We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westbury Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westbury Mayfair
Ranked #394 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location of the Westbury is what would make me return to the hotel. It is in the prime shopping area of Bond Street. It is a close walk to Selfridges and many other stores. There are a lot of great restaurants nearby as well. The rooms are rather tired and need revamping and better cleaning. The saving grace are the bath products, they use Molton Brown. The breakfast is also delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestbury, General Manager at Westbury Mayfair, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westbury Hotel. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our ideal location in the heart of Mayfair, steps from the luxury shops of Bond Street and the variety of bars and restaurants in the local area. I am also pleased to hear you found our breakfast delicious and our room amenities were to your liking. I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations, as you found them slightly tired and outdated. We welcome all feedback and thank you for your comments and suggestions, as without them we are unable to continue developing as a destination hotel.

Kind Regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    455
    269
    124
    77
See reviews for
172
584
67
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

If ever the phrase "Location, location location" was more appropriate…. Right in the centre of everything and just off the 2 most stunning streets in London - Bond and Regents. Dined at the Alyn Williams which was just crowned with a Michelin star. Breakfast also great! Doormen, reception and rest of the staff friendly without the annoying condescendence. Definitely coming back. Love London. Love Westbury Mayfair.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I've stayed at the Westbury on business many times and have always loved the convenient
location in Mayfair - close to so much including tube stations, restaurants, museums, Hyde Park isn't too far for morning runs. But, the hotel needs to pay some attention to the room finishes which feel tired. If anything, the scratched/dull brass number panels in both elevators by reception should be replaced immediately as they were in the same condition a year ago and I noticed them then - it's the 1st thing guests see while going up to their rooms - if the brass panel can't be looked after - what about the rooms?! Chrome/silver was wearing off the handles and spigot and shower fixures and chenille blanket at end of the bed was worn and in need of replacement. These seem like minor details, but for a hotel of this caliber - these are things that shouldn't be overlooked for these prices. Housekeeping was attentive and quick w/requests like hairdryer, iron, adapter. Unfortunately, ended up in a room w/adjoining door - so could hear the guest in the next room and her wake up calls in the morning. I will most likely return on business due to the location, but would choose another hotel if on holiday. I would expect more updated room decor/fixtures for these rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked this hotel as a weekend treat for my wife and it did not disappoint. The distance from the station to the hotel was a short walk, the location was ideal in relation to oxford circus,old bond street and other attractions. The Polo bar was lovely as was the choice of food and drinks inside the hotel.

Staff were very friendly and polite,house keeping were excellent. All my wifes needs were taken care of to ensure she had a relaxing break.

A luxury hotel ideally set in a central location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sands071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestbury, General Manager at Westbury Mayfair, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Westbury Hotel. I am delighted to hear you and your wife enjoyed an overall pleasant stay, noting that the location was ideal, moments from the tube and attractions of Bond and Oxford Street, and that our staff were friendly and accommodating to your needs. I am also glad that you were able to visit our trendy Polo Bar, offering a decadent selection of food and beverage. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next London stay.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had originally booked Kingsley Hall close to Shaftsbury Avenue to be near our theatre for the evening. We went to check in and were given an 'upgrade' to the hotel the Westbury. Told it was 5 star and we would free taxi rides there and back etc. The other hotel was much less expensive than the Westbury so perhaps worth noting that there maybe some people only paying £120 a night! For that price is was fabulous...
The room was small but nice enough - not in need of modernisation but the bathroom was not 5 star. Shower over a bath....but fine and clean. My bathroom was not tired at all, just small and fairly basic. Nice cushions and soft furnishings, big tv with interactive buttons.
The reception staff were polite and helpful, no one helped us with bags - but we didn't need help. There is a doorman who will call you a taxi if you are unable to raise your arm or voice!
The Polo bar was quite a nice atmosphere but pricey. Even so, the weird take on a whisky sour got left behind! Breakfast was free with our 'upgrade' from the other hotel and was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestbury, General Manager at Westbury Mayfair, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at the Westbury Hotel in Mayfair. I am pleased that you had the opportunity of staying with us, after having being relocated from our sister hotel, and that our classic luxury accommodation and service were both to your liking. I hope you will revisit us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were given a room here as the sister hotel we had originally booked had a problem with their computer system & was overbooked. We were looking forward to our stay but like other reviewers were rather disappointed. Our room was nice enough but very small & the bathroom could certainly have done with some attention - the door & bath panel being covered in peeling paintwork & again, extremely small.

We found the staff very condescending & unfriendly, with the exception of Val at the concierge desk, who could not do enough for us.

I have stayed in much nicer hotels (some 3 & 4 star) & would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights. First night was dreadful. Incredible noise from air conditioning -staff suggested we move rooms at 11.45pm! Staff member suggested we were too sensitive to noise! We were again advised to move next morning - this seemed to be a regular occurrence at the hotelas another guest was also moving due to noise. Bedrooms small and considering the cost and 5 star rating did not provide even tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-fi was charged as extra. Breakfast was very expensive - we paid £26 for cornflakes, orange juice, cold toast and tea. Overall staff were not friendly. For us this was not a 5 star hotel -have stayed in better 3 star. This much needed break was a great disappointment to us. Would not recommend even if the location was excellent.

Room Tip: Would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestbury, General Manager at Westbury Mayfair, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for having failed to meet your expectations on your recent stay at the Westbury Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you found the room you were initially assigned to be noisy, and that you felt our staff were unhelpful in dealing with your complaint. We take great pride in our customer service, so this comes as quite a surprise to me. in regards to your breakfast complaint, we offer our full English Breakfast at £26, or alternatively, if pre-booked directly through us, we offer it at a discounted rate of £15 pp. If you wish to discuss the above issues in further detail please do not hesitate to contact myself at ta@westburymayfair.com. I hope that your recent visit will not be the lasting impression of the Westbury Hotel, and hope you will consider revisiting us.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#396 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#574 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#524 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Mayfair

Property: Westbury Mayfair
Address: Bond Street, Mayfair 37 Conduit Street, London W1S 2YF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#278 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westbury Mayfair 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westbury Mayfair is a five star hotel located on Bond street, in the heart of Mayfair - home to the top fashion houses and London’s most exclusive bars and restaurants. Oxford Circus and Bond Street tube stations are minutes walking distance, which provides for convenient commute to the rest of London. Our hotel boasts of 249 luxury rooms and suites, event and private dining areas, our trendy Polo Bar, intimate Tsukiji sushi restaurant, and the newly opened and highly anticipated restaurant Alyn Williams at the Westbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westbury Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Mayfair Hotel London
Westbury Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing