We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Caesar
Ranked #289 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here in early August 13 - found the room to be lovely and big and very clean.
the staff were friendly and tried to be helpful but the staff we saw couldnt speak or understand english very well, this caused some problems when we were asking them for help with bookings and wanting local knowledge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We ensure that all our front line staff speak good English although we do have some trainees over the summer period from university who are seeking work experience. I am sorry if any language barriers were experienced.

I do hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    800
    278
    96
    72
See reviews for
257
628
235
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent spacious rooms; particularly for a London hotel. My wife and I had one double room, and my sons had a separate room- both had a small 'lounge' area beside the bedroom which made it feel like we were staying in a comfortable suite rather than a standard double room. The staff were really helpful, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in London back in June 2013 and stayed at this hotel. Overall, it was a new hotel being refurbished from an old building / apartment.

The room was small, but it was very modern. The floor of the room can be noisy at times with squeaking sound. Location wise, we totally loved it as it was close to Malaysian Hall, and more importantly there was a Malaysian restaurant right opposite of this hotel (inside Holiday Villa Hotel).

I would recommend this to my Malaysian or Muslim friends, as they can get halal food just across the street!


The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay, we value all comments we receive.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

If your priority is a location to explore London City easily and an attractive price, Caesar Hotel is a good option. The Hotel is situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood and situated very close to Paddington Station and Hyde Park. You Will enjoy a rich catalan breakfast before your walk to Hyde Park, Oxford or Regent Streets. The rooms are clean enough and provide you a comfortable sleep for the value you will pay. Although the interior decoration of the rooms is average, the building is a nice sample of Victorian architecture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajandomundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay, we value all comments we receive.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are always pros and cons to staying in a hotel anywhere. Having frequently travelled to Europe, I have enough experience in hotels to understand that they differ greatly from those in the states. That being said, I agree with everyone else. The rooms were extremely small, even for European standards. The beds were firm, which is not to my liking but definitely could work for someone else. The pillows were also very uncomfortable. It is nice to see they were making improvements to the facade, but the scaffolding and men working right outside our window was less than comforting. As were the ladders right outside the elevators used to make repairs to the ceiling. Our television had only 3 channels and was only fixed after 3 requests to management. However, they were very friendly upon the 3rd request. All of the above are minor details that could have improved our stay. However, our biggest issue was the fire alarms that went off at midnight, and continued to go off for the next hour. The entire hotel waited in the lobby to only be told that it was a false alarm, and that everyone should go back to sleep. And engineer would be there in an hour to fix the alarm system. Again, I know European standards are different from America, but I would have at least expected a fire truck to show up to ensure our safety. Instead we had the guy at reception telling us that it was okay and to not worry because he didn't want to catch fire either. Easy to say when you're not staying on the 4th floor. Maybe they should reevaluate their safety protocol, because I know I did not rest easy that night. We woke up the next morning to find that there was no hot water, the tank had broken. What a way to wake up after a night without sleep. We left for the day, freezing, and returned to the water being fixed, which meant my shower had spurts of boiling water followed by freezing water, repeat. Fixed? I don't think so. We were not compensated for our inconvenience either, even after asking. That being said, the location was great and the hotel was clean. The staff was very friendly. I'm not sure if I'd recommend this to a friend, especially for the price, but it served our purposes for our trip to London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJonathanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback.

I am pleased that you found the staff and cleanliness to be of a good standard, this is important to us.

I do offer my apologies for the alarm during the night and the manner it in which is was dealt with. Derby Hotels Collection take the issue of Health & Safety very seriously and we have robust systems and procedures in place. All our staff receive Fire training every 6 months.

It is with regret that on this occasion we had a fault on the system that we had not experienced before and this caused the duty staff to have some confusion. I apologise if you felt unsafe. As with all systems they can go into fault from time to time. We had engineers look at the system within the hour.

The situation has received the highest attention and reviews of internal systems, procedures and re-training of personnel where needed. I must point out that safety was not compromised during this system fault.

Despite this unfortunate occurrence, I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance from Paddington station. Rooms are very neat BUT SMALL Staff were friendly and efficient. You can use this as a good base for exploring the city. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would use the Hotel again.

We look forward to offering you a warm welcome.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Blakemore Hyde Park
#291 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#199 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#301 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Caesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Property: Hotel The Caesar
Address: 26-33, Queen's Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#231 Business Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London
Hotel The Caesar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing