We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #12 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've not felt compelled to write a review of any hotel or restaurant before however i had such a lovely experience at The Chesterfield i wanted to share a positive review of this.

For my first Afternoon Tea i was very impressed, with 3 other friends (two birthdays..) we were treated to a tasty and very filling array of cakes, sandwiches and tea. We were offered refills and staff made sure we had full plates at all times.. The staff were fantastic, not too attentive where we couldn't relax but there when needed which was perfect. I asked our waitress if there was anything she could do for the birthday girls and without hesitation said she would sort something out no problem, 4 staff then bought over a plate for each with Happy Birthday swirled in choc sauce, cupcake and candle and sang happy birthday..lovely added extra :-) Needless to say i am booking up again to take my mum and sisters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent afternoon with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair. I am happy that the special birthday plates were so appreciated; we feel that small gestures go a long way.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver a special experience have been appreciated. I will also be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef and his team about the cakes and sandwiches you so enjoyed.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future together with your Mum and sisters.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,493
    404
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
584
1,308
180
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here last night on a business trip and was delighted to find myself in such a charming, traditional, comfortable hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly and courteous. The location in central London is particularly good and although I work in London everyday I was struck by the beauty of the surrounding area and royal parks - this is quintessential London. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that had such a great business trip stay with us and I am pleased that you our quintessential London hotel and location was so appealing. I am sure your description about he surrounding beautiful Royal Parks will be appreciated by your fellow travellers.

I will also be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and we would definitely return. This was the first time at Chesterfield Mayfair and certainly will be our future " London Hotel" as the staff, the service and overall quality is excellent.
The location is wonderful, plenty of restaurants are close by the hotel, some very famous ones ( Hakkasan Mayfair, Cecconi's Mayfair, Sketch,The Guinea). Only a short walk through Green Park to Buckinghan Palace and five minutes from Green Park tube station.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Peter who sent our books to Brazil ( the box arrived in last then a week!!)The brazilian housekeeper ( Cristiana ) was very cheerful and eager to help us and the rooms were very clean.
The room ( a junior suite) was exactly the one that I told my agent to try to book!! ( I saw pictures of the rooms on the website - www.redcarnation.com) It was a good size , bright and clear, very comfortable with a lovely "decor" and the bathroom has a jacuzzi and a shower, that was very perfect.
The breakfast was part of the package rate and we can have it in our room without any tax until 11:00 am. We had an afternoon tea and it was very nice too, served with english grace and charm.
We had the most lovely stay, thank you for all, and we will be back next year!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank B e F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review from your stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that you all had an exceptional stay with us and the beautiful suite was exactly as you were experiencing.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, in particular Peter and Christine, about their service and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience.

Thank you for your great description of our surrounding areas and highlighting what a brilliant location we have, I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair, your London home, again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked this hotel and tickets to Stomp for my partners birthday in september. Staf were excellent, very attentive, nice rooms which didn't conform to the normal boring chain hotels. The buffet breakfast was good, although we've had better cooked fare! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmu262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and thank you for doing so.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are thrilled that you chose The Chesterfield Mayfair to celebrate your partner’s birthday.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members. I will also be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef and his team about the excellent quality of the food at the breakfast buffet.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambilly, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair, for business purposes, for 4 nights. I must say I never came across staff with such professional and personal approach at the same time. When staying there, you do not feel like being in a good hotel, but in one where everything is done to make you feel at home and to make your life easier :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your stay with us.

I am please to read that you found the professional and personal service of the staff to be so excellent. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The room was really small for 2 adults. The location is great, the Green Park is very close as well as the Buckingham Palace. The restaurant is very expensive. Room service was good but slow. We stayed for 2 nights over weekend and found it ok considering the UK standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theshadowvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review.

Thank you highlighting what a brilliant location we have; I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

With regards to your comments about the small size of the room, we do have larger categories of rooms; please enquire with our reservations team when next making your reservations to ensure a more comfortable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel this weekend for my girlfriends birthday.. The staff here went out of their way to make it special for her, the room upgrade, the birthday card, the cake, the great friendly service...a must must stay here! Thanks

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that we were able to welcome you for your first trip to England and we were able to provide you with a special traditional British experience.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#4 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing