We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Truly excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #11 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 28th to 31st December.
Both being JUST the wrong side of 60 , we are well travelled and appreciate the good things in life but do not like to feel we are being taken advantage of.
Our stay at this hotel was truly excellent.
Situation ; the middle of Mayfair , brilliant.
Cleanliness ; 5 star.
Decor ; 5 star.
Evening meals ; 5 star ( Loris , you were 7 star , thank you )
Afternoon tea ; 5 star
Breakfast ; 7 STAR - outstanding, best ever.
Waiting staff ; 5 star
Bar staff ; 5 star ( Paul and Adam you were 7 star , cheers )

If I had a minor gripe , it is expensive to use the the bar , but it is London and it is Mayfair,
so it was never going to be cheap.

Overall then , a very special short break , made extra special by the way we were treated by the staff.

Hopefully back again in March for my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that your stay at the Chesterfield Mayfair was a five-star experience and everything was to your satisfaction on this holiday break. Thank you for taking the time to recognise the dedication of all the staff here. I will be sure to pass on your comments onto all the team, especially Loris, Paul and Adam.

I am honoured that you will consider choosing us to help celebrate your wife’s birthday and I look forward to welcoming you back in March.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,232
    362
    76
    25
    12
See reviews for
503
1,186
159
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve night. At check in we were surprised to hear that we had been upgraded to one of their executive suites. The Philippe Suite was amazing - large and immaculately furnished. The staff were all very friendly during our one night stay. The hotel is in a great location in easy walking distance to alot of the sights of London. The breakfast on new years day was very nice, although we had to wait a while for the tables to be laid. All in all a very good stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DG123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a brilliant start to the New Year and that you found the Executive Suite amazing and all our team friendly and helpful. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent Christmas and New Years in London, staying at the Chesterfield, and it felt just like home! Attention to detail was superb: we also received a Christmas present from 'Father Christmas' which my daughter absolutely loved. The festive atmosphere was fantastic with a great bar where my husband and I stayed in the evening when the kids were finally asleep! Out of all the hotels I've stayed in this has by far been the most convincing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mareike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As is a tradition, we entertain a group from a Company we are in a Business partnership with, to a meal in the run up to Xmas in central London. We are from Manchester & look to stay over for the night.
This year we picked to eat at Langans just off Piccadily, & I wanted to stay close by to avoid rushing around in cabs too much. I received a central e mail from the Hotel ref availability etc for up to Xmas. I e mail back via this & received details from the General Manager ref my requirement for 3 rooms for 1 night. £160 plus vat for 3 double rooms ( dont like single rooms) to include breakfast. Compared to Manchester expensive but for this part of London in a good hotel---NO its not.
Stayed here 2 years ago & loved the small hotel feel & the location is spot on, quiet street but 5 mins walk & you are opposite the Ritz on Piccadily.
We all checked in via 3 staff on the desk with no fuss, up to our rooms which were all along the same corridor on the same floor . We only spent about 45 mins in our rooms to shower change before meeting in the bar. Room was a good size with a huge bed full of pillows & cushions, work area if required for Business as well as some chairs to relax in. Bright bathroom with large bath & rain shower. 2 large wardrobe spaces with iron & board if you unpack anything creased!
The public areas had a quality fell with all the decor & furnishings & the Xmas decorations added to a wonderfull seasonal buzz to the place. Really loved the cottage made out of sweets in the main hall area.
Pleasant bar area with resident pianist as we had our first drink of the night before heading off out............remembering the bar, we returned post midnight to the bar in the hotel with our Business colleagues & had a couple of rounds of hot & cold drinks before they headed off & we retired to our rooms. I found a note in the room along with a mince pie left as part of the turn down service ( the note said I had missed the complimentary canapes--- but by calling room service they would deliver them) I didn't but thought it a very nice touch.

Breakfast the following morning was taken in a very pleasant room , I would imagine in summer is an even greater experience as I noted the patio area through some large French doors. Lots of choices of juice/ fruit/ cereals etc & a wonderfull full English was enjoyed by the 3 of us, again with very efficient & pleasant staff.

To sum up despite our fairly brief visit ( & time spent in the hotel) we came away feeling that it had been a pleasure staying & not just a convenient place to put our heads down for the night.
To stay for Business or for pleasure would be an enjoyable experience at the Chesterfield.

Would we stay here again ...... looking forward to our third stay for sure.

Tom Melia
F. Duerr & Sons
Manchester

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHaydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a great review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that as a business traveller you experienced a great blend of comfort and convenience during your time here. It is a pleasure to know that you consider our hotel to offer great value for the location and amenities we have to offer. Our Bar Manager will be pleased that you enjoyed your pre-dinner drinks in the bar so much that you brought your business colleagues back after dinner at Langans to continue the evening.

We pride ourselves on our attention to detail: the fuss-free check in, generous desk space in each room and the rooms for your party being placed close to each other. I am glad you appreciated the Christmas decorations and our Executive Chef was very proud of the Gingerbread House in the foyer, it is important to celebrate the festive season.

Thank you once again for your kind words, it is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Chesterfield Mayfair.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here last year while visiting London for a theatre trip. It was so good that we went back with all the family, including our three year old Grandson, to see the Lion King and the Snowman just before Christmas this year.
We weren't disappointed, from the excellent Concierge service on arrival and departure to the lovely friendly Reception and Restaurant staff, even my old fella couldn't fault it!
The rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, the Restaurant has Leopard print curtain backing and carpet (an instant attraction for me!) and all food experienced was excellent. At the time of our stay breakfast was included in the price, my only sorrow was that I didn't have time to have one of the hotel's superb afternoon teas.
Our Grandson received a wrapped present mysteriously left in the room from Father Christmas, with his name on it. What a lovely touch!
This is without doubt an excellent hotel in an extremely convenient location - a short walk to the tube, bus and Hyde Park, where we were able to walk to the Winter Wonderland and Markets.
It is also very easy to get to theatre land from here, or in the other direction Harrods etc.
We will be back - can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PenJonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel was charming and friendly from the moment you arrived and I am glad that Father Christmas was able to deliver a gift to your Grandson; Christmas is a time of surprises!

Our Executive Housekeeper will appreciate the lovely remarks you make on the details in your room and our Food and Beverage team will be glad to hear that you had an excellent experience dining with us. I do hope that you will be able to sample afternoon tea on your next visit and can highly recommend the chocolate lover’s tea. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

Thank you for your great description of our surrounding areas and highlighting what a brilliant location we have, I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent the afternoon having a traditional tea,which was a treat for my wife's birthday.We were not disappointed .First of all a nice glass of chilled Champagne followed a good selection of finger sandwiches,pastries and scones,A good selection of teas available,with top ups and tea and sandwiches replenished if required.Loris and his team were polite,courteous and always on hand if required.Finally the whole tea was rounded off with Loris and his team presenting my wife with a small pastry with a lighted candle,a small posy of flowers and singing Happy birthday,A truly memorable occasion,made all the better by attentive staff,We are pleased that we chose the Chesterfield and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeBaldwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review from your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel for afternoon tea.

I am delighted to hear that your afternoon exceeded your expectations and we were able to ensure your wife’s birthday was celebrated in style. We take great pride in our afternoon tea with its amazing choice of 16 different blends and sumptuous pastries and cakes created by our Executive Chef.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members, especially Loris and the team at Butlers restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and returned on Boxing Day, we were looked after and made to feel very welcome, the food was amazing and High Tea was lovely. We had a lovely time and a beautiful London location, really glad we stayed and loved every minute of it, thanks for making it a lovely Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review from your stay with us over the Christmas holiday.

We pride ourselves on our great team and friendly service. Our Executive Chef will be delighted to hear your kind remarks on the quality and selection of food at Butlers restaurant. Christmas is such a special occasion, I am glad you enjoyed every minute of your stay. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#7 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,630 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#14 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#21 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,364 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing