We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
Ranked #859 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is alright, nothing to get excited about. It's not exactly cheap and the room I had was one of the smallest I've been in for some time, although the bathroom was more generously-proportioned. My room overlooked the main street so there was some traffic noise, but it wasn't too bad. The hotel is handily-located to Paddington Tube/Railway station, so you can get into the city centre quickly. The room was clean and the bed OK, although I did think I'd got the Shortest Bed in England until I realised the bed had actually slid under the headboard and so I had to drag it out a few inches before I was able to keep my feet from hanging over the edge (I'm not much little taller than average).
I didn't book breakfast - and the price still wasn't what you'd call a complete bargain - still, for its price and location, I might go back. The staff were friendly and helpful, which is always a plus.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from the main street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    259
    341
    205
    184
See reviews for
295
277
67
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
614 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical tourist class hotel. Very clean nice staff and the breakfast is better than the other times I have been to London. Close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate. We flew to Heathrow and rode the express train to Paddington. It was an easy walk with our luggage to our hotel. I would recommend for a tourist class hotel. The staff was very helpful and again clean and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Before booking this hotel we didn't do much research or read it's reviews. The hotel is conveniently located approximately 5 mins walk from Paddington Station. It's an old building and although the reception area was smart, corridors were very tired looking (carpets frayed or coming away from the floor, walls scuffed etc). Our room was in the roof of the hotel and it had slanted ceilings that even I (5' 3") struggled with! The velux windows didn't open (probably health & safety), and the room was uncomfortably hot. The fan we found in a cupboard did very little to help. The room was fairly clean, but the shower was not and the grouting was cracked and nasty-looking. Bathroom was very small and not user-friendly - no hooks or storage.
The bed was very comfortable, although it did have quite a large gap in the middle where the two singles had been pushed together to make a double. The few staff we met were pleasant and helpful, and if we had needed the room for more than just a few hours we would certainly have asked to be moved to a better room. We didn't have any meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernies-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel. The staff was friendly, courteous and most helpful. Yes, the room was small, but quite adequate after our ten hour flight from Phoenix. The bath facilities appeared almost new. Our room was on the first floor and looked out on to Craven Street, but the outside noise was minimal and did not affect our sleep. The location could not have been better. Craven Road was lined with shops, small markets and cafes. It was a short walk to Hyde Park and just a bit further to the "Speaker's Corner" where we found the tour buses for our look at London. The hotel is also just a short walk(1 1/2 blocks) to Paddington Station where access to the trains and tube made travel around London quite easy. This hotel was a good choice and we enjoyed our brief stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floor in front or back is best for luggage toting travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbabcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading the previous reviews, I knew we would be getting a tiny room. Yes, the room lived up to it's reputation. The great location made up for the size. We requested a ground floor room which was helpful for accessibility issues. They also put us in a rear facing room that faced a alley so it was very quiet. Bathroom ammenities were modest but TV was lacking. (2 working stations with snow and one channel was in German) Beds were comfy and clean.
Would recommend for those looking to hang their hat for a night or 2 but not for anyone looking to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was very small and as we were on our way home after a 5 week trip through UK and Ireland 2 of us had loads of luggage - 2 suitcases, 2 shoulder bags, camera, backpack and other things one tends to pick up whilst travelling - its fair to say that these rooms are not big enough. I will state though that they were very clean and the bathroom looked quite modern with a lovely hot shower and plenty of water pressure. We did have the window open during the night as the rooms tended to get rather hot. But it was close to Paddington Station and easy access to most things and you don't tend to spend a lot of time in the room. My husband did cut his toe on the tv wires stapled to the wall when he tried to get round the end of the bed. The space between end of bed and wall is not big. At least the lift was working.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple share. The room isnt made to lax around in but you're in London so why would you. Its clean comfy and warrm, best of all it is so handy to the tube and buses. The only negative is breakfast is limited. In choice no yougart and you have to pay for wifi.

Helpful?
Thank T3urumana0
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#867 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brunel Hotel
Brunel Hotel
#750 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#767 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#535 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#772 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Property: Royal Eagle Hotel
Address: 26-30 Craven Road, London W2 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #859 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing