We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #475 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location but not 4 star”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here after booking through secret escapes and got a very heavly discounted room with breakfast. The locations is fantastic for seeing the sights of london and if you can get it on this price deal its a bargain for central london.

Basically the hotel is tired and need a make over, I think it owuld have been 4 star 10 years ago. We have king deluxe room which is one of the bigger ones ( again through secret escapes). the bathroom was big and clean with bidet, lovely crabtree a& evelyn toiletries and plenty of them, good towel robes.The mattress was ok.

The service was very friendly and fast. The breakfast was average english buffet nothing special but edible.

I would say room and decor wise its 3 star. but for £150 with breakfast included in the centre of london you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    401
    216
    85
    80
See reviews for
130
380
53
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel is located at 100m from Piccadilly, some 10 min walk from Piccadilly Circus. Has a coffee shop opposite as well asa supermarket and convenient store. Great take away on the corner too if you want to avoid extortionate hotel prices. Location is great, rooms are spacious for London standards and look like they have just been refurbished. Convenient for the Jubilee line as Green Park station is just down the road, I was working in canary wharf and much preferred to stay in town than in the docklands a short journey in the morning but a great evening in the centre of London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosLLanitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived early morning not expecting to be able to check in but the room was ready. Upgraded from a classic room to a Superior, great start. Room beautifully decorated, comfortable, clean and quiet. Requested an ironing board and it arrived immediately. Ordered a bottle of wine and again, it arrived within minutes. Breakfast was delicious, couldn't have asked for more. Only gripe would be trying to get the TV put on in the bar - was a right fuss and if that was a 'large' glass of wine; wouldn't want to see a small one! Apart from that it was marvellous plus we were able to leave our bags in the safe room, after we had checked out, which meant we didn't have to drag them around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and this became my preferred hotel in central London. It's at a walking distance from Green Park tube station but in a very quiet and peaceful area if you want comfortable sleep for the night. Rooms are all shapes and sizes but provide ample space. The breakfast is good but the menu doesn't ever change. The biggest plus point for me has been that in past one year, early check-in has never been a problem. You arrive at 8am in the morning and they will give you a room, which is a blessing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajiv_pune27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a Superbreak Theatre and Hotel package and were allocated to the Washington on a special deal, normally this Hotel would be out of our price range. We found that this Hotel was very understated in appearance but as we looked round and we found that all the facilities were actually wonderful, blankets instead of duvets - tasteful; underfloor heating; very modern decor, breakfast wonderful etc etc. We both enjoyed our stay at The Washington; which is situated just off Piccadilly
and in the lovely area of Mayfair. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sproutsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a most impressive hotel and my room was superb. The good folk on concierge are really helpful and overall the hotel was very pleasant and has that luxurious but homeless feeling. The is free Wifi in the hotel and it worked.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had three nights here on business.

First impressions were not great. No Staff at the door, Foyer is a bit drab , a line of fake leather sofa's look naff. Gives the impression of a hotel that has seen better days.
On arrival at reception the girl's English was not great and she could not understand some of my questions. One of which was about a Spa treatment booked in advance for my wife, she had never heard of any such spa! The duty manager had to come out and confirm the booking. Not an impressive start.

The rooms though seem to have had a recent refurbishment and were quite comfortable. However on day two there was no hot water in the morning, and the TV never worked properly throughout the stay. No great loss as there were few channels on it.
The underfloor heating in the bathroom is lovely, and the shower nice and powerful (when there is hot water!), the bed is comfortable save for the Hollow Fibre type pillows which were obviously cheap.

Breakfast is OK. A buffet affair with all the requirements for a Full English Breakfast. Though if it is not included in your room rate it will cost you £20 on the day! There are some restaurants opposite that do a nice breakfast for half that amount. The coffee for some reason is awful! Cafe Nero opposite!

There was no hairdryer in the room which ruffled the wife a bit, they did bring one on request.

The hotel bar is poor. No atmosphere, small, very expensive £5.50 for a small bottle of lager. Most disappointingly there were no Ales (Draught or bottled) in fact there were no British Beers at all. There are a number of nice pubs in the nearby Shephards Market though.

We had a group meal the first night in the hotel restaurant 'Madison's' - again poor. We appeared to be the only people using the restaurant, though one couple were eating in the bar area at very low tables from armchairs! Again there are a number of nice restaurants nearby in Shephards Market.

The location is great, Oxford street etc very close by

This could be a nice hotel but still needs a lot done, namely staff training (English would be a start), and overhaul of the Foyer and Bar areas. At in excess of £200 a night it is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFCDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#588 of 1,069 in London
2,259 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,069 in London
2,185 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#382 of 1,069 in London
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing