We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff, good place!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #476 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Hull
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great staff, good place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks back for a few days for a festival i was at nearby.

The hotel itself is not cheap, and for what you find i would expect a little more for my money but it was close to where i had to be.

The room itself was a twin, which felt a little small but big enough for us, we weren't using it all the time so it didn't matter too much.

The bathroom was where i felt let down, there was a loose couple of tiles in the bathroom, seal around the bath black/cracked, and although the place was clean these little points which seem picky make you think what else wouldn't be right.

I did mean to mention to the staff but the electrical plug on the wall wasn't on the wall right it was loose very loose. and the Television looks like it was just planted randomly.

What i did find was the staff to be very nice and helpfully, accommodating, the entire hotel like i said to be clean.

The lift was broken when i was there not sure if that is a constant thing or not.

the 2 things i found strange were 1, u couldn't take your key with u so they gave u a little card ID, which is fine just worried about if u lost it. 2. when checking in they were "strict" saying we couldn't check in till 2, this was at 1.50. its not a big deal but i found it strange.

Will i use it again..Probably not. I would however recommend it if i knew of anyone who had to be in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingeinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Byron Hotel following your recent stay.

I am happy to read that you found our location very convenient and central which is one of the important factors while booking a hotel room. I am pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and the entire hotel very clean. Due to some mechanical problem our lift was out of order and unfortunately it happened during your stay, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused, rest be assured lift along with other minor points which you mentioned above have already been fixed.

I sincerely hope you would consider coming back to our hotel so that we could change your opinion about Byron in a positive way.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    337
    184
    56
    33
See reviews for
165
314
50
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I admit I was nervous about staying here, having read some of the negative reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very nice throughout the week I was there; the room (a single) was very small - in keeping with the area's housing stock - but comfortable; the bathroom was clean with a good strong shower; and the cooked breakfast was tasty and substantial. The location is pretty good, too. You get an hour of free wi-fi each day, which was more than enough for me. This isn't luxury accommodation, but it's not priced to be; it's a good, moderately priced hotel.

On the negative side, some of the mechanical systems need work. The elevator went out right after I arrived, and was out of order for the entire week. The air conditioning didn't work in the first room I had, and it was weak in the second room I took (after moving because of the lack of air conditioning in the first room); in fact, even though I had it turned all the way up, it still blasted heat one night. If they get these problems worked out, it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for letting us know your invaluable feedback following your recent stay at the Byron hotel.

I am pleased to read that you liked our great location and our friendly and professional staff, I’m even more pleased to read that you enjoyed our English breakfast.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the mechanical breakdown (lift and air-conditioning) during your stay. I hope you understand this was an unexpected breakdown to which we responded as quickly as possible and tried our best to mitigate the inconvenience caused to our guests. I am happy to inform you that both the problems have been resolved and necessary actions have been taken to avoid this kind of things in future.

Now I hope to welcome you back soon at the Byron Hotel for an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good & Recommended hotel where food, transportation and shopping are less than five minutes walk in addition to the mannerly dedicated hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iambg1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, even more so reading about our highly rated staff, they do live by our motto “No request too large no detail too small” and it is great to see that this is noticed and appreciated by our guests.

I sincerely hope we see you again in the near future for another wonderful Byron Experience.

Warm Regards,
Carmen Gomez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Mid week booking £140 for one night. Room was still not made up at 1230 went for lunch - shower was over bath but mechanism for lifting to activate shower missing. Really low drilling, PAT test labels out of date!!!! Air con - not working, French door overlooked walled area and covered in pigeon crap. Biigest gripe is the bed was dreadful!!! Have thrown better out!!! Try elsewhere bayswater

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanedinnurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Alanedinnurgh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Byron Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

We are sorry to read about the problems you faced during your recent stay at The Byron. Our check-in time is 14:00 which is clearly mentioned on all reservation confirmation but we still try to make the rooms ready as soon as possible. Once again we are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, but are sure that if you had spoken to our reception staff the minor issues in your review could have been addressed immediately.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It is supposed to be a 4 star but for an Italian it looks like a 2 star.
Old rooms, carpeted, faucet needs to be fixed as well as bath.
I was given the so called suite...it was quite ridiculous... I basically have a room larger than the average with a small adiacent room with a sofa bed and a small table. I never went into it a part from when I checked if the door of the other room was closed or if it was open... it was open! If i didn't check anyone could have come in my room from that entrance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The air condition does not work. You have to literally beg the shower to let out some water. Staff is cooperative. Rooms are big if u take triple occupancy. Area is nice. The hotel has no facilities at all. You rather stay in another area and pay the same for a 5 star. I had a room for a week but could not survive for more than 4 days. Later shifted to Hilton next to baker street for some what the same price

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dur2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Byron Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Whilst I’m pleased to read that you were happy with our customer service, location and the size of the rooms, I am genuinely sorry to read of your disappointment with the air-conditioning. Rest assured, we have looked in to this problem. We are sorry that we were not able to match up to your expectations, although The Byron’s facilities are highly complimented by a number of guests.

Once again we are sorry that we were not upto your expected standards and have taken on board all of your valid criticisms inorder to improve our service to future customers.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I would consider the Byron hotel to be an average hotel, maybe slightly less than average. Believe the reviewers when thay say the rooms are small! They are VERY small, hardly enough room to move around. My room was located in the basement and the front desk told me I had received an upgrade. Upgrade??? I guess they have rooms where you sleep standing up! The room and bathroom were relatively clean, however there was a noticable grime build up in the corners and other hard to reach places, etc. However, my complaint was the smell! The entire building was permeated with the smell of squalor. It was very strong and made me sick to my stomach, so much so, I immediately went to Tesco's to purchase one of those "plug in" air fresheners which seemed to do the trick.
I found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful, my main complaint there was that they refused to call a cab and instead would call a private car service which costs more and leaves alot to be desired. There is obviously a kick back scheme in place.
I found the Bayswater area to be very convenient, Close to the tube and buses, a Tesco's grocery store about 3 blocks away and a self serve laundrette about a block further with ATM machines along the way.
The Byron is not a horrible hotel, but I would not return. I would look for something else and advise you to do the same.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesMinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, General Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Byron Hotel following your recent stay.

I am happy to read that you found our location very convenient and central which is one of the important factors while booking a hotel room. Whilst I am happy to read that found our staff friendly and helpful I am most concerned about your inconvenience with the smell in your room. We never had this complaint in our hotel but please be assured it’s already looked into and I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I am very sorry that your stay with us was not as positive as that of others on this occasion and I sincerely hope you would consider coming back to our hotel so that we could change your opinion about Byron in a positive way.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#589 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#510 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 39 Studios
#640 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#423 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#296 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Property: The Byron Hotel
Address: 36/38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London
The Byron Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing