We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a long way to go to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Frome, Somerset
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still a long way to go to improve”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had three nights here on business.

First impressions were not great. No Staff at the door, Foyer is a bit drab , a line of fake leather sofa's look naff. Gives the impression of a hotel that has seen better days.
On arrival at reception the girl's English was not great and she could not understand some of my questions. One of which was about a Spa treatment booked in advance for my wife, she had never heard of any such spa! The duty manager had to come out and confirm the booking. Not an impressive start.

The rooms though seem to have had a recent refurbishment and were quite comfortable. However on day two there was no hot water in the morning, and the TV never worked properly throughout the stay. No great loss as there were few channels on it.
The underfloor heating in the bathroom is lovely, and the shower nice and powerful (when there is hot water!), the bed is comfortable save for the Hollow Fibre type pillows which were obviously cheap.

Breakfast is OK. A buffet affair with all the requirements for a Full English Breakfast. Though if it is not included in your room rate it will cost you £20 on the day! There are some restaurants opposite that do a nice breakfast for half that amount. The coffee for some reason is awful! Cafe Nero opposite!

There was no hairdryer in the room which ruffled the wife a bit, they did bring one on request.

The hotel bar is poor. No atmosphere, small, very expensive £5.50 for a small bottle of lager. Most disappointingly there were no Ales (Draught or bottled) in fact there were no British Beers at all. There are a number of nice pubs in the nearby Shephards Market though.

We had a group meal the first night in the hotel restaurant 'Madison's' - again poor. We appeared to be the only people using the restaurant, though one couple were eating in the bar area at very low tables from armchairs! Again there are a number of nice restaurants nearby in Shephards Market.

The location is great, Oxford street etc very close by

This could be a nice hotel but still needs a lot done, namely staff training (English would be a start), and overhaul of the Foyer and Bar areas. At in excess of £200 a night it is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFCDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    395
    210
    85
    79
See reviews for
124
374
53
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

When I planned a 5 day London trip in September, I was looking for a place in a good location close to major transportation and not too far from the classic London sights. This hotel was a great pick!

First of all, it was really easy getting to from the airport. We took the tube, right inside Heathrow - the Picadilly line, and got off at Green Park station. From there, it was a 2 block walk to the hotel.
We never needed to change trains to go to the hotel.
However, if you plan to go to the airport with the subway, which we recommend as this way you don't get stuck in traffic, take the same train, but get off at Acton Town station and walk over to the other side of the platform to take the train that goes to Heathrow (at Acton town, Picadilly line splits into two, one goes North to Uxbridge, the other to the airport)

The hotel is pleasant. The staff was very, very corteous, the gentlemen at the concierge desk were always ready to help explaining the London sites, booking dinner reservations, etc.
We managed to burn our voltage converter in the first try, but they lent us one for the duration of our stay.

We found that the rooms were a good size, considering we were right in the heart of London, and comfortable. They were also nicely decorated as well. We enjoyed the sweet treat in our room upon our arrival, a nice touch.
We had 2 beds, and that's good if you are traveling with a friend, as it is more common to find rooms in the city, at least in that part of London, with one bed (double, queen or king)

The location is perfect when you don't have a lot of time in the city, but you want to see the major sites. Being so close to them cuts down on traveling time and when we wanted to go to places such as the Tower of London, The British Museum, we were close to the underground (subway) and the places were a couple of subway rides away.

When we arrived, we dropped our stuff in the room and went for a walk. We went back the two blocks towards the Green Park station, right by the grounds of Buckingham palace. We walked there and to the Westminster Abbey, Parliament buildings and Big Ben, which are all close to each other. And to us, this was the best feature of the hotel. The reason why we chose it and would recommend it to others.

We had a continental breakfast included in the rate. It was good for a continental breakfast. Restaurant is bright and spacious.

Recommended for couples, business people, solo or friends. Family, if yours is small....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business, and we liked it so much we stayed a third night before heading home.

Previous reviews on this site are mixed... I can only say that I found the hotel to be really good. A standard room, but it was all you could wish for - tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, and really comfortable, with a great night's sleep.

The staff are attentive and helpful, without being in your face, and nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast was fine, although buffet style as presented here will never equal cooked to order.

Had lunch one day - no complaints.

The big plus is location. Although pricey, Mayfair has so much to offer, and all just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As always, the Washington Mayfair (on Curzon St in Mayfair, London) is a great place to stay. The rooms vary considerably, although all that we saw are comfortable. Love the heated floor in the bathroom, the heated towel rack and the shower is wonderful! So convenient to everything - Green Park tube stop, Piccadilly Circus, Regent Street, Hyde Park. The staff are wonderful, too; if it's not right, Annette will work with you to make it better.

Room Tip: Traffic on Curzon St can be a bit of problem, but those front rooms put you close to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy.
Very powerful shower which was excellent bathroom very clean and nicely decorated
Breakfast was disappointing, poor quality meat and orange juice
Room very small, door opened and then you were on the bed!
Location is good, can walk to main shopping areas and very handy for Green Park tube station.
Staff efficient and unobtrusive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband for a Christmas Shopping trip. Great hotel in a perfect location. We walked everywhere...its about a 10 min walk to Oxford Circus. We got it for a bargain price through Last Minute.com to so that's always a bonus.

Rooms spacious, spotlessly clean, and beds very comfortable. Also nice and quiet for the centre of London.

My only one small, and I mean very small niggle is the heat of the rooms! They are very warm, too warm. The first night was unbearable (as the Aircon is also to loud to have on during the night) but by the second day we kept the Aircon on all day so it was at least cool when you got into bed. This would not stop me staying in the hotel again though.

All in all a great hotel in the heart of everything. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel last weekend to attend a nearby wedding. The hotel allowed an early check in so we could get ready and the foyer was fairly impressive. Our room was fine- what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel- clean, warm, modern in design, perfectly acceptable- not amazing though and for the normal price of nearly £500 a night not worth it at all- for the £160 we paid from a different website we were pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#569 of 1,067 in London
2,222 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,067 in London
2,159 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#370 of 1,067 in London
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#166 of 1,067 in London
1,644 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
Park Lane Mews Hotel
Park Lane Mews Hotel
#700 of 1,067 in London
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing