We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is!”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #918 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked a cheap hotel in London, which is quite dificult. We paid £50 for our room which included a continental breakfast. We were welcomed by our friendly front of house staff member, who was very nice and informative. Our room was on the third floor with a velux window as our only natural light. Small room, but was adequate for what we needed it for. Breakfast in the basement which is very small and cramped. Its a great location, about 150m from earls court tube station. Don't think you'll find much cheaper in London, if your doing plenty its really only a place to get your head down.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bilko1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    87
    85
    40
    61
See reviews for
99
77
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This cute hotel is so close to Paddington train station and Lancaster Gate tube stop that it can't be beat! You can't go in thinking you're going to stay in luxury, but the breakfast is substantial and the staff was always very friendly. You can get free WiFi in the lobby. The only complaint I could give is the bathroom was extremely small (smaller the cruise ship bathrooms which is saying something!). My sister and I were able to see all of London during our week stay and really enjoyed the location of this hotel. Would recommend it for young travelers but not necessarily someone who expects 4-5 star hotels or anyone who can't walk up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Needed a cheap last minute hotel near Paddington. I only needed a place to sleep and shower so I figured this would be good. Let me say first that the guy at the front desk couldn't have been any friendlier or helpful. The first problem was that the lock on my door was broken. Easily fixed but it happened again when I checked out. The bed was comfortable and the room was plenty big/clean. The bathroom was a complete joke though. There wasnt even room to stand in it. I couldn't close the door when I used the toilet. Also, there was apparently no way to flush the toilet. I looked every inch of the bathroom and couldn't find one. But the worst of all was that when I woke up to shower in the morning there was no hot water. Left it on for 10 minutes and it was still cold as ice. Thank god I only paid 60£ and there was at least a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangeskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Burbank, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was expecting basic at this price, but very unimpressive even for a hotel in this price range. Stated amenity of phone in room incorrect - phones in room do not make outgoing calls, even local calls to be billed to the room.
Four floors, no lift. Bedspreads old, torn, graying. Staff unfriendly and unhelpful.

Room Tip: Try similar price range hotel elysee down the street. Also very basic, but staff friendly and helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

if you go to London for only a few nights, this hotel is located near the metro station which is handy, and it gives you all you'd expect of a 3* hotel in the central London...so don't expect a Hilton ;)
i hate to complain but the bed was so hypersoft it was very hard to share it with another person...i mean my husband :) i felt like i was falling into a hole when he moved.

breakfast was ok, cheese, rolls, cereal, jam , marmalade of course :) tea coffe juice- all you need for a basic breakfast.

you can leave the luggage in the luggage room after check out, which was handy

very basic, but not much to complain

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewe1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We literally booked this hotel on Hotels.com 1 hour prior to arriving (we had an earlier accomodation mishap). We were nervous about it, especially when told our room was DOWNstairs from the street-level lobby. However, the room faced a private courtyard and was bright, clean and very comfortable. The room was not spacious, and the bathroom tiny, but it's in central London at a reasonable price: you're not going to expect a lot of space.
The location couldn't be better. It is steps from Paddington station (where trains arrive from Heathrow), and the Paddington and Lancaster Gate Underground stations are both literally steps away. Yet it's on a quiet street in a fairly posh neighborhood. It is steps from Hyde Park, Kensington gardens as well. A perfect base from which to explore London. In all directions are lovely cafes, pubs and restaurants.
The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've experienced, and the breakfast a little disappointing, but overall, an excellent value and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are bright and quiet. Our room (B2) was close enough to the lobby that we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim_from_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

We very much value our client's comments and do our utmost to achieve client satisfaction.

We would like our guests to feel at home, and to come back again and gain, to recommend to their friends and family.

We aim to provide good quality bed and and breakfast, at a very budget price.

We are in hospitality, because we love it !

Be our guest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had our second stay at this hotel - six nights at the end of June. Took our daughters, so had a quad room (four single beds). Room has everything you need and would expect from a central London B&B in this price range. Bathroom is tiny - but again it's what you'd expect in this type of place.

We were on the fourth floor and there is no lift. Made for quite a hike from the breakfast room in the basement. It was also a real killer when we arrived - hauling our bags up the four flights of stairs. Easier on the way down with bags laden with all the shopping though!

Building seems very hot inside - seems to hold the heat rather too well. There was a fan in the room - which we needed to cool things down in the evenings.

Rooms were very promptly serviced each day and we couldn't fault this. Staff in the breakfast room were also very friendly and accommodating - making toast on request each morning. The breakfast is basic but very adequate, and all you need to start out a day of sightseeing.

Could hear some noise from people at the local pub in the evenings, but it wasn't too bad.

There is free wifi - which we could receive in the hotel foyer, breakfast room and on the stairs, but not in our room.

Front counter staff are friendly and helpful.

The big plus is the location - just a hop, skip and jump from either Lancaster Gate or Queensway stations; a short stroll to the Oxford Street shops and plenty of pubs, supermarkets etc in the immediate neighbourhood.

This would definitely be my first choice for our next trip to London.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable carrying your bags upstairs, then be sure to request a lower room when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#639 of 1,069 in London
456 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#755 of 1,069 in London
1,496 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#706 of 1,069 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#626 of 1,069 in London
748 reviews
Caring Hotel
#517 of 1,069 in London
782 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#603 of 1,069 in London
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #918 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London
The Oxford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing