We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Court Apartments
Ranked #700 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

+ Great location, walkable from Paddington station.
+ Kitchen and cooking facilities are great for long stay business travellers who prefer cooking themselves
+ Free Wifi in the lobby/reception area
+ Larger rooms on 4th floor

- No Restaurant
- No WiFi in rooms
- Compact rooms, only one person can breathe in some double rooms :-p
- Noisy, you can hear next room whispers

I have stayed here a number of times from 2008 to 2011. Each visit was minimum 3 weeks.
Why did I come again and again, company had a tie up with them :(

Room Tip: *14 rooms are tiny and noisy e.g. 214 *17 rooms are larger and quieter e.g. 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyDrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    271
    109
    54
    50
See reviews for
112
254
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

RCA is located in Central London with HYDE Park and Lancaster Gate station at walking distance. Though Hotel room looks quiet old but it provides all the required facility for a couple and individual to have a comfortable stay. Hotel management takes proper care of its cleanliness. Small kitchen with all the utensils , clean bathrooms and LCD TV for entertainment, earlier it had small CRT TV but on my second visit I got an LCD :p.

Hotel staff is very co-operative. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamAmi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Room smelled of bug spray. "Adult" stain on couch and wall. Uncomfortable bed. Pretty much sums it up. Would have switched hotel had I not have pre-paid. To be fair the staff was friendly, the stay was cheap and the location is good. Would still look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Aard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here 4th week of Jan2013. Booked here after looking at reviews in tripadvisor and boy am I glad! We arrived early morning at Paddington station and it is walking distance from there. Booked through a major online "booking" website - the price was really good. I must say the room is great. It is about 20sqft and has a queen bed, sofa, dining table, and a full working kitchen. The room i had had good shower (no tub) and is really clean.

The location was good. It is within walking distance to two tubes with different lines (Central & Green Line). Walking distance to Hyde Park which is excellent!!! The next day it was snowing hard, so Hyde park was filled with snow and people brought their family to the park to play with snow. If you like to stroll, you can even walk up to Marble Arch without taking the tube. Muslim food is available nearby easily- there is even a Malaysian restaurant Tuk Din about 3 minutes walk.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if the price is maintained.

Room Tip: Book early with websites that allow free cancellation to get better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NrlY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is a strange mix of sleek/modern and tatty/neglected. This was our second stay, although we had booked a third which fell through due to illness. Our memory of Royal Court Apartments was that it was a bit rough and ready but had a great location and was an affordable option for a few nights in London.

When we arrived the reception staff consisted of one very friendly man, and another grumpy looking older gentleman. I immediately noticed the broken extendible handle from someone's suitcase lying in the foyer by the lifts - not a great first impression, and it is this carelessness that exemplifies the one major thing that Royal Court Apartments gets wrong.

Check-in was swift (they require passport numbers for every guest which seems a bit much!) and we were soon in our first floor apartment. The kitchenette looked new and was well appointed, as was the modern looking bathroom. The bedroom area was very run down, with chipped furniture and cigarette burn holes in the net curtain. There was no duvet on the bed, only a top sheet and bobbled acrylic throw. I was a bit horrified at the lack of duvet at first but the sheet-and-throw combo was comfortable enough in the end. Still, a duvet is standard in most hotels and was missed! The flat screen TV was mounted to the wall opposite a cream suedette sofa which was covered in stains. It looked really unclean and we asked for another throw to cover it with, which was provided quickly. An alcove was set into the wall just above head height in the dining area and it was carpeted with a thick layer of dust, obviously having been left uncleaned for months.

The room could have been improved by a decent cleaning and the provision of simple things like another mirror (the only mirror was in the bathroom so if you wanted to do your hair/make-up and someone was in the shower you were out of luck) and a shelf in the shower (you have to put your toiletries on the floor of the shower which is a bit of a pain). There was also no towel rail, although two stickers on the bathroom door asked you to leave your towels on the rail if you were happy to use them again! We weren't lucky enough to have a bath but the shower was great.

The lifts are very clunky and they don't line up level with the floor so you need to watch your step when getting out of them! Not once did we exit the lift not to find some debris left strewn about or piled up by the cleaning staff - sometimes piles of dirty bedding, other times overflowing bin bags.

Despite these niggles, we had a comfortable stay. The location is amazing - a quiet neighbourhood next to the stunning Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate tube station literally at the end of the street (Paddington is also nearby). There is a convenience store around the corner and lots of restaurants to choose from. We loved having a living room area separate to the bedroom so that one of us could stay up and watch TV while the other went to bed. The kitchenette was so convenient for making a quick, cheap breakfast to save on eating out.

I would stay here again for the location, facilities and price - I'd just love it if they'd pay more attention to cleaning and maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prismacolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my fifth visit to RCA, after a gap of almost three years. I was pleasantly surprised when I was given a very warm welcoming smile of recognition. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous.
RCA is a value for money stay. The room was cozy, comfortable and adequately big. TV, Fridge, Microwave, Hot plates, Kettle were in tip-top condition. The location of RCA is excellent- just a few minutes walk from Lancaster gate tube station & Hyde park, as well as around 10 mts. walk from Paddington. I would prefer to stay at RCA whether it is a business or pleasure..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moi, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was great. The room had everything we needed and even more. Our room had a kitchen with a fridge and everything so that we could cook us some food if we wanted to. The bathroom had a bathtub, which was lovely to relax in after a long shopping-trip in Covent Garden. For me and my mum, who aren't well-known in London, it was great to live in a hotel so close to Hyde Park, the Paddington-station and the underground. A big plus for the location!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrondAS4460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#123 of 1,088 in London
227 reviews
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#326 of 1,088 in London
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rhodes Hotel
#300 of 1,088 in London
1,381 reviews
Fountain House Apartments
#669 of 1,088 in London
64 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Apartments

Property: Royal Court Apartments
Address: 51 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #700 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Court Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Apartments Hotel London
Royal Court Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing