We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay ,will go back x” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vancouver Studios
Ranked #277 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay ,will go back x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay, we had a triple room and didn't want to climb the stairs ( no lift ) so we chose to have the basement studio ( rm 2 ) only one flight down .. The stairs down were very narrow and only had a hand rail half way down .. and steep .... The room was lovely,very clean and big , red hot shower.... The place itself is just along the road from everything you could need .
We will go back next year but will climb up the stairs as they were wider and not to steep ( when uv got cases to carry !! )
Staff where very friendly ... I'll put some photos on x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    152
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
75
83
82
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Another visit to the Vancouver Studios - very good location close to two tube lines and with a useful and money saving kitchenette. I stayed here at the beginning of September for a few days in a single studio and and the end of September for a week with a surprise upgrade to a double room. The single studios are still fine for longer stays but it was very nice having that bit of extra space to stretch out in the double room. The reception staff were still very friendly and helpful barring one woman who was more enthusiastic about her mobile phone than the guests.

These are minor quibbles but worth a mention: the housekeeping this time was very 'interesting' - I didn't appreciate being woken up by someone trying to get into the room to clean and I was disturbed on more than one day. That 'do not disturb' sign didn't offer magical protection. The cleaning was also patchy on this visit and I did find something you wouldn't quite expect in the room (purple with batteries) and so not mine. I came back one afternoon to find my room door open, not just unlocked. Thankfully there is a security system that prevents people just walking in off the streets so this wasn't a major problem, besides the fact I didn't have anything anyone would want to steal. It would still pay to use the small safe that is provided in the cupboard. Housekeeping had also decided that I didn't want to recyle my water bottles which I had left well away from any bins on a table by the window for re-use the next day. There seemed to be a set pattern on the dining table that had to be adhered to regardless and water bottles must have ruined the symmetry. All of my things on the table seemingly had to be moved to accommodate this. The new louvre wooden shutters were also badly thought out - because of the pelmet they don't actually fold back, so you can move the louvres up and down to let in light but cannot easily access the window. They look nice but could be more practical. On previous visits I have been impressed with the standard of housekeeping so I wouldn't let it put you off a visit as this may have been a transient problem.

The bed was comfortable, the shower had lovely consistent hot water, the towel were fluffy and large, the tv channels plentiful, the wifi generally good and you did not get a lot of noise from other guests, barring some panting by people reaching the top of the stairs and I too contributed to that. The man with the angle grinder on the scaffolding outside the wiindow did ruin the peace but that wasn't the hotel's fault. Overall a pleasurable stay and those stairs certainly help with the fitness level. Now I've been spoilt by the double room it will be hard to go back to a single studio. Now if I could find somewhere to write a review of the idiot that decided to close both the district and circle lines for planned engineering works on the weekend I was trying to get to Heathrow by tube. Just as well reception was there to help solve this travel dilemma and look after my luggage. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NessieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Vancouver Studios in London is just lovely. From the moment I popped my head in the door, I was treated perfectly. I had a room on near the top, but the kind lady at the desk suggested that I could change rooms if I wanted to a lower level room as she thought I was dragging suitcases, as the stairs can be tough on people. I fortunately have no problem with the stairs, but be warned - if you stay in a Victorian hotel there will never be a lift/elevator as due to preservation building codes they cannot be installed.
The room and hotel were immaculate - I let out a little cheer when I got into the room. Their single rooms can be noted as small (if you're basing size on a North American standard, for example) but for me it was ideal. I had the kitchen items I needed, lovely decor, tv and a nice view of the neighbourhood. I mean, you're in London - how much time are you going to spend in your room anyway? Either way, it's an ideal base. There's so much to see and you're in such a lovely area. It's very easy getting around. It's a jam packed area with many other similar hotels (not hotels like we're used to in North America) but you'll know what I mean when you get there...but Vancouver Studios is perfect - and a real step up from most of it's hotel neighbours and remarkably quiet too.
The kind front desk staff will take time with you to give you tips as to where everything is etc. It's super easy to get around, there are great pubs close by and it's a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park and many shops. This is a great hotel, and even greater if you can score a deal on laterooms.com I currently live in Oxford, and often come into London on weekends, seeing as It's only 58 odd miles away. This hotel is one of my top three places to stay.
I'm orginally from Vancouver Canada, and I'm glad to say that this hotel does the city of Vancouver total justice. It's just lovely and I'll be back. Book it. Now.

Room Tip: Be careful with the upper levels of the hotel, as the stairs are narrow and very steep. If you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in August. Our room was on the ground floor and opened onto a lovely courtyard where we had breakfast each morning and relaxed on the evening. The room was very quaint and pretty. The only down side was that there was no air-conditioning and as we were on the ground floor couldn't leave the french doors (no other windows) open overnight so got very hot as the weather was very warm during our stay (this probably isn't a problem normally but reflected in sleep quality rating). The bathroom/shower was quite narrow but we found it OK - could be difficult for a larger person (don't drop the soap).
Despite this, the location was excellent with a supermarket and some nice pubs nearby on Queensway. A lot of the tourist buses leave on Bayswater Rd at the end of Queensway so easy to get around the main tourist attractions. You can transfer easily from Heathrow by taking the Piccadilly line (terminating Cockfosters) to Earls Court then changing to the District Line (terminating Edgeware Rd) getting off at Bayswater. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from here.
This is a really pretty area and we enjoyed our stay here - despite the heat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights and for the most part was satisfied. There is no elevator so I had to carry my bags (1 carryon-size suitcase and a backpack) to the 4th floor. My room was small but functional. It had a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, and cooktop so I saved a lot of money by going to the grocery store and eating 2 out of 3 meals in my room. The street that the hotel is on, Princes Square, is VERY noisy at all hours. I wore earplugs and didn't hear any street noise, but I had at least one neighbor who felt the need to slam the door every time he/she left and came back. The hotel is close to 2 Tube stops: Bayswater (Circle and District lines, a 5-minute walk) and Queensway (Central line, a 10-minute walk).

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, request a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myhra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed in many places in London over the years and this is the best. Paddington is a favourite area for me due to the fast train from Heathrow. You can taker the quicker but more expensive express option or the cheaper and 15mins longer Heatherow Connect straight into Paddington Station. Vancouver Studios is a short taxi fare away but you can easily walk 20mins if you don't have much luggage. Vancouver Studios is located between two bus routes. You can pretty much get anywhere by bus. And just as close are two tube stations. Hyde Park is 10mins walk away. The rooms at Vancouver Studios are lovely. We booked in to the smaller twin studio which would have been fine for a couple of nights but as we were staying longer, we upgraded to a larger twin studio. So worth it. Both rooms had a serviceable kitchenette - we had breakfast each morning and usually heated a ready-made meal, from one of the three supermarkets in close proximity, for our evening meal. It saves a lot of money when staying in London to eat at "home". The room was serviced each day to a high standard. I cannot find fault with this hotel. The people on the desk were very nice and friendly. And both rooms were quiet. You do have to walk up the stairs as there is no lift. I would totally recommend staying here. The rate is very reasonable for a lovely room in a great location with fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Room at back would be quieter tho it is not an exceptionally busy road and it is walk-up only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlixWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#369 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#542 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#293 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
#351 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#453 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#603 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Studios

Property: Vancouver Studios
Address: Vancouver Studios 30 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#194 Business Hotel in London
#204 Family Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vancouver Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Vancouver Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Studios London, England
Vancouver Studios Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing