We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Treated Like Royalty"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maynooth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Treated Like Royalty"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend for a weekend in October at the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel. From the Friday evening when we checked in to the Sunday evening when we checked out we were treated like royalty by all the staff, the service was of the highest order. Our room was very comfortable and it was a joy to come back to in the evening after our busy days sightseeing. We ate in Butlers Restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was delicious. Before we flew home on the Sunday we treated ourselves to afternoon tea, we can now see why it is so famous!! I can't wait for our next trip to London and our stay in the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesdowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your London weekend. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members. I will also be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef and his team about the excellent food in our Butlers restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,527
    410
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
591
1,332
181
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chesterfield in August and found it it an excellent choice. It's in a great location in a beautiful part of the city, just enough off the busy roads to give you a sense of being in a neighborhood, while still being close to any exploring you would want to do. But what really sets this place off is its friendly and helpful staff, from the efficient front desk who greet you personally, to the wait staff in wonderful Butler's restaurant. We were fortunate to have our daughter, her boyfriend and two of their friends join us at the last minute for dinner, and Butler's sat us right away at a large table in a nice area that made it feel special. We had a great waiter with the perfect personality who took a personal interest in our group, brought meals quickly to two who had to catch a train, and even accommodated my order for something that wasn't on the dinner menu! That meant a lot to us. Often in a big city you don't get such personal attention. Our room was not large, but that is very typical of London, and it was impeccably decorated and nicely appointed. The Chesterfield is not a large property, so each room is decorated individually, as opposed to a large chain hotel. This gives the hotel a unique personality, and true English charm. My only regrets are that we could not stay longer, and that we missed their famous afternoon tea! I hope to stay at The Chesterfield again soon, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great location and exceptional service in London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaribbeanDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments about your August stay with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay and I’m pleased that small touches such as the special meal in the restaurant created such a favourable impression. Thank you, too, for your wonderful feedback about the Butlers restaurant; I am sure our Food & Beverage Managers and the Executive Chef and his team will be very pleased to read your comments.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed a week at the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel while in London in mid-September. The hotel is delightful, as are all of the staff that we had occasion to interact with. We would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your lovely feedback following your recent stay at the Chesterfield Mayfair and I hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel was nothing but pleasant surprises. We arrived at 7:30am weary from traveling and long flights. The staff was very pleasant, provided warm towels and water, a very efficient check-in, and our room was available at this early hour. The rooms are not large, but are very comfortable including the beds, which we used to take a quick nap. The staff goes out of their way to make sure that your needs are met. The location is very convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friend and book it for myself in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilmgks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that you had an exceptional stay and I’m pleased that the service and attention to detail we pride ourselves on created such a favourable impression.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from another superb weekend at the Chesterfield Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Every aspect of the hotel is fabulous. Every member of staff was welcoming. How many hotels do you visit where staff call you by your name every time then encounter you? Well at the Chesterfield it is the norm and just shows the commitment to personal service. We were fortunate to be ugraded to a suite which was the height of luxury.

If you want to stay in luxury, be treated as an individual and want your needs to always be the first priority then visit the Chesterfield.

I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pclarkBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see our return guests coming back time again and thank you for writing your positive review.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the room and I’m pleased that the special upgrade to the suite was so appreciated.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our weeks stay in September was wonderful. The entire staff was friendly, attentive and accommodating to all of our needs. We felt pampered and loved all the amenities in our room. We have always loved London and the Mayfair district. Now we love the Chesterfield.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonoranArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield and you felt very pampered. I am pleased that you loved all of the amenities in the room.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again for your next trip.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed for a weekend .The hotel simulates traditional English luxury in the middle of London which is difficult to find these days. The place has a lot of character into it . The linen and towels are superb .The bed is very comfortable .The rooms are small but the fact that there is a lot of attention to details compensate for this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayseer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a pleasing review from your stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that you had an exceptional stay and I’m pleased that our comfortable rooms and special touches such as the luxurious linens and bedding created such a favourable impression.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing