We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply, it's not five star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westbury Mayfair
Ranked #391 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply, it's not five star.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel needs to be aware that there is a Trade Descriptions Act in the UK; to describe the Westbury as five-star is a direct contravention. It simply isn't - there are no tea/coffee-making facilities in the room; there's no iron or ironing board; no free bottled water; internet charged at almost £7 an hour and the rooms are far too small for a five-star hotel. The bathroom was very dated with paint literally peeling off the side of the bath surround - just not acceptable. The location is the only thing going for it and if you were to lift this hotel up and drop it in the suburbs then it would be struggling to get a four-star rating. The owners need to travel in the Far East to see what five-star really is. A huge disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DREWIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    474
    283
    126
    77
See reviews for
179
603
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
india
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Westbury in London was a disappointment on all fronts. Other than it's location, this property has nothing going for it. The rooms are outdated, the staff surly and not interested and the amenities provided below average. In this day and age charging 26 Pounds for 3 days of internet service is appalling. Can you imagine, the hotel did not even provide a decent Sports channel to watch the ongoing World Cup soccer matches..... Pathetic service to say the least. There is no tea and coffee provided in the rooms..... A basic in every hotel across the world today. The rooms are small...the bathrooms even smaller with old fittings and an outdated look. For the price they are charging, this hotel is below par on all fronts.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelindia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've often use hotel for business meetings and lunches so I was looking forward to staying over a weekend with my friends. Sadly the staff were surly and really didn't care about the guests everything seemed like a hassle to them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy_J_Douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestbury, General Manager at The Westbury Mayfair, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Tracy_J_Douglas,

I am sorry to hear you were displeased with your recent stay with us at the Westbury Hotel. I am truly disappointed to hear that you found our staff to be unhelpful as we are known for, and take great pride in the customer service that we provide our guests.

If you would be so kind to email me directly at ta@wesbturymayfair.com and provide me additional information on your recent experience here at the Westbury I would be most grateful.

Thank you,
Zeljko Stasevic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel as part of a short business trip to London.

Summary:
I have to say, with the reputation that this hotel has, i had much higher expectations. What this hotel lacks is amenities, probably modernization of the rooms and touch of customer service extras. They do cover the all the basics, but basic does not make you a great hotel.. definitely room for improvement.

Lobby, check in and in general:
The check in this 5 star hotel is very ordinary, not much different than a 3 star hotel really, no welcome drink, no personalized check in, they didn't even ask me if i have any preferences. I don't expect these things in a normal 3-4 star hotel, but a 5 star hotel that is as grand as this one, and the money you pay, I expect much better. Customer service was ok, but nothing really special, just doing their job no more no less, a bit dry i must say, except i have to say one of the bell hops was exceptional, I am truly sad that i cannot remember his name but he was truly different than the rest, so a big thanks goes to him. The location of the hotel is great, a few steps away from regent and bond, and its very easy to get around central london.

Room:
disappointing, average amenities, There is no coffee maker, you have to pay an insane amount for internet in the room which i thought was crazy in a 5 star, the bathroom is not impressive, average tub, average shower which i saw the same exact one in a holiday inn!
bed was ok, but just... no pillow selection, and the cover was annoying texture.

the only good thing was the modern IPTV and a large screen, a plus for that but it doesn't make for the other shortcomings of the room.

Food: There are two good restaurants in the hotel, i tried one of them but didn't have a chance to try the other one. good food, nice atmosphere in the Japanese place, all in all not bad.

Overall, i think this hotel is overrated, you pay a hefty sum but you are not getting much in return, it still has its positives, but needs a lot of improvement. And to the people who work there, I know your job is tough, and its not always easy to maintain the same level of service, but you can do better.

I doubt i will visit this hotel again in the near future, but i might try it again in a few years.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the lower floors, no view whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rami d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, Kent, England.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Was very disappointed by this hotel, not only was the room small and the bath tiny, it was meant to be a luxurious treat for me organised by my husband. It seemed everything was an additional cost, even water was only available from the minibar. Although warned about potential internet charges, we were very surprised at just how expensive they were. However, most disappointing was the lack of kettle or any ways to make ourselves a drink. We did ring down to the front desk and ask about tea and coffee making facilities and were subsequently charged for them - something that large cheaper chains provide as a minimum! Having looked at what you claim the rooms offer, I was very surprised that although you claim rooms have kettles, you don't indicate that these are additional extras.

Room Tip: The 5th floor looks shabby and dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

1950's hotel situated in the heart of Londons upmarket ( and safe) Mayfair district . Good value for money by European standards. Rooms a little on the small side but compensated for by the fact that the Westbury has a position that other, more expensive hotels can only dream of. The boutiques of Bond Street are less than a minute away, Buckingham Palace ten minutes across Green Park. The hotel staff are a delight. I arrived at ten am and was offered an early check in without having to ask. Public areas attractive and reminiscent of NY's Carlyle hotel. Hotels bars and restaurant delightful but can get busy.

Pros : Location, location, location. You can't get more central than this. Shops, restaurants, museums and theatres all within easy walking distance. This is an uber safe location . The hotel staff from doorman to check-in helpful, efficient and smiling. Rooms comfortable , clean and bright- 2 chairs, ample closet space, comfortable beds, good quality toiletries.

Cons: Rooms a little small and possibly beginning to show signs of wear and tear despite a recent renovation. Rooms on floors 1-5 suffer from early morning traffic noise. Only two elevators so lobby can get congested . Air con struggles if its hot.

Conclusion : Paid $450 through Expedia. A good rate by London standards although breakfast wasn't included. Room rate was half the price of the Sofitel St.James'. Was delighted with the offer of an early 'red eye' check-in. A thoughtful front desk gesture that I wish other hotels would copy. All the staff were friendly and efficient. In terms of price, comfort, location and safety you can't beat this hotel.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms on higher floors if you want to avoid late night traffic noise. Those at the front ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a perfect one night stay at the Westbury hotel in Mayfair London. Friendly and very helpful staff. Spotlessly Clean Hotel. The food and service was of a very high standard. A very convenient place to stay for visiting the many and varied shops and attractions. I can highly recommend this Hotel.

Janice Owen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANICE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestbury, General Manager at The Westbury Mayfair, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear JANICE O,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent viand for recommending the Westbury Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you passed an enjoyable stay with us noting that our friendly staff, quality dining and ideal Mayfair location left you pleased with your choice of stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#344 of 1,069 in London
166 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#518 of 1,069 in London
2,429 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#218 of 1,069 in London
4,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,069 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury Mayfair

Property: The Westbury Mayfair
Address: Bond Street, Mayfair 37 Conduit Street, London W1S 2YF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury Mayfair 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westbury Mayfair is a five star hotel located on Bond street, in the heart of Mayfair - home to the top fashion houses and London’s most exclusive bars and restaurants. Oxford Circus and Bond Street tube stations are minutes walking distance, which provides for convenient commute to the rest of London. Our hotel boasts of 249 luxury rooms and suites, event and private dining areas, our trendy Polo Bar, intimate Tsukiji sushi restaurant, and the newly opened and highly anticipated restaurant Alyn Williams at the Westbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westbury Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Mayfair Hotel London
Westbury Mayfair London
The Westbury Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing