We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #280 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a triple room for two adults and a child, and it was terrific in terms of space - the 3rd bed had its own loft area. The staff was friendly and helpful, even in the midst of a lobby renovation. Excellent location, with two Underground stations just down the street to get you everywhere. I would definitely recommend the Phoenix and its great staff.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are very spacious when compared to other European hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for recommending Phoenix hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    814
    276
    42
    18
See reviews for
315
430
260
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My only complaint is how tiny the room is, so don't stay here if you're single and claustrophobic. Other than that, it's clean, comfortable, quiet and close to shops, restaurants, bars and tube station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel. We are hoping to welcome you back next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay at the Pheonix regularly and find it very friendly,convenient, and comfortable and would recommend the hotel to all.The staff are very helpful and efficient. The location could not be better so close to everyhing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind review and for recommending Phoenix hotel. It's always a pleasure to welcome you back to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located in one the most beautiful areas of London. Quiet, nice, good service. Some rooms are quite small but friendly. Good choice for bussiness or leisure. Quality/money equilibrated. Breakfast variety and quality as spected.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ea1ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent almost 200USD/per night here.
Overall, I'd say there is a 35~50% chance I might be coming back staying here.(if there were a better bargain)

The hotel itself is "okay" but the location is great! It's near 3 tube staitons which are Royal Oak, Bayswater and Queensway, so you can almost get to anywhere you wanna be without changing lines.
And there are many restaurents near by the hotel open until late night, so even if you spent all day visiting and shopping, you can still find somthing to eat.(P.S the famous roasted duck restaurent in London, Four Seasons Restaurent is just around the corner.

Here are some downsides,
1、the hallway is so narrow, if you were a big guy with luggages, there might be some troubles getting to the room.
2、a little bid old(some pictures here are true about the old walls and doors)
3、bathroom is also very small....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback and are always striving to improve the facilities and the services we provide. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Phoenix hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Once again I had an excellent stay in the London.

The multi-lingual staff at the front desk is always so welcoming and cannot do enough to assist you in whatever way they can.

The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and looks a million dollars. Wooden floors in the lobby adds a very rich texture to a very historic building.

Once again location cannot be beaten. 2 underground stations located nearby and if you are travelling from London Heathrow's airport the Paddington express takes you within a mile of the hotel.

You are totally spoiled for restaurant in this area and of course the parks are nearby for that early or late morning stroll.

As always you have free wifi throughout the hotel and a complimentary breakfast to get the day started.

Room Tip: It is always best to get a room to the back of the hotel, since it much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. We are delighted that you have chosen to return to Phoenix hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last march for over a weekend and my whole stay was just perfect from location to room facilities. The hotel is really close to 2 main underground stations, right in between Notting Hill and Bayswater, so whole surroundings are just beautiful.

They were doing some refurbishments though, but the place still had that charming victorian atmosphere which I found just romantic...

Staff is just superb!since the first moment I arrived they received me with a huge smile and they made me feel all my needs were covered. I feel really thankful to the front desk for all of their kind gestures and they're the main reason I'm wtiting this right now.

I had the nicest individual room I've ever stayed in!an ensuite split level room with stairs to my bed, vintage wall paper and a candelier lamp! It was just like a dream I will come back as soon as I can :)

Breakfast and wifi!

Thank you Phoenix

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_land9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us soon and to show you the newly decorated public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#445 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#297 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#340 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#358 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel
Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Business Hotel in London
#281 Family Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Phoenix Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing