We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End September Stay”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #278 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good situate close to Kensington Gardens and Underground; very helpful and kind staff. Rooms rather small and noisy if windows open to street. Breakfast no vegetables and few fruits. (Full) English Breakfast extra charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and although the single room was small it was well presented with a small but modern bathroom. The staff were good; they delivered an iron to my room in a very busy morning so I could leave on time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy8408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very useful to us, as we are looking for ways in which to improve the hotel and the services provided, while keeping our rates competitive. We hope to welcome you back to Phoenix Hotel next time you visit London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Whenever quality service provided, courteous manner treated and competent advice shared have been consistent every single visit, three to four in the last 24 months, I have no other choice but to write and comment and praise all parties behind this operation; manager; staff members and every one else responsible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idujaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Because we needed to fly back to the US from Heathrow early in the day, a cousin helped us find a hotel near Paddington Station from which we could catch the Heathrow Express. That hotel turned out to be the Phoenix - a lucky well priced find. It has an elevator which was helpful for my elderly mother to get to our room on the second floor. Our suite room was a little cramped but it had a nice modern bathroom. We stayed at hotel at the end of August and the room was quite warm even with the windows open and the two fans provided running. The desk staff was helpful with directions. The Phoenix is a short two blocks from Queensway street which is teeming with shops and eating places and houses the entrance to the Bayswater subway station. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of foods and drinks available. Unfortunately when we left the hotel we forgot a poster that my daughter had carried through France and the UK. When we were all back in the US I emailed the Phoenix to inquire about the poster; the staff located the poster and mailed it to us in the US which made my daughter happy and me grateful. Thanks Phoenix!

Room Tip: The suite room worked well for three of us desiring separate beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lichenbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and tidy

Free wifi in the room - always a bonus

Only negative would be the very slow lift

Location great two tube stations close by, Hyde park walkable, helpful staff. Barman very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katydid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It was very convenient to find that this hotel offers a single room option the proximity to transportation by taxi, bus and underground also makes the location attractive. It is surrounded by restaurants, shops and a mall with cinemas. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and they kept the room and common areas clean. Though small the room i selected was very comfortable. There were many caring hospitality touches such as providing a varied selection of tea biscuits in the room each day with the usual coffee, tea and hot chocolate provisions. The included continental breakfast was adequate as well. I would recommend this location for business travel or vacation with family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent stituation with easy connections to the city,Chelsea and Kensington. Rooms on the small side but for the money and the fact that you are not there to sit in them for any length of time, they do the job. Hyde Park is just 5 mins walk away, Notting Hill Gate about 10 mins walk. London City a/p almost direct from Queensway or Bayswater tube (one change at Bank/Monument). Im actually really happy with the choice of this hotel even though they dont have a pool or a fitness center. But still Great value and amazing staff, not to forget the hotel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yousef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#315 of 1,077 in London
2,376 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#411 of 1,077 in London
316 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#336 of 1,077 in London
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,077 in London
1,782 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#425 of 1,077 in London
288 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $87 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Phoenix Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing