We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #476 of 1,069 Hotels in London
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2nd stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Delightful staff. Second visit to this hotel. First visit was better than our return visit. The but rooms are getting a bit worn. Beds are nothing to brag about nor is the sparse bedding. Room services was ok and the morning breakfast buffet was ok as well. The room air conditioning unit was covered in mold and noisy. The positive to this Hotel is the location, location, location. Easy walk to many of London's hot spots. Will return to London but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    406
    219
    85
    81
See reviews for
132
386
53
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel is perfectly reasonable and I had no major problems. Everything was clean and staff were friendly. However there was something about the feel of the hotel, plus a few minor issues listed below, which means I can only rate this as average rather than very good, given those two choices.

The style/atmosphere issue is difficult to pin down - something to do with the decorative style which felt sombre (dark corridors) and to do with the view from my room (see below) which meant that I didn't feel uplifted by the experience of staying there.

The few minor issues I had were...
1) slow wireless internet in the room,
2) the safe battery was out of charge so my safe was not usable,
3) my 'view' was of a rooftop and the rear of adjoining buildings - so all concrete and bricks (despite some planters being positioned on the roof in an attempt to provide a bit of greenery).
4) the room was very warm and I could not find a way of turning down the heating.

I would consider staying here again if looking for a room in the area, but just can't bring myself to rate it as 'very good' compared to other experiences. If it existed I would probably have rated this as 3.5.

Room Tip: I was in 123 so avoid this if you want a decent view from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temple1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My sister & I stayed at this hotel during our entire time in London. I had read the reviews & was ready for just about anything! I can honestly say that we were pleasantly surprised. We had a twin room that was large enough, at least compared to other English hotel rooms, & we were impressed with the cleanliness & location. We are both in our sixties & felt completely safe in the area, sometimes getting back after 11:00 at night. Green Park is the nearest tube & is one of the nicer stations. Across from the hotel we found a hidden area called Sheperds Market where you can find quaint pubs & little places to eat. The staff at Washington Mayfair were friendly & very accommodating! I would recommend my family staying there on their next visit to London & that in itself says a lot!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived just after 1pm and our room was ready. The hotel staff were all very helpful and polite. We were upgraded to a king size room which was small but clean. For one night it was perfect. We booked with hotel direct so for the price I paid it was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My handbag and purse went missing during my stay at this hotel in February 2013, which I was not very pleased about - this is not something you would expect to happen in a 5 star hotel in Mayfair !! The staff were efficient & helpful however of course they would not accept any form of responsibility so now I have to make a claim on my own travel insurance which means I will have to pay an excess plus it will increase my premiums! Good location of hotel though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelinNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Room was quite small, which is rather usual for London. Table was tiny - you could not be comfortably work there for any prolonged time. TV was placed at 90 degrees to the bed, so you either watch TV sitting on a chair, or lie in bed - not a perfect setting one could say. WiFi is advertised to be free, but I could never get a signal in my room #127. Even after the girl on reception promised to re-load rooter. Good I had Vodafone SIM card in my iPad, and did not care much about Wifi. Room service was quite good. Staff was very nice overall. Concierges were helpful. The room was cleaned OK. Location is great! Only few minutes walk from Jermin street, Ritz area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eso4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days a week over a couple of months. Rooms are not bad, and the place is clean, but there's not much else about this hotel worth writing about. Breakfast is poor and obviously cheap (eg tinned fruit, not fresh, and the coffee is diabolical) and the choice is limited. Dinner is awful - eating out advised! Staff are pleasant enough, but on the whole this place is a bit tired and needs an injection of creativity to warrant the price tag and location. High rooms have lots of gurgling noises from the plumbing system.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candi2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#599 of 1,069 in London
2,286 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,069 in London
2,208 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#373 of 1,069 in London
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#145 of 1,069 in London
1,707 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing