwell Hotel on the advertisement were: up to £ 35 for a Single room with private bathroom, £ 50 for a Double room with private bathroom, from £ 65 to £ 70 for a Family room with private bathroom; on the base of this information I’ve chosen the hotel (it was a trick?) and I thought to be in a very large room.

When they’ve permitted me to access to the room B1, I find something unacceptable: it was an underground room, extremely tiny, with a window in front of a wall, with a single tiny bed, without a wardrobe or something similar where to put may clothes (maybe in their idea I had to put my clothes on the floor, under the bed because it was the only floor available). Indeed a not decent room!!

As first thing I asked to the reception if it was possible to change the room because it was not acceptable for me (I’m in London often and I never found something like this in the same hotel category). They said me that it was not possible and so I was forced to look for another hotel and so I did it for all the afternoon wasting my time (warning the receptionist that for this reason I had to leave the hotel the day after).

So I wasted all the afternoon finding another hotel and all the day on this issue.
When I came back at the hotel in the evening I found a man extremely rude that has threatened me to charge £ 120, if I decided to leave the hotel. My compliments for the hotel policy!

In his mind the notice of a cancellation was due 48h (on the website is clearly reported that is 24h) before arrival and I had to stay in the indecent room!

But it was not a cancellation, I was forced to leave for the bad service! And the receptionist and that Hotel manager are not able to understand the little difference.
After the threats I warned the rude man that he was doing something illegal (and that I had to report this to the authorities) and I had the chance to speak at phone with the Hotel Manager, so I paid only £56. But I’m still claiming against the Hotel for a refund for the very bad service and all the additional costs I’ve incurred for this problem during my stay in London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This is by far the most horrific hotel I have ever stayed at and I stay at about 30 hotels a year in London as I live down here Monday to Friday.

They advertise direct dial phones in the room. In fact, having now stayed in 3 different rooms over the last 3 nights (don't ask) they don't work as the actual sockets are broken. This contravenes their fire saefty certificate as guests cannot call reception (or be called) in an emergency and this is something I am taking action about with Kensington & Chelsea councils health & safety executive. The hotel is a deathtrap with only one escape route which is badly signed etc.

The rooms are filthy. So filthy that I was woken this morning by a mouse a foot away from my head eating through a multipack of crisps and a multipack of Kit Kats. Outside of the window are enough rat droppings to fertilise a whole field. The rooms stink in every sense of the word - they smell awful.

They have nice flat screen TV's but unfortunately you can't get a signal on them so have to watch an appalling picture.

There are no staff there half the time, I went to check out this morning upon finding the mouse but the only staff in the hotel was a lady who worked in the kitchen for breakfast.

The hotel will not refund my nights stay for tonight because there argument is all hotels in London have mice and we have cleaned the room. Kensington & Chelsea councils trading standards department who I just got off the phone to say different and I will be challenging them this evening when I return to this hell hole.

I could say fifty bad things about this hotel but I guess hygiene, vermin and fire safety are enough reasons for you to run a mile from staying here.

Service is

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DylanPemberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatsRUsWestCromwell, Manager at West Cromwell Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
All hotels have mice, deal with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights for shopping and visiting friends.

The location is very good, as it's a short walk to earl's court tube and there's a bus stop right outside of the hotel, as well as a 24h Tesco 100m down the road.
The staff were very helpful and polite with any issue I had, no matter what time of the day.
Clean rooms, nice bathroom and TV w/ cable.

The rooms are small (but this is common in central london), and the sink was clogged, but they switched me to a bigger and nicer room at no extra cost. There is some traffic outside the window of some of the rooms, and sounds travel easily through walls, though I didn't mind as the stay was cheap anyways.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolamenteJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. The Staff were helpful and charming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast, continental, from friendly Waitress. Transport links excellent. Local supermarket nearby for snacks, etc! All in all, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#707 of 1,069 in London
424 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#728 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#550 of 1,069 in London
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#657 of 1,069 in London
298 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#578 of 1,069 in London
647 reviews
Comfotel Prpl
#673 of 1,069 in London
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cromwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cromwell Hotel

Property: West Cromwell Hotel
Address: 66 West Cromwell Road | Earls Court, Kensington & Chelsea, London SW5 9QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #866 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Cromwell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Cromwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cromwell London
Hotel West Cromwell
West Cromwell Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing