We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Heart of Mayfair!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Heart of Mayfair!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

You really can't beat this location! My wife and I arrived in London with not much of a plan besides to see the major tourist attractions. Our room was not quite ready when we came in but they concierge recommended a nice little pub just up the road. Perfect for fish & chips with a pint to wash it down of course. Since the room was not ready we proceeded to walk up the road. Pleasantly, we ended up strolling through, bond street, regent, soho, all the way to covent garden, really the best places to see in London in my opinion for shopping.
The service was top notch. Rooms were a bit busy and dark but clean and well appointed. Bathroom was of good size and amenities were also nice. Breakfast was also pretty good.
The place is charming, perfect location, and great service. What more can you ask for.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stingray1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,527
    410
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
591
1,332
181
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at this lovely hotel. The location was perfect, quiet, but very close to shoppingarea and pubs and restaurants. The staff were very serviceminded and helpful, and the room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mett1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely hotel in an excellent location. Wonderful bed,window that opened,non slip base in shower over bath,lot of storage. Carolina was excellent in the breakfast restaurant. Antonio made dinner a memorable experience. We loved sitting in the bar with the piano player. ( sorry we don't know his name)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We traveled to London for a family break and my husband found this hotel. From the moment we stepped out of the cab we were made to feel very special and welcome. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and professional. We had 2 rooms which were joined by a small private hall. The children could have space to themselves ( or rather we could).These rooms were beautiful. The decor was busy but tasteful. There was everything you would ever need. There was even a stationary draw. We had some snacks and drinks in the bar which were lovely. The breakfast menu was very good offering continental or full English and everything in between. On my husbands birthday we had our breakfast served in our room at no extra cost and this was a lovely treat. The children were made very special by going to decorate cup cakes with a lovely chef called Sarah. These little touches make all the difference and we will defiantly return to this fantastic hotel. We have stayed in a few luxury London hotels but never have we had service like it! We will be back and I will be recommending this hotel to all my family & friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Chesterfield is a delightful hotel that has a lot of the old-world charm of bygone times and service that is second to none. Outstanding staff will look after you and make you feel very comfortable throughout.

After a technical issue at the hotel left us in the lurch with an outtage in a fairly essential service, we were quickly and fairly recompensed and will return to this Mayfair gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrum33316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely break away. The staff were all lovely, better than lovely, they were helpful, thoughtful, understanding etc. the hotel has a great feel and decour to match! I will visit her again as soon as I can and I would recommend anyone reads this, choses this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was in London on business and stayed at the Chesterfield in Mayfair. I had a double room as an upgrade but it was only small. It was very clean and elegant but small. The staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble. I got a last minute deal which was very welcome. I was out for the evening and returned very late but the night staff we great and good humoured. only three or four hours later I e devised my wake up call and got ready for off.
An excellent breakfast followed and away I went . I would definitely return to this charming hotel but would want a bigger room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger than standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that your experience here was positive and welcoming and that our staff provided you with exemplary care and attention at all times. Our Restaurant Manager will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us; it is a highlight of many people’s stay as there is a wide range of dishes to choose from coffee and a freshly baked croissant to full English breakfast. As a boutique hotel in an 18th century building, the layouts of our rooms do vary and I always recommend speaking directly to our reservations team so that we can let you know what different room categories are available and will suit you.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing