We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money.”
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
Ranked #820 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 26, 2013

From what I saw, the hotel looked very very tired. Stayed in room B09 for 1 night for £120 without breakfast. It was right next to a service elevator in a dingy corner of the basement. Staff outside were very noisy in the morning. The room itself was bland, very tired and noisy. The internet ( an extra £10 for 24hrs ) was so slow that it was totally unusable. Other hotels that I've stayed in in the same area have been significantly better for less.

On the plus side, the check in staff were friendly, agreed with little fuss to a refund for the internet and the hotel itself is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdiStoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit all the highlights of London. The room was clean, but a little hot and not to big, and the beds were very good. After turning the heating almost off we had a good room tempature! We loved the tea- and coffee facilities and the hairdryer! My daughter loved the bath - after a long day walking through London a good way to relax. It was very pleasant that we could check in on arrival at noon - very friendly staff at the reception! Just a short walk from Paddington Station, so a perfect place to check out everything of London. For us the breakfast was good and also here very friendly staff.
The renovation didn't cause use any problems.

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs with you because of the passing traffic at night. Noisy problem will then be sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsjeBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staying in London or a few days in order to go to the theatre and visit museums can be prohibitively expensive so it is good to find a basic hotel which is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. My wife and I have stayed in the Royal Eagle Hotel in Craven Road near Paddington Station a couple of times and were pleased to return. Our room, at £98 a night (room only), was a little on the small side and the view out of the window was a blank wall and air conditioning pipes. But we weren't visiting London to spend time in a hotel room. The bed was comfortable, the en suite facilities were adequate, and there were coffee and tea making facilities and a television so we could ask no more. The hotel staff are attentive and helpful without being intrusive. I can recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit London for a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We came for one night for our first anniversary. Really nice lobby and reception, decent rooms, although a little hot! We booked a twin by accident but the staff were more than happy to help and switched rooms for us. We ended up in a 5 bed mezzanine room with floor to ceiling windows which was lovely. Located near to paddington tube station was handy to get around for us as have not had much experience in London or the underground!

The only negative was it was noisy at night with the traffic passing and was too hot. But very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked this through Lastminute.com at short notice; it is a short walk from Paddington station, and it's clean, but it's all downhill from there. It was obvious as soon as I got to the floor my room was on that the Royal Eagle is undergoing renovation in a major way; the corridor reeked of paint fumes, and the smoke detector in my room is still covered with masking tape! I put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on my door so that I could get up at my leisure this morning without being disturbed by the cleaning staff, but I was disturbed by a furious hammering on my door anyway; I opened it to find a man in paint-splattered overalls saying that he had to turn the water off in my room, something he assured me would take two minutes but took ten times that because he hadn't brought the right tools with him. If a big renovation project is going on, inform your customers in advance so that they can decide whether or not to stay there anyway - but do NOT expect them to pay the standard rate for substandard service! Oh, and if you're away on business be careful; yes, there is wi fi available, but the Royal Eagle charges ten pounds a day for it, a fact that is not made clear on the hotel's website - which is fairly outrageous given that I have stayed in several London hotels that were cheaper than this one and did not charge for their wi fi.

This is a superbly located hotel, and if everything had worked properly I would have enjoyed my stay a great deal more; as it is, I have a headache from breathing paint fumes, and next time I come to London I'll be staying elsewhere. Oh, and despite the fact that my stay was pre-paid I was asked for my credit card number anyway "for security purposes" - so you can bet I'll be checking my card statements even more carefully than usual.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackdahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

have just come back from a weekend in London and we stayed at the royal Eagle Hotel, close to Paddington station so makes it easyto travel around. Rooms comfortable for what you pay for, though bathroom small in size. had two double beds which were two singles pushed together which made sleeping interesting.
The staff were very helpful ans assited in getting taxi's to the west end and made sure we got back okay.
Breakfast was okay enough for want we needed as a mother and tow young children

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#549 of 1,077 in London
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#614 of 1,077 in London
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#613 of 1,077 in London
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#802 of 1,077 in London
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#873 of 1,077 in London
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Address: 26-30 Craven Road, London W2 3QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #820 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $74 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing