We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a meeting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a meeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've visited for a business meeting in the foyer, and found it to be a quiet place for a discrete meeting. Fantastic facilities, helpful staff and great choice of drinks available to serve to business partners!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutandAbout2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    375
    194
    79
    77
See reviews for
117
342
51
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
peoples republic of caledonia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights business visit.

Perfectly good hotel for such purpose. Central, good access to transport/underground. Decent breakfast & adequate, though fairly small, room.

I'd certainly use again if in need of a Central London business / short stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chooseANewScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Simply put, this is very good indeed. Great location in Mayfair, away from the less appealing area of Green Park. The reception is excellent, check in quick, simple and efficient. (Though not helped by self-important businessmen who think that everyone will wait for them while they send their important emails, though that is hardly down to the hotel.) Delightful room, not huge, but not minute either; everything works simply, easily and properly. Big, freshly laundered fluffy bathrobes. Wifi was fine on the first floor, by the way. Mike was just unlucky I think - see his review. Bathroom was lovely, easy to use shower, all immaculate. Good breakfast, good service in the dining area as elsewhere. I will happily use this as a regular London base. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Washington Mayfair is just fine. No more. No less.

The rooms are a reasonable size for London, and appointed to a reasonable standard. But the wifi was pretty much non-existent in my first floor room, and the TV was attached to a wall with no movable hinge and so could only be viewed by rearranging the furniture or perching right on the edge of the bed.

Breakfast was similarly average. Nothing wrong with it, perfectly ok. But nothing to write home about either.

There are two things above average about this place: the location; and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have worked in London for a long time and have probably passed this hotel hundreds on times. I have never really paid it much thought until last week and I wasnt disappointed!

Service was excellent! The room I got was superb. The Concierge was incredibly helpful and really helped me out.

I have read a couple of other reviews where there is comments on it being pricy? This is in the centre of Mayfair and for that I thought it was actually pretty reasonable. If you want to be 10 minutes by tube or can there is obviously cheaper but then you have that travel cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

When we booked the hotel on expedia.co.uk the rooms looked modern, clean and comfortable. However upon check-in we could tell that the hotel was old and had not been refurbished in a long while. As we made our way to our room, we noticed that the carpeting in the hallways hadn't been cleaned a while and the walls were in some places chipped or had stains on them. When we finally walked into our room, we were greeted by the musky scent of days old cologne lingering either from the previous guest or perhaps a hotel staff. Closer inspection showed that the furniture had dust which had clearly been accumulating for a couple of weeks at least and the bed linen and towels looked dull and tattered. The bathrobes were so old and worn that they were literally falling apart.
My husband and I were so appalled with the state of the hotel that we stayed all of 20 minutes before promptly checking out to seek accommodation elsewhere despite the fact that we had already prepaid for a two-night stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SShenkute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Rotterdam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for a night in June, on a business trip. Location is good, couple of minutes from Green Park station. Received an upgrade to master suite upon arrival, always a pleasure.
Attended a black tie dinner, but was struggling with bow tie. Neeva from front desk was a life saver, and very helpful....
Like the location and boutique atmosphere. Breakfast in morning was included, decent selection of healthy stuff and usual English eggs and sausages.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elevation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#556 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#360 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#386 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#204 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing