We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Ranked #360 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days in London and stayed here. It wasn't our first time in London and we chose this hotel for its position.We arrived late in the night (10.30 pm): we were given a room on the side of the hotel,facing the supermarket, on the basement. It was a quiet room: we dont' smoke and I was very disappointed when we went into the room and smelled of cigarette smoke.Actually the smell came from bed linens and towels.Luckily, the following day they changed them. The room was small but clean. After all, you don't spend much time in a room when you're on holiday. There's a basic continental breakfast.Maybe they should improve that. If you want a cappuccino or english breakfast, you pay extra. Coffee had sediments.....why don't leave a coffee/espresso/cappuccino/tea machine so everyone helps himself? We like to walk and you're not far from Natural History Museum,V&A Museum, Knightsbridge,and, if you really like walking, Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace. Tube station:nearby. Bus stop: on the main street. We could return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kellycat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for vacation in Oct 2012. Continental breakfast was included and is more than adequate. Staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. It is about a half mile walk to the Earl's Court subway station. This station is serviced by the Piccadilly and District lines so you can get to just about every popular destination directly or with 1 transfer. Piccadilly line also goes directly to Heathrow. Room is a decent size with coffee and tea equipment available. Wifi is available in lobby with wired access in rooms. There are a bunch of restaurants and bars close to Earl's Court tube station. Would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guests,

It is good to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. It was a real pleasure to read your positive comments and I will share them with our team. I’m glad to hear our staff looked after you well and that you felt our location was convenient to your needs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Parkcity Hotel.

Kind Regards

Sandra
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for a Sunday night so we could see a performance at the Royal Albert Hall.

The hotel was well priced and located, and our room modern, clean and relatively spacious with nice touches - roomy bathroom with handheld and rainforest showers in the bath, and decent tea/coffee facilities (in terms of quality and usability!) Staff were positive, attentive and helpful, and the continental breakfast included with our booking gave plenty of choice and was kept fresh and well stocked. We’d certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for businesses or pleasure and will book with them again

Room Tip: 305 is at the back of the hotel, with good access and a level layout - but sandwiched between the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate that you took the time to post details of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on your comments to all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Parkcity Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Sandra
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a gem of a hotel.
From the moment we checked in ( which was very early at 10.30am ) , I had telephoned to see if this was possible as we
Had some excursions planned and nothing was too much trouble from the reception staff.
Given a map of the area and had the nearest tube stations pointed out.
Had a lovely king size bedroom supplied with everything you could want , Bose wave sound / alarm clock with cd player.
Internet enabled tv and free wireless in the reception area.
The bed was the most comfortable I can remember in any hotel.
Goose down pillows and duvet.
Very quiet location.
Continental breakfast inclided was fresh and plentiful , not your usual british choices , but more like A real continental breakfast you get on the continent ! .. In fact a lot of German guests seemed to be staying here. You can upgrade to full English for £4.95 I think .. This looked good too.
Lots of cheeses , meats and breads , fresh fruit salad , yogurts etc.
Would definitely stay here again .
Close to Kensington palace (15mins walk), Natural history museum (20 mins walk) , tube stations (10 mins walk) , harrods (30 mins walk).
Go try it ... You won't be disappointed .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank skilegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guests,

I am delighted to read your comment and hear that your first stay at The Parkcity Hotel exceeded expectations. Our team do their best to ensure that each guest is looked after personally, so it’s good to know that you felt they contributed positively to your overall stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay.


Kind Regards

Sandra
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Room was a good size, very clean, good breakfast, the only fault possible would be a slow lift in the morning but to be expected as it appeared the whole hotel went for breakfast at the same time. Whilst checking out the reception desk were lending an american couple a mobile phone for their stay, way above what is expected!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1999m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. I’m so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you found our team welcoming and obliging.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sandra
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently when we had to unexpectedly return to London earlier than planned. We'd stayed in the Ashburn Hotel the week before and when we called them to see if they could accomodate us they were full, but suggested we call the Parkcity, their sister hotel.

The Parkcity isn't too far from the Ashburn; it is a little bit farther from a Tube station (it's pretty much right between the Earl's Court and Gloucester Road stops), but either way, it's not a difficult walk, even with luggage. The walk to the Earl's Court station is a bit nicer - leading you past a small park - and the street near that station is loaded with restaurants and shops.

We found the staff at the ParkCity very helpful and accomodating - my husband had lost his passport and we had to print out a lot of forms and get directions to the nearest police station - the staff helped us with all of this.

The room we had was a bit smaller than our room at the Ashburn the week before (but I think we selected a lower grade this time), but very quiet, nicely decorated and clean. There were chocolates welcoming us in the fridge, which was very nice! The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

The breakfast room at the ParkCity is bigger than the one at the Ashburn but the selection of foods for the included continental breakfast was just about the same - very generous and a good variety. We found the staff in the breakfast room to be very professional and welcoming.

If you're traveling with a laptop you'll have access to Internet in the room; if you have something like I did, a tablet that is Wi-Fi only, you'll need to go to the lobby to connect. I didn't find this to be too much of an issue as it's a short trip on the elevator to the lobby, and I wasn't in London to spend a ton of time online, anyway! But business travelers would probably want to make sure to have the necessary equipment. There's also a business center in the lower level with computers and printers that are available for a modest fee. This came in handy for us when we had to print out all of those passport forms!

It would be a hard decision for us to choose between this hotel and the Ashburn for our our next trip to London. Perhaps we'll have to stay at both!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkcityMgt, Manager at The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guests,

We very much appreciate that you took the time to post details of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on your comments to all concerned.
I am very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed both of your stays in our properties.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Parkcity Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sandra
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went with a tripadvisor recommendation for this hotel and people were spot on that it was an excellent place to stay. The hotel staff helped arrange a car for us to be picked up at the airport. The car company was excellent and the driver very courteous. Upon arriving, the staff got us checked in very quickly. The room was very nice. Comfortable bed, flat screen tv and internet. The room was large, and had plenty of space to move around in. The room was cleaned thoroughly daily and a newspaper was delivered each morning. The continental breakfast was excellent, french pressed coffee, fresh juice, pastry's, fruit, sundry's and cold cuts. We toured London for a few days, and the staff helped us out with directions to each tube station, helped us with plans etc. Our luggage was lost for a day by the airline, and when it was delivered to the hotel, the staff promptly brought it to our room for us. The location of the hotel is close to the tube station which makes travel around London easy. We will gladly stay here on our next trip to London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in a deluxe room and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,078 in London
3,869 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#182 of 1,078 in London
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel

Address: 18 - 30 Lexham Gardens, London W8 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Business Hotel in London
#248 Romantic Hotel in London
#251 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $124 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkcity Hotel London
Parkcity London
Park City Hotel London
Parkcity Hotel London
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing