We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsway Park Hotel
Ranked #862 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've stayed there for 7 nights during Olympics and only positive thing to say about this hotel is location. Ladies in breakfast area very rude. We've being in room on 3rd floor, too warm, bathroom horrible. You can't fixed a fan within bathroom it was so loud like somebody hitting with hammer. No bath gel or soap provided. hence the hotel was full, breakfast area was way to small for this hotel, hence we must wait for free table for half hour.
At the end when I saw that I should pay extra 5% for paying with non-UK credit cars (AMEX not accepted) I've gone completely mad. 3 stars with rating AA ? I'm just wondering who did a rating for this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanStimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed after a concert in hyde park Exactly what we needed for the night plus cheap car park on doorstep and helpful staff
Breakfast was adequate and room was small but fine for the night. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferrymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

London is full of older b&b type hotels in areas like paddington, euston and victoria and without doubt this is one of the better ones. All of these properties have hidden drawbacks like very high stairs, or (conversely) darkish basement rooms and eclectic rooms of varying shapes and sizes etc, This is not Holiday Inn and for people who expect to get Holiday Inn at Paddington for these prices, you will leave disappointed. It is an oldish hotel which has been given a bit of a makeover. Its great strength is its staff. From the excelent front-managers Mr Kin and Mr Su to the cheerful nite receptionist David to the catering staff, the style is friendly and relaxed. If you expect to get chain style rooms at these rates then you are actually being unreasonable. This is essentially a British b&b with some extras like a potential nite bar in its nearbly Admiral sister hotel which does not operate all the time currently but would give it the edge on other small hotels. I have seen some negative reviews of this hotel but having stayed in both hotels several times, I think that you will find the staff welcoming and that overseas or indeed British guests have to be reasonable about what to expect in central London for this price range. Mr Kin and Mr Su do a good job with all the challenges and tough pricing margins in this corner of the London hotel market. I'm pleased to recommend Kingsway Park and Admiral.

Room Tip: If you may have a problem with stairs ask in advance as older or disabled guests may find the high f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked this hotel for a three-day stay based on on-line reviews and the low price, and was not disappointed. For a European B&B, the rooms were a decent size, if not in need of a bit of an upgrade, and the bathroom was very clean and had newer fixtures. The hotel is in a great location, right near a bunch of pubs and cafes and just a two minute walk to both Hyde Park and Paddington Station. The manager behind the front desk was very nice as well, and was able to help us with storing our bags both on the day we checked in and out, and accommodating any other need. A free English breakfast was served, which was just okay - if you're looking for spectacular food, I'd skip it and get breakfast elsewhere. All in all though, if you're looking for a good value on a decent B&B, I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The reasonable price and the fact that it's located right off of Hyde Park and walking distance to the tube (including Paddington Station), make this hotel a great find. The rooms are of adequate size and include a single bathroom. Additionally, breakfast is included with your stay, and not just a continental breakfast, but a full English breakfast with all of the fixings. Kin, the manager here, was all too kind to my fiancée and I. He offered us a complimentary taxi and was always 'on-call' for anything for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notzachg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

(We actually booked the admiral hotel, 2 doors down but there was a note on the door telling us to use this hotel instead)

I recently stayed at this hotel with a few of my friends, we managed to upgrade the room last minute so a 4th friend could stay.........on the jubilee weekend.......this should have been a sign !!
Upon arriving at the hotel we soon realised we were staying on the top floor so after climbing 3-4 flights of stairs (as there is no lift) we were shocked to find the "upgrade" was actually a zed bed stuffed in front of the door. So, after navigating our way round the room we opened the door to the cupboard.......sorry bathroom!! This can only be described as the sort of bathroom you would find in a caravan, complete with plastic walls a very small shower, wash basin and toilet, did I mention the toilet seat was hanging off?

After dumping our bags and heading down to reception to ask for directions we were greeted by the over friendly hotel manager "Kin". At first he was very helpful though this soon changed after he established we were 4 single girls as he produced us with his mobile number to meet up for a drink that evening. He claimed he hadn't spent his weekly "entertaining budget” for taking out hotel guests.
We had no intentions of contacting him, we were 4 friends on a night away in London and we never led him believe anything different. When checking out in the morning, "Kin" was very inappropriate with one of my friends, quizzing her on our whereabouts the night before and asking why we hadn't contacted him?! My friend felt very uncomfortable with the conversation. He went on to say that he even went to the bar he recommended to us and was looking for us – we actually saw him in the bar but quickly mingled into the busy crowds. He claimed he arrived with a bunch of friends but this wasn’t what we saw, he was on his own. So, after being made to feel like we had been on sort of date with this guy and stood him up he then tried to get us to pay in cash so he could give us discount, when we explained we were paying on a credit card and we weren’t fussed about the credit card charge he then went on to asking us individually if we could go and draw the cash out. After a few minutes of awkwardness back and fourth he finally managed to process the room charge and we made a swift exit!

I'd like to think his intentions were honourable and he didn’t mean to make us feel so uncomfortable, but this is exactly how he made us feel.

The location is brilliant, personally i'd rather pay a little extra for a better quality room with a professional and friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

hard enough to write a review on this hotel as i have mixed feelings on.
Location is good, very close to paddington center and tube/train station.
location is in sussex gardens,lots of bars,shops and restaurants close by ( but loads of them look to be owned by the Muslim community so some people might not like the food on offer)

Hotel its self is very basic. free internet in the lobby was good.
but the staff could of being friendlier. the rooms are tiny(and i mean tiny)the toilet and shower looked like something in a mobile home, it was that small i could reach the toilet from the shower.

breakfast was ok i liked it. check out was 11am i was down town and returned at 10.35 to find the had started to clean out my room(i was still packing up my bag at this stage and the door was left opened) not good enough.

good location but thats all. loads of other small hotels in the area book one of them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyMOffalyROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#524 of 1,077 in London
539 reviews
0 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#797 of 1,077 in London
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#902 of 1,077 in London
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#808 of 1,077 in London
348 reviews
0 mi away
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
#641 of 1,077 in London
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#835 of 1,077 in London
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Park Hotel

Address: 139 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #862 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $88 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Park London
Hotel Kingsway Park
Kingsway Park Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing