We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #917 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A small good hotel, in a excellent localization. We enjoyed our stay. It's a honest proposal. The staff is very kind, and solved our questions. It's localized near of the Hide Park. We recommend for everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Adenauer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We very much value our client's comments and do our utmost to achieve client satisfaction.

We would like our guests to feel at home, and to come back again and gain, to recommend to their friends and family.

We aim to provide good quality bed and and breakfast, at a very budget price.

We are in hospitality, because we love it !

Be our guest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for The Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 296 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff was very pleasant and helpful with giving us guidance on London and how to best get around. The room was very cozy and functional since we only needed a place to sleep and wash up. The wifi was spotty and would stop working when it rained.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank BMANW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perlflaghotels, Front Office Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We very much value our client's comments and do our utmost to achieve client satisfaction.

We would like our guests to feel at home, and to come back again and gain, to recommend to their friends and family.

We aim to provide good quality bed and and breakfast, at a very budget price.

We are in hospitality, because we love it !

Be our guest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

It's not terrible, but you can almost certainly find better accommodation at the same (or cheaper!) price. The bathroom genuinely looks like it was ordered from an airplane catalogue - plastic fixtures, stand sideways in the shower, can barely stand at the sink with the door closed. The beds aren't very comfortable, the pillows are flattened and useless, and the blankets are thin and scratchy. The tv didn't work at all, and the Internet was barely there (and when we could connect it was very slow). It's nice that it has a fridge and microwave, but you can get that at any hostel.

This is the kind of place that started up in the 80s and hasn't bothered to update anything since. You'd be better off looking elsewhere; if all you want is a place to lay your head at night, a hostel would be a cheaper and better option - London has lots of great hostels that are miles better than this dump.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank mikmatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're not planning on spending your entire vacation in the hotel room, this is a very good option. Simple room, but with small refrigerator and microwave oven so you can prepare simpler meals. Good handheld shower. The toilet doesn't get water at times if flushing repeatedly. Very friendly staff! The breakfast consist of white bread, croissants, butter, cheese spread, some selection of cereals, milk and tea/coffee. Ok if you're used to that but had to go elsewhere to avoid the white bread. Didn't try the offered English breakfast for an extra charge. Very close to Paddington station, Lancaster gate and several bus stops. I really recommend this hotel if you want a good and central place to stay in but with no extra fuzz!

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank jeninski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our hotel room was a 3-bed, 1-bath. This is definitely not a luxury hotel--drop off your stuff, go explore London, then pass out at night. The bathroom is about the size of an airplane bathroom, so maneuvering inside of it is difficult. The bathroom sink did not have a stopper, and has the separate hot and cold faucets, so washing your face (or washing any clothes, etc.) was difficult. The shower was very tiny, but at least the shower head was adjustable in height. The bed was not very comfortable, and the linens and blankets were questionable at best. The stairs are almost like a spiral staircase, meaning they are shorter in length towards the "center," so navigating the stairs with your luggage is very difficult due to the size of the actual step (if you have big/long feet, it's almost a hazard!). We were on the 2nd floor (3rd floor, American) and the room was fairly stuffy when we arrived so we slept with the windows open--bad move, as the windows rattled anytime there was even a slight breeze. It was very loud. There is a YMCA right across the street, and a pub and an Italian restaurant a couple doors down, so there was quite a bit of street noise. Wi-Fi was intermittent, at best. The hotel is great in terms of location (just 2 blocks from the Lancaster Gate tube stop on the Central line, near the "Italian Fountains" and Peter Pan statue in Hyde Park, and there's a great pub called The Swan just a block away on Bayswater Road), but the actual properties and amenities leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go4elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lets be clear - this is a small, slightly shabby hotel with no lift, no public rooms to speak of and no other facilities. I didn't try the breakfast. So why 4/5?

It's a good price for central London, it was clean, the beds were comfortable and the desk staff were very friendly. If you want more than this you will pay considerably more.

Room Tip: There was some noise from the street, maybe back rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hayrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We very much value our client's comments and do our utmost to achieve client satisfaction.

We would like our guests to feel at home, and to come back again and gain, to recommend to their friends and family.

We aim to provide good quality bed and and breakfast, at a very budget price.

We are in hospitality, because we love it !

Be our guest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#619 of 1,072 in London
462 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#646 of 1,072 in London
756 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#725 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Elizabeth Hotel
#726 of 1,072 in London
1,517 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#613 of 1,072 in London
642 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#732 of 1,072 in London
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #917 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $93 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London
The Oxford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing