We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel, great location”
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
Ranked #838 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel, great location”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our room was basic and simple, but served the purpose. This place could use a woman's touch; its very sterile. The front desk attendant, Nash, went out of his way to help us out, so that bumped things up a notch. The Location right next to Paddington made it a fantastic place to stay (Heathrow Express to/from the airport, tube station) and easy to get anywhere we wanted in a hurry. Price was decent enough for London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    263
    352
    210
    184
See reviews for
299
288
68
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at Christmas time. The hotel looks very nice but the staff is anything but friendly. The room was clean but very small, the shower is really tiny and being only 5ft 2 in that is saying something. I couldnt wash my hair without hitting the sides of the shower. Paying 10 gbp for 24 hours of internet is ridiculous. The hotel is within walking distance of several good restarants and train stations. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

When I arrived the hotel looked nice but the reception was not welcoming. When I went to my room I found it clean but very small. I couldn't control the room temperature. It was either roasting or freezing. The single glazed window allowed lots of road noise in which never ceased. On checking out I have to say the chap in reception had a much better attitude than the first guy. The hotel has so much potential.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekhob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is nice clean and in a good location within walking distance of paddington station. The rooms were small basic but that was ok as we spent most of our time visiting attractions. No hot breakfast which was very disappointing. Not everyone likes eating bread!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank paul81a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night as I was attending a conference near by. The room is relatively small (though thats standard for the centre of London) especially at this price with near buy hotels charging significantly more.

The room and hotel was generally clean though a little dated, the options at breakfast where limited though of a reasonable quality. There was no air con though a opening sash window and a fan though suspect in the summer the room would get hot.

Its not the hotel to stay at for a special weekend though if you need a reasonable priced room in the area I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Exactly as we expected. Small rooms. Modern bathroom. Bed small but comfortable. Staff friendly. We stayed here to go to winter wonderland in Hyde Park and it was just a 10/15 minute walk away. Oxford Street is walkable but we got the bus for £2.40. If you're looking for a romantic break or luxury hotel then maybe this isn't for you, but as a budget base for London (We paid £56) I think it was good. I would stay here again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

First of all, this hotel seems to be getting a picky, bad-rap review from a lot of people.
I have stayed here twice with my other half, once in 2009 and once in 2011.
This hotel is budget so don't expect more than that and you won't be dissapointed. If you are just using it as somewhere to sleep and a budget base to explore london, this is ideal. Both times, we never had a problem with cleanliness, in fact we thought the bathrooms in both rooms we had were lovely. No views in the rooms we stayed in, but we were out most of the time so didn't need a view. We even left our bags with them after we checked out for no cost until we needed to pick them up for the train journey home.
Excellent location, just a 5 min (if that) walk to Paddington station and a 15 min walk from Hyde Park. You can walk to Harrods, etc, within 45 mins or jump on a quick tube journey to other attractions. For the money and the location (hotels in this area can be a bit dodgy, we've had previous experience) but we genuinely wouldn't mind returning to this hotel. Breakfast minimal but nice. Maybe not suitable for a "special" stay in London, but worth giving it a chance.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with the room or cleanliness, let the reception know and I'm sure they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember08052015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#850 of 1,067 in London
2,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
0.0 mi away
Brunel Hotel
Brunel Hotel
#738 of 1,067 in London
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#543 of 1,067 in London
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#813 of 1,067 in London
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#552 of 1,067 in London
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Property: Royal Eagle Hotel
Address: 26-30 Craven Road, London W2 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #838 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing