We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”
Review of Rose Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Court Hotel
Ranked #953 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This Hotel has to be the biggest load of pants I have ever been to.
A recent visit for work (last minute booking) saw me staying in a triple room, that should have been a single, very over priced the decor is old and dirty, it smells, your feet stick to the carpet need i say more, ok i will, having paid £170 for the privilege, i got charged an extra £4 for and English Breakfast that was little more that trash.
I felt really sorry for the families that i saw in there along with other visitors to the UK, were even more disappointed than I was. This Hotel is a disgrace to the UK. I would advise all visitors to London to give this place a very wide birth.

Room Tip: Walk straight past
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasu S, Manager at Rose Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

we always take reviews seriously in order to constantly improve our service. While we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us I feel it is important to correct some inconsistencies you have written about. You booked your room last minute via an agent, in fact this was our last room available, you mention this was the size of a single, the specific triple room you occupied measures 23 feet by 10, by london standards this I can reassure you is a very comfortable room. The bathroom as well measures 7 feet by 6, a very decent size bathroom compared to a large number of other hotels in London. With particularly high ceilings as well at almost 11 feet height we believe this is an airy and spacious room. You booked your room via an agent with a booking fee, we do not have control over the final price in this case, however we believe a triple room in the peak of high season and being this the last room available in the hotel in our location at 56 pounds per person is not particolarly expensive, including the booking agents fees, vat and breakfast.

The carpets have been recently changed, perhaps not to your taste, but they are less than 2 years old, and regularly steam washed, so we would say feet certainly do not stick to the carpet. The decor is traditional and certainly not dirty nor smelly, this is totally inaccurate information, being a 2 star hotel we thrive on how clean our property and rooms are. To call our breakfast trash is offensive and again inaccurate, we offer prime products only, and our standard breakfast offers hot elements with no additional charge.

Most importantly the majority of families you saw are actually repeat clients who come back to us every year, and are very happy to come to our hotel in an unbeatable location, spotlessly clean and friendly. We believe you were particularly upset about the price you paid, but we have no control over when you booked nor which room type was available, if you would have booked in time a single room typical price starts at 85-95 pounds including vat and breakfast, which we strongly believe is a fair price to pay for a hotel room in marble arch in London.

While we are genuinly disappointed you have clearly not enjooyed your stay with us we believe your last comment about the hotel being a disgrace to be almost diffamatory and totally wrong. The Rose Court is a 2 star property in a great location, we do not oversell our rooms and offer quality service in a clean environment, all our beds and mattresses are new and of the highest quality. We don't pretend to be better than what we are, as we are a simple and clean hotel in a key london location. Kind regards, Hasu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Rose Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 342 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel due to business in Central London, its very convenient and within budget. Good for high street shopping. value for money. Marble arch tube station is just 2 minutes by Walk from where you can go any where. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good:
- Stuff was very proff, fast and helpfull: THANK YOU!
- Location (1min walk to Hyde Park corner, 1.5min to Underground station, 1.5min walk to Oxford street)
- Cleaning
Average:
- we have occupied -1 fl. (room 700), that property need some upgrades and rennovation
- lack of conditioner

Right choice for group of people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Actually when I booked at this hotel i wasnt expected at all to be good as I found :) The location is perfect in between oxford st & Edgware road ... Manager Jale and her team was very friendly, they also pinted for me the boarding pass, you can buy tickets for any london top attractions, Also they have scale to weight the bags ... I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and looking forward to go there again .. Aya from Egypt

Room Tip: Prefferable to be 1st or 2nd room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayahamdyhafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location. Rooms were reasonably sized. Very old bathrooms. We had to depart at 630 and had paid for breakfast. The male receptionist advised us that the staff do not start until 8am to do breakfast. We asked politely that as we had paid, surely we could at least have some toast or cereal before we leave. It all seemed too much for him. However we were pleasantly surprised and had croissants as well as toast and cereal for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasu S, Manager at Rose Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

I read your review with interest as we always strive to improve our services, however I was confused over your comments. Overall your review is a positive one, although I was surprised by the old bathroom one as we recently refreshed all of them, yet your overall vote is negative. I am not sure if this is referring to what you perceived to be the receptionist attitude, as you clearly state reception did indeed organise an early breakfast for you, which is what we do for all clients who leave early.
I can only apologise if this spoilt your stay with us, but I can't help to reiterate we indeed served you breakfast as although the breakfast team starts at a later stage we always try to go the extra mile to satisfy our guests. I hope you will consider us for the future so to welcome you back, also to make sure we meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the second time I stay at the rose court and I find it almost perfect for location, price and comfort. My children also love it as they had a separate bedroom within our room, almost a suite! The hotel is 1 minute away from Oxford street, we took the kids to watch a show, my wife did some shopping and after dinner we went back to the hotel, everything is so close by. The staff are super friendly, the breakfast has improved since our last visit with hot elements as well. For a 3 star hotel the rose court really delivers, much better for us than the bog standard chain hotels that London is so full of! No doubt on the next visit to London we will be back.

Room Tip: The basement has really large rooms, don`t be put off! Great family space.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Weird but hilarious hotel! We walked in and were greated by the Receptionist who informed us we were early in a very polite manner (and yes we were by about two hours) we asked if we could leave our bags there and nip out for lunch, we were told, yes just put it in the corner over there (the corner of the large reception room), had we had anything valuable we would have maybe felt a bit dodgy about this but it was just clothes as we were only staying a day so happily obliged. We popped down to Marble Arch (which you can see at the bottom of the road) and Oxford Street less than 5 minutes away!

When we returned our items were still there and we were promptly checked in and directed to our room. The room was big! We had a double(ish) and single bed in our high ceiling room with plenty of floorspace, a desk, two wardrobes and a bathroom. We noticed a kettle but no coffee/tea/cups - no issue as we weren't overly bothered. Fun begins - toilet seat would not stay up unless jussst riiiight which resulted in many loud bangs scaring the poop out of ye! The shower took some technical know-how to operate and once I was in I realised the bath was quite high and as such could only really shower if you were about 5ft as my head was over the tap and screen! I did have to laugh! The hairdryer was as good as any hotel dryer. The TV was a decent size with plenty of channels which we enjoyed after our shopping trip and evening meal. Problem was our room was on the ground floor in quite a high traffic area with a set of lights right out the window which was not glazed to a high standard. As we were clearing out the next morning we found the tea/coffee/milk/sugar in the bedside cabinet - doh!

Please do not take the above as saying this is a bad place at all! It isn't! We paid £60 for one night to stay in a hotel 5 mins from Oxford Street, we were expecting worse and it was actually quite fun with its quirks! We would definately go back but maybe see about staying in a room not on street level!

Room Tip: Ask for an off-street-level room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#803 of 1,072 in London
76 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#156 of 1,072 in London
1,414 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#308 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#668 of 1,072 in London
180 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#210 of 1,072 in London
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Court Hotel

Address: 35/35A Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $123 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Court Hotel is a converted townhouse, steeped in history having been the private residence of the Churchill family. All 43 bedrooms have private facilities and are decorated in a simple and traditional style. All bedrooms have lcd Tv screens, tea and coffee making facilities, and very comfortable beds. With such a unique location, being 2 minutes walk from Marble arch and Oxford street, we are the perfect choice for all travellers wishing to stay in the very heart of London. The team is looking forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rose Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Court London
Hotel Rose Court
Rose Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing