We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Ranked #265 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
stockport, england
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, gorgeous deluxe room with huge bathroom. Staff helpful and friendly and good breakfast in the morning! Kensington High Street 5 minute walk away, perfect for shopping, eating and the tube station. Would definitely go back. Only negative was the horrendous weather which the staff couldn't help with!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foxy0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

We very much appreciate that you took the time to post details of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on your comments to all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Parkcity Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    459
    88
    33
    35
See reviews for
221
767
84
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This would have to be my third stay in the Park City in approximately 5 years.

The hotel is located in a very quiet suburban street in the back streets of Sth Kensington and handily close-by to Sainsburys supermarket for all your supplies.

We were in room 302 and found it to be very spacious for our 4 night stay.
All in all the hotel is quite good value for a London hotel…however good value is not immune to an ageing hotel.

The worst experience we had was that we had to endure 12 hours of NO hot water on New Years Day & a few false fire alarms.

The upside was that Claudia handled our frustrations re the lack of hot water with sympathy and compensated us for the inconvenience.

The breakfast is definitely simple…nothing fancy. It does have cereal, tea/coffee, fresh pastries, fresh fruit salad, hams, cheeses & a toaster.
The hotel is approximately a 5 minute walk from both Earls court station and Gloucester Road station - if you arriving by tube be sure to get out at Earls Court as there is an elevator there to assist you with all your luggage.

If you’re coming to London to shop I would say its not the most convenient location (check out my other TA hotel reviews for London) but it is great if you want to check out the shops in Knightsbridge and the V&A/Natural History museums - the museums are only a 15-20 min walk away.

Ps the bar fridge in the room is empty so its super convenient for all your cold supplies from Waitrose and Sainsburys.

Pps if you’re looking for a great, well-made espresso coffee check out Ferdinand & Wells by South Kensington tube station.











Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

On arrival all looked good. We booked for New Yrs Eve through Booking.com and paid £249 BnB for double room. I thought this was good value for a booking made in mid-Dec with free cancellation.
First impression was we got a good deal. Smart hotel, quiet location (though 10mins walk from nearest tube) and very good size room with nice decor and facilities. (Room on 2nd floor)

All went downhill the next morning unfortunately.

Firstly, as stated on here by others - no cold water in the morning. Now after a late night and few drinks on NYE i was looking forward to using the very nice shower in the room. Unfortunately a strip wash in the sink with cold water isnt the hangover cure i'd hoped for! No real explanation given - just told its a fault! I hope it wasnt because the hotel was full being NYE and the system couldnt cope with everybody using the water at the same time???

Breakfast - nice room to eat with a good continental buffet, but for a good old english fry up you had to pay £5ea surcharge. The first i had seen of this was on the menu when we went down in the morning.

But most frustrating of all...........I gave my card details for a pre-authorisation of £299 (£249 for room and £50 deposit). Upon checkout i paid cash £259. BUT here i am 7 days later and still have the £299 being held from my account!!!! Ive contacted my bank who said its on hold until 9th Jan!!!!!! How can the hotel put that date on when i paid cash the day i left?????

Be warned that if you give your card for pre-authorisation..............use that as payment and do not offer an alternative method as you may be forced to wait to get at your money!

Disappointing as i thought we had found a gem :-(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our first stop on our trip to Europe and we arrived to a typical London style hotel, picture perfect! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the room (standard) was small, the bathroom was large and the furnishings were all modern and new.

This hotel is in a very up-market area where you will walk outside the door and see some very nice cars. It is a quiet area which is nice to come home to after a day of exploring, and is 10 minute walk to the nearest train station.

The breakfast was also very nice, we especially enjoyed getting a seat by the window to see the squirrels run by outside every morning!

Room Tip: most rooms do not have a view this is common for London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

We always appreciate feedback from our guests so thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor. Here at the Parkcity we aim to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and it is encouraging to note your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked our stay at the Park City for New Years Eve as it was perfectly placed for an evenings entertainment which began at the Royal Albert Hall and ended at Bill Wymans Sticky Fingers. The price was reasonable (£150 double room with breakfast) and the website claimed that there were bath robes and a Bose radio cassette in every room.

I arrived just before four and briefly double parked to run inside and enquire about overnight parking options - sadly both eMails sent asking reception the same thing over the previous 24 hours had gone unanswered...Romeo, manning the desk, brusquely advised that I should try the Marriott or the Holiday Inn - both over a hundred yards away across Crompton Road - rather than the six pound an hour street parking available outside...definitely not the "garage next door" mentioned in a previous review. Ten minutes and £35 later I returned from the Marriot to check in. I was given room 17 on the ground floor.

First impression was good...a clean room recently decorated...it wasn't the largest space I've ever slept in but neither was it oppressively small...fortunately it was already dark so the sight of the aircon unit which filled the window was soon obscured behind the thick curtains. Unfortunately there was no sign of either bathrobes or radio cassette so as we left for our evenings entertainment we made enquiries at reception. Interestingly the receptionist said that bathrobes could be provided on request but were generally only available in deluxe rooms - my "that's not what your Web site says" passed without comment...fair play though two gowns were hanging in the wardrobe on our return after midnight.

The absence of a radio was met with greater incredulity..."its in (or on) the bedside cabinet" claimed one of the two duty receptionists who went off to the room to check as we left.

We came back a little after one in the morning and went straight to bed, noting before lights out the continued absence of radio. The bed was a great success - large and comfortable - we slept through to nine in the morning... and that's when things went awry.

I think it's an essential for any hotel stay that you have somewhere to sleep and somewhere to wash... waking up to find there's no hot water is not the ideal start to a day let alone a new year. Enquiring at reception again we were told there had been a fault but it was now fixed and the water was heating up so we went to breakfast planning to shower on our return.

The receptionist last seen heading to find Room 17's Bose set was coincidentally back behind the desk... when asked about her fruitless search she suggested that our room was "most likely one of those which didn't have one"... my "but that's not what your Web site says" passed without reply.

Unfortunately on our return from what turned out to be a continental breakfast (hot option available for a £5 supplement not referenced on the website) the waters still ran cold so we had no choice other than to pack and go, once again via reception where we asked about compensation for the lack of facilities..."we can offer you twenty pounds off your next booking if you come directly through the hotel" was the offer - but our "We can do that through Laterooms" fell on those now familiar deaf ears... as did my "I wonder what Trip Advisor readers will make of this"...

Over to you dear reader...

Room Tip: Ask if you can avoid room 17 if you plan to use daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Parkcity over New year eve, location is brilliant and very charming the staff were very helpful taking extra mile at any time I ask them something, unfortunately we had no hot water on the 1st of January but the manager was there to apologise and gave us discount for our next stay.. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted to read your comment and hear that your first stay at The Parkcity Hotel exceeded expectations. Our team do their best to ensure that each guest is looked after personally, so it’s good to know that you felt they contributed positively to your overall stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

No hot water in the whole hotel (system went down late at night and by the time we checked out at 10.30am it was still not working).
No manager on site, no manager contactable. Reception staff left to cope, with no authority to handle the situation. Despite a request, the manager's name was not shared.
Leak in bedroom through an old crack in the ceiling. Water dripped through all night.
No offer of compensation, customers were told this would be docked from the receptionists pay if they agreed anything.
This occurred on New Years eve, the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys100355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, General Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry about the hot water issue which occurred during your stay, unfortunately this mechanical issue was beyond our control though, we took an immediate action we had 2 engineer working on it the whole day the boiler and hot water were restored by 11:30am on the 1st.

I do apologies if our service & room were not to your standard, and we hope this did not put you off using us in the future here at Parkcity our aim is to ensure total guest satisfaction.

Your review is much appreciated as it allows us to improve services provided by The Parkcity Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#190 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#371 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel

Property: The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Address: 18 - 30 Lexham Gardens, London W8 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Business Hotel in London
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
#249 Romantic Hotel in London
#356 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkcity Hotel London
Parkcity London
Park City Hotel London
Parkcity Hotel London
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing