We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice even for medium budgets”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #286 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located in one the most beautiful areas of London. Quiet, nice, good service. Some rooms are quite small but friendly. Good choice for bussiness or leisure. Quality/money equilibrated. Breakfast variety and quality as spected.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ea1ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent almost 200USD/per night here.
Overall, I'd say there is a 35~50% chance I might be coming back staying here.(if there were a better bargain)

The hotel itself is "okay" but the location is great! It's near 3 tube staitons which are Royal Oak, Bayswater and Queensway, so you can almost get to anywhere you wanna be without changing lines.
And there are many restaurents near by the hotel open until late night, so even if you spent all day visiting and shopping, you can still find somthing to eat.(P.S the famous roasted duck restaurent in London, Four Seasons Restaurent is just around the corner.

Here are some downsides,
1、the hallway is so narrow, if you were a big guy with luggages, there might be some troubles getting to the room.
2、a little bid old(some pictures here are true about the old walls and doors)
3、bathroom is also very small....

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback and are always striving to improve the facilities and the services we provide. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Phoenix hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Once again I had an excellent stay in the London.

The multi-lingual staff at the front desk is always so welcoming and cannot do enough to assist you in whatever way they can.

The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and looks a million dollars. Wooden floors in the lobby adds a very rich texture to a very historic building.

Once again location cannot be beaten. 2 underground stations located nearby and if you are travelling from London Heathrow's airport the Paddington express takes you within a mile of the hotel.

You are totally spoiled for restaurant in this area and of course the parks are nearby for that early or late morning stroll.

As always you have free wifi throughout the hotel and a complimentary breakfast to get the day started.

Room Tip: It is always best to get a room to the back of the hotel, since it much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review. We are delighted that you have chosen to return to Phoenix hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last march for over a weekend and my whole stay was just perfect from location to room facilities. The hotel is really close to 2 main underground stations, right in between Notting Hill and Bayswater, so whole surroundings are just beautiful.

They were doing some refurbishments though, but the place still had that charming victorian atmosphere which I found just romantic...

Staff is just superb!since the first moment I arrived they received me with a huge smile and they made me feel all my needs were covered. I feel really thankful to the front desk for all of their kind gestures and they're the main reason I'm wtiting this right now.

I had the nicest individual room I've ever stayed in!an ensuite split level room with stairs to my bed, vintage wall paper and a candelier lamp! It was just like a dream I will come back as soon as I can :)

Breakfast and wifi!

Thank you Phoenix

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_land9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for the positive review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us soon and to show you the newly decorated public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent extended 4 night weekend stay. The hotel is clean, comfortable and staff are friendly and always willing to help. Getting to the sights of London was very easy including shopping in Oxford Streets, theatres in Leicester Square, restaurants in Covent Garden and walking in Hyde Park! Well located and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDFOOT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for the positive review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us soon and to show you the newly decorated public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Phoenix for the weekend. This is one of the best hotels in London we have stayed at. All the staff are polite, attentive and friendly. The rooms are clean and serviced to a high standard and its location in terms of Hyde Park and Theatre Land generally is great. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for the positive review and for recommending Phoenix hotel! We will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us soon and to show you or newly decorated public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel for 3 nights in the early May, I stayed in a twin room with my mum , the room was very clean and bright.
I' m really satisfy, everything is excellent there , the breakfast is delicious.
The staff from the reception and from the office were friendly and helpful , reception is open 24 hours.
The Hotel is undergoing some renovation at present , they didn't' t affect our stay , everywhere is going to be fabulous and bright , especially the entrance area :-D
I will recommend this hotel to my friends and I will come back again during summer time.

Wi-Fi free ; 2 tube stations around the corner ; close to the park ; close to the shopping centre ;taxi and shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValeCili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for the positive review and for awarding Phoenix Hotel your top-score! We are delighted that you reccomend the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#317 of 1,077 in London
2,355 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#402 of 1,077 in London
314 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#357 of 1,077 in London
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#297 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#263 of 1,077 in London
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Business Hotel in London
#280 Family Hotel in London
#363 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $87 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Phoenix Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing