We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staff, good location but tired and cramped”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #279 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
the hague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good staff, good location but tired and cramped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dispite of the location and staff i would not visit again.
With westbourne grove, portobello market and public transport within walking distance the location is great. Butt the building is in dire need of a restauration and the rooms need remoddeling. Although the room i stayed in was so small they can beter turn it in to a broom closet. If you want to travel to London i can highly recommend the area but for the rates the Best western charges you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martijn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel; your comments are very useful to us as we are always looking for ways in which to improve the hotel and the services we provide. Phoenix Hotel is no longer part of Best Western and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy the improvements which have been made to the hotel since you wrote this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    814
    276
    42
    18
See reviews for
315
430
260
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boyanup, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I'd booked this hotel through a travel agent. The room was small with a single bed but it was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were friendly and it was handy having a guest computer which was free to use. There was a good selection for breakfast. It's best feature is the location. Close to Kensington Park and 2 tube stations. The area was quite nice as well. As a woman travelling on my own, I felt safe going back to the hotel in the early evening. There is also a good selection of pubs & restaurants to eat at. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this hotel via email with the hotel. We got an excellent rate for peak season (August). On arrival were allocated a large room which had a stairway leading up to a loft area with a double bed which was very handy as there was three of us staying in the room. The lift was very small. The breakfast which was included in the rate was good lots of selection and a good start to the day. The staff were courteous and efficient. There was a small bar in the hotel. The breakfast area got very busy very quickly in the morning so you would not want to be in a rush! The location of the hotel was excellent for us it is within 5 minutes walking distance to two tube stations Queensway on the central line and Bayswater on circle and district line. I really thought the hotel was in a brilliant location loads of restaurant nearby and you were only a short tube journey away from all the major London sights. There was a computer in the lobby area which was great very useful and having free wi fi in the bedrooms was a plus. I would recommend this hotel for the value for money and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a loft area therefore you will have extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel is very clean. Rooms are not large but there is enough room for two. Breakfast buffet was included. Staff at front desk extremely helpful.
Bar is small. Location is convenient to Tube and tour buses.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely room and bathroom can be a bit chaotic waiting for a table at breakfast with their being two enterance and some people not bothering to wait to be escorted to a table nice selection for breakfast

I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank nikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in this well situated hotel. We got an early check-in, which was nice. But the first night we could not stay in a twin room (seperate beds, which we booked) but in a double room, with one big bed. However this was resolved by giving us (two friends travelling together) two separate duvets (they also offered to put us in two single rooms, but this solution of two duvets was fine). Hotel staff were friendly.

Good sized, clean room, adequate bathroom with good quality toiletries, coffee and tea making facilities with biscuits, excellent bed and pillows, good room temperature, free, good working (most of the time) wifi.

Breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was continental (buffet), which was fine for us. If you prefer a cooked breakfast, you had to pay extra. Coffee could be better, but the rest of the breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and the buffet was always well stocked.

The area was full of restaurants and shops, and we always felt safe. The hotel is very close to either Bayswater of Queensway tube station and less than a ten minute walk from Hyde park.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for an affordable, but great hotel in Central London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and for awarding Phoenix Hotel your top score. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel four nights in October. The hotel is well-situated close to Bayswater underground station and also many bus routes.
The room was for four persons and it was very spacious. The television was too small to this size room.
Breakfast was plentiful and very good.
The personel was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tukano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#442 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#294 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#297 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#357 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Caring Hotel
#507 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel
Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Business Hotel in London
#281 Family Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Phoenix Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing