We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had enough money to stay here every time I come to London...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wish I had enough money to stay here every time I come to London...”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

This is an oustanding hotel. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful, arriving at the hotel one is made to feel instantly at home. It is very well located and presented, (lovely flower arrangements)but small enough to feel relaxed. Our car was parked for us and retrieved when we left: a real boon in central London.

Our room was not large, but every effort had been made to make it comfortable and it was well furnished and decorated. The bed was large and comfortable and the hospitality tray was restocked when the bed was turned down in the evening which was welcome on a late return.

We were here for a wedding in the hotel itself, and this was well organised and the wedding room appropriatly presented. Other guests had also much enjoyed their experience of the hotel, I heard nothing but praise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,633
    425
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
623
1,386
184
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
peoria, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We arrived at The Chesterfield Mayfair and the staff helped us with our luggage, gave us a welcome card and also brought snacks to our room in the evening. The service by the staff was impeccable. We had a delicious breakfast every morning in the hotel restaurant . Our room was immaculate, the bed was very comfortable, the bedding was outstanding and we had free internet service.

The doorman helped us with information about sightseeing and set up a sightseeing tour guide for us.

The only problem we had was that the safe, in our room, was not bolted down and someone could have walked off with it.

We would definitely stay at the Chesterfied Mayfair again and because our experience was so good, we will stay at their affiliate hotels also.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipsy1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Have just come home from a night in the Chesterfied Mayfair London. (1st October 2009)

From the moment you walk through the door, you are treated like royality. Everyone looks happy and pleased to do things for you. Your bags are whisked to your room. The rooms are so spacious and elegant. Everything is fine quality, beautifully clean. It really is a home from home.

The beds are huge and so, so comfy. The linen is crisp and cold and the throws velvets and mohair. All sheer luxury. I watched tv in the bath!!! Free canapies were delivered to our room and we had a free couple of sherries before going to dinner !

The next morning the breakfast was outstanding - everything tasted delicious and the choices were fantastic.

You could not possibly choose a better hotel for luxury, service, comfort, location and most importantly value. It is worth every penny. Even my husband was impressed and he has stayed everywhere in the uk and abroad on business.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We had the Garden Room (junior suite).

Pros - The Chesterfield is very generous with the amenities. We always had bottled water (still and sparkling) at no charge, wi-fi was free, and there was always something sweet on our pillows after turn-down. Big, fluffy robes, too. The staff was friendly, polite and helpful (with one exception). The hotel is clean, crisp, and perfectly located for exploring London whether by cab, tour bus, or on foot. Lots of great shops and restaurants close by. While not great, the hotel's own restaurant is good. Our room was mostly quiet (with another exception).

Cons - The hotel is old and our windows were leaky. The room always smelled of fried food. Trucks with back-up beepers did something in an adjacent alley every morning starting at 4AM. Also, an adjacent building renovation project fired up at approx 6:30AM every day. We asked to be moved twice, but were blown off by a polite but unconcerned desk clerk.

Pro from a con - Because of the noise and smell, we decided to check out a day early. When the manager heard this she literally ran into the lobby apologizing and asking us what she could do to change our minds. She even offered to move us into a full suite for the night. We'd already booked - and paid for - a room at The Ritz, so we left anyway. Shortly after we got home, we got an email from the Chesterfield with another apology, an assurance that the desk clerk was receiving extra training, and the offer of a free night in another junior suite should we return. Now THAT is customer service.

Despite the problems, we really liked the Chesterfield and I don't hesitate to recommend it. We'll go back if we can.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympiaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I am a Chinese and I chose this hotel from the website before my UK trip. So I hope my comments would be helpful to you. The hotel is in a very good location, minutes to many tourist places. The rooms inside have lovely traditional English decoration. and they are quiet which is very important for travellors. The breakfast in it is also lovely with various fruits choices and many hot dishes. I loved the porridge with cream. They also offered whisky on side for the porridge. Interesting to me, as a foreigner. One more advantage of the hotel is free access to the Internet. This is the only 4-star hotel with free Internet service in the central London that I could found.

I will definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeyanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn.
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Recently stayed at the Chesterfield for seven nights. I decided to upgrade to a junior suite based on reports of other rooms on the small side. The upgrade did not come cheap, but I think it was worth it based on a longer seven night stay. I stayed in the Berkely suite which is on the second floor. The suite was large enough though not particularly well-designed in that there was no way to watch TV and eat a dinner unless you moved some of the furniture around. The bathroom was small but clean and had two showers though one was not even large enough to turn around in. The room was on the street side and I could hear some street sounds, but was never bothered by this. It was also difficult to figure out how all the light switches worked. Overall, however, the room ended up being just fine for my purposes. I tried room service several evenings and was greatly impressed by the service and the quality of the food. Highly recommend the grilled salmon and the lamb chops. As mentioned by others, the staff is very friendly and efficient and more than willing to help with any problems. In summary, I can highly recommend this hotel even though it does have its quirky side.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Stayed for 6 nights. We arrived early but was able to check-in right away. Graciously greeted by the doorman and our luggage quickly whisked away. The staff was professional--quite attentive without being intrusive. Room was very pleasant and clean and the size was quite adequate, especially for London. Enjoyed the different goodies left on our pillows every night. Room service was prompt. Location is perfect--it is in a very quiet, residential neighborhood close to Green Park Tube and many attractions. Shepherd's Market is nearby where there are many choices of restaurants. There is a small Tesco and a bigger Sainsbury's within walking distance--great for picking up snacks. I would have given a perfect rating of 5 except for two things: my morning paper not delivered 2 days in a row--I had to remind the staff twice. The staff was very apologetic each time. Also the price of their full English breakfast--£22. But again with its great location, many restaurants closeby where you can get a FEB for less than half the price. Otherwise, still enjoyed the stay. It was a beautiful hotel and would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,720 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,758 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing