We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #486 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Washington Mayfair for two nights in February this year. The hotel's location is very good and central for sightseeing. The hotel itself is clean and the room were nicely decorated..that's the plus points. On our arrival we were allocated a double room on the 1st floor, our view from the window was the air conditioning unit for the hotel. This was certainly not the view we were expecting and to make matters worse the air conditioning unit was extremely noisy. When I went to reception to complain and ask about the possibility of being moved rooms I was given a very unhelpful response from a very rude member of the reception staff. Eventually she agreed to let us move rooms but all they were prepared to offer us was a smoking room a few floors up, we are non smokers and that we had booked a non smoking room.

Overall this is a nice hotel but overpriced for what it is and I would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DexterTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my 3 friends. We have the best time in this hotel. The location was fantastic and quiet central to everywhere, the rooms were extermly clean and tidy. When i was booking the rooms i ask if i can have 2 interconnected rooms and they set the room as per my request. The staff were extermly friendly and helpful, my friends and i really enjoy our stay and looking forward to our next visit. Last but not least, the room's rates were pretty reasonable in compare to other hotel with the same standard.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azziek20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I've stayed here on a couple of previous occasions, really enjoying it everytime. It's location is superb, being only 10 minutes walk from Regent Street and Piccadilly Circus. All the staff I've encountered as extremely polite and helpful - if there is a problem, they will sort it out very quickly indeed!
They have had a recent refurbishment programme and the new rooms are superb. Very comfortable and quiet, with excellent bathrooms fittings. There is free Wi-Fi, or internet through the TV (which you have to pay for).
Breakfast is a buffet affair, but you can order off a menu, should you prefer it. The food is excellent, and service, speedy I would highly recommend staying here if you're after a Mayfair base!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darreng1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

So here is the good news the location is great for business.

Here is the bad news this should be the last hotel on your list you stay in as it so very poorly managed. I had to go to London on a short notice business trip and therefore was left with no alternative but to stay at the Washington Mayfair hotel. Here is what went wrong
1. Check in was very inefficient and they "accidentally" sent me to a small on bedroom rather than the junior suite I was booked in which then had to be reversed with some work
2. The bed linen was really really dirty and had old stains which had not come out in the wash
3. Breakfast was gross and the service was bad gave up on trying to get coffee completely
4. Corridors are dank and smelly
5. Staff with one exception are poorly trained and seem pretty listless

Essentially this could be an ok hotel if they cared, cleaned and refurbished. As it is they function as a spill over hotel for the unwary and desperate. Will not stay in this hotel again if I can at all help it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

To give you perspective I travel a lot and the minimum I expect in a hotel is cleanliness, safety, and honesty. Unfortunately when it comes to the Mayfair the cleanliness part of this hotel is definitely way below standards and honesty is clearly not the policy. We were checking in around 9:30 pm for guaranteed non-smoking rooms - I work for a large company so the guarantee should have meant something. Well they had given our rooms away because they were oversold for Wimbledon. At the desk a group of Japanese diplomats were already arguing over the condition of their rooms. I rarely see rudeness from Japanese but I soon found out why they were upset. The desk clerk was very cordial but he explained he had only one room in the hotel - an upgraded master suite that was a smoking room and for two of us we could go to the luxury apartment 5 minutes away. I stayed in the room in the hotel and it had never been updated so don't believe the stories about renovations. The carpets were filthy and clearly the spread and drapes hadn't been cleaned in years. It was a rare hot night in London so naturally the AC blew cold in the living room area and hot in the bedroom. I chose to sleep in my clothes that night and feared for bed bugs (no, thankfully I didn't get to enjoy that experience). My colleagues sent to the luxury apartment shared similar fates including having to sleep in a twin bed. It was truly one of the worst hotel experiences I've had considering the rate was over 300 british pounds! I'm sorry I didn't take any pictures so you would see for sure in spite of positive reviews from others that this is not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Away2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Hotel Washington, Mayfair is on Curzon Street near Green Park. Hyde Park corner is also nearby. Service and reception was good. Facilities in the hotel too was good. The spread in breakfast was excellent.

Amenties in the room included iron table, hot rod for drying clothes.

The hotel is quite close in central London and you are almost a neighbour to the Queen. Buckingham Palace is just across the green park.

It is value for money to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaviMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

booked in here for a night on the town. Not a bad rate and very helpful staff, Had a premier double but unfortunately it was a twin so asked for a double. The premier room was modern nice and attractive. Couldn't convert the beds so upgraded to a king! By contrast this was of a rather faded old fashioned style a bit past its sell by date but still old fashioned charm. That is aside from the cracked and crudely repaired bidet! In the morning when drying my hair - the plugs and mirrors are not well aligned so this required some contortions noticed an old cigarette butt in the corner of the room not nice. Mentioned this to the reception on my way out - she was apologetic but the manager couldn't be bothered although she had stepped out to tell him to come out and give his apologies. Breakfast which was in with the price was ok the fresh fruit salad was tinned and a bit fizzy suggesting it was on the turn so wouldn't have liked to have paid the full rate they were asking for a full english!My advice a reasonably priced hotel pick your room and don't take breakfast there there is a costa opposite

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#628 of 1,075 in London
2,334 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,075 in London
2,246 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#395 of 1,075 in London
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,075 in London
1,804 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,075 in London
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $214 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing