We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet Place in busy London”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #918 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 15, 2013

There are so many positive reviews about this place so I was convinced to book it for a 7 days stay in London. I was disappointed. There is no lift in this hotel and we had to struggle to climb a narrow stair case with heavy suitcases. The room is very small and cramped with the beds. There is no chair in the room nor is there any kind of desk or table. The bathroom is unbelievable small and you can hardly put your hands into the sink. You have two fausets, one with very hot water, the other one with very cold water. There is a very small shower cabin. The breakfast is miserable and we visited the breakfast room in the cellar only once. They offer English breakfast for an additional price, we did not try it. To get INTERNET is not so easy and only works sporatically. I have never seen such a small TV set in a hotel.
What is positive about this hotel? It is clean, in a good area of London and quit. If you only need a place to sleep, it is good enough. However, if the weather is lousy and you have to stay some extra hours in the hotel, I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Oxford hotel is well located and close to Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate tube station, thats where the plus things end.
Dingy , dated and very basic.
Breakfast in the basement , just as if you were on a school trip, crammed into a tight space to have dry rolls and croissants, needless to say only ventured down the rickity stairs once for it, the Craven Cafe next door does a lovely breakfast.
There are much better hotels for the same money to try, don't bother with this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sharenclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We was a bit excited when we arrived at the hotel, according to what other have wroted. The hotel is small, but the room was not bad. It was clean, and the beds were good. The room size was what to expect in London hotels at this price. The bathroom was the smallest we EVER seen! Clean, but thats the only positive thing to say. Breakfast was nothing, so we did only eat at the hotel once. The hotel is centrally located to the Lancaster Gate underground station and Paddington. But the next time we will not stay here. Mostly because of the bathrooms and the roomsize.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KaHa969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a family room, very clean, warm and comfortable. Room a good size. Breakfast basic (cereal, bread and croissants) but plenty available. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location, a few minutes from the tube station. Would recommend for a couple of nights but limited space for clothes. We would certainly return on another trip to London

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel. Firstly, good customer relations are clearly not one of their priorities, the man on the front desk was rude to me on several occasions. it gave a very poor impression from a tourist point of view. hair was found on the bed linen. door was very difficult to lock. our bathroom light cut out in the middle of the night and nobody was around to help. I left this hotel feeling that my patronage was not valued. Before booking the hotel, i researched other customer reviews. please take my advice and look at another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just got home from a 5 day stay at The Oxford Hotel in London. We are a family of 4 and so we booked a family room, which worked out excellently. The hotel is modest and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly located near Kensington Park and the Lancaster Gate Tube station. My husband and I agree that we will plan to book this hotel for future visits to London. Truly, the location is great and the value for the price was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Yeas, I was here with my mum turning my autumn holiday.. The palace is VERY humble. We had really no time to think where we going to stay so this place seem to be good value for your money - but not in reality..

You get free breakfast (that is nice)..And it is decent but go somewhere else, please... This was not I repeat this was not total shock but still.. You can do better.. Staff was not really friendly and there were lots of lacks in the hotel room.. Our door was broken (it was hard to get it logged) and there was no lift so we had to carry our baggages to 4th floor.

But anyways, London was great ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Hall Hotel
#455 of 1,076 in London
443 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#786 of 1,076 in London
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere
#672 of 1,076 in London
463 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#552 of 1,076 in London
321 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#436 of 1,076 in London
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #918 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $58 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London
The Oxford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing