We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How good your stay is will depend on the room you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #481 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Location:
Good location in Mayfair, rooms at the front may suffer from passing traffic, rooms at the back won't but you will have views of brick walls from neighbouring properties. 5 minutes walk from Green Park tube station and there is a Cafe Nero (for breakfast) and Tesco Express (for drinks, snacks sandwiches etc) across the road

Rooms:

Travelled with Husband and two daughters and were allocated a twin and King connecting room (booked cheapest rooms) 111 &115. The rooms were nicely furnished and beds & pillows comfy with a good powerful shower and pleasant toiletries were supplied. There was a proper 3 heat/2 speed hairdryer and plenty of drawer and hanging space. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food/drink. So far I would have rated this hotel 4-4.5/5. Now the bad bits:

The lighting and the temperature. The corridors are dimly lit and the rooms even more so. The twin room had a mirror near the window so at least in the daylight you had a chance of not ending up looking like Coco the Clown if trying to put make up on but no such luck in the King room (111) The bathroom had two downlighters but no lighting near the sink. Now onto the temperature. The twin room was fine, airconditioning was working and their room was a pleasant temperature. Not so the King room. The room was warm before we left to go out for the evening so we turned the air-con on but when we returned about 2am it was 26c. Messing about with the controls had no effect whatsoever so we had a very uncomfortable night's sleep. We mentioned this on checkout later that morning but only got a muttered "sorry" from the guy on the checkout desk.

In summary, this hotel is good value if you book in advance and get a decent rate and need to be in the Mayfair area but check your room before you unpack if being able to see and being able to sleep in comfort are important to you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodpecker-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few years ago because of the location which is ideal, so on a recent visit decided to stay again. Our room was so hot and the air conditioning was obviously not working, we were unable to adjust it and the noise from the unit was appalling, like a previous reviewer, this did disturb our sleep. Our room overlooked Clarges Street with offices directly opposite and no net curtains or blinds, so that was a bit of a nightmare especially after having a shower !!!!! Breakfast was good, plenty of variety for all tastes. Reception staff helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel's location is great, you can go walking to most of the principal attractions of London: Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly Circus, the Parliament, etc. It is also very close to an underground station (Green Park) which also can take you direct to Heathrow Airport and to other interesting places of the city. Very clean, great shower and very very comfortable.
I didn't take the breakfast option, but it did not mean any problem as in front of the hotel is a coffee shop Cafe Nero and also a Tesco, where you can buy whatever you want.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megustaviajar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great location and bit of a boutique style to the rooms. Fantastic powerful shower, pleasant enough room but the windows really need upgrading so that outside noise can be eliminated. This is a major weakness. In our case because we arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight and wanted to get some sleep. Very helpful manager moved us from one room to another and another again, but still the road noise was audible. Great breakfast and attentive staff I quite liked it. Remedy the windows and this place could be a gem.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lovely Hotel, very clean, staff very nice. Only problem was we were not told of building works taking place, our (blacony doors) opened onto scaffolding and at 6.30am building worked started. Also the hotel was far to hot, the air conditioning was not working, now there was a sign in the lobby to say they were upgrading this but they should have turned the heat down. Other than that there were no complaints, the hotel is an ideal location, and while I thought it was expensive to stay there I would again just for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Booked 3 twin rooms. All very clean and fresh. One was smallish but didn't intend on being in hotel much so that didn't matter. Cleanliness more important. Staff friendly and helpful Breakfast was really good. Would stay there again. Central and easy to find.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Room cold. Air con/heating would not adjust.1.30 am staff couldn't stop noise..unbearable.No sleep, Luke warm shower. Milk for tea in room addled. Manager never there, she left a scribbled note of apology and a bottle of plonk!, doesn't respond to emails. Not professional and at £252 for the night a complete RIP OFF

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#114 of 1,077 in London
1,923 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#668 of 1,077 in London
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,303 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#382 of 1,077 in London
247 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#223 of 1,077 in London
4,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $225 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing