We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved but got ripped off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Ranked #419 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved but got ripped off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

hotel is clean and great location. everyone was friendly and nice but later found out that the concierge ripped us off. it was our first night going out and he suggested that we take a taxi which he arranged for. the taxi did not have a meter and we were charged thirty pounds for a ride that should of cost eight pounds. I later found out that the driver pays the concierge to take advantage of tourists. This trip was a mother daughter getaway so it was upsetting that our trip started off like that. bottom line only take taxis with meters

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank ckm7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    517
    279
    125
    59
See reviews for
245
448
67
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tewkesbury eng
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, the hotel was full to capacity, our room was on floor11 no lifts above 10 but was clean and tidy, the mini bars had been removed and no ice bucket in the room, had to improvise to cool the champange my daughter had padked for us as it was our 20th wedding anniversary . smaller than any other radisson room i have ever stayed in, we were allowed a late check out on our last day, reception staff forgot to reprogram the room card so when we went to the room to shower before leaving we found we couldn't get in. I had to go to reception and then wait with people wanting to check in to get the matter sorted,15mins. Breakfasr was as you would expect from radisson very good although bar prices a little high at £10.50 for a glass of wine and a beer, the bar in Soho we drank in before returning to the hotel was £6.50, On checking out the receptionist did appolige for our room saying she would normally upgrade radisson card holders but was unable to as the hotel was full. my persnal view is that this would be a high 3* rather than a 4*.

  • Liked — breakfast was good
  • Disliked — room small and no lift to floor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank michaeljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

This is a solid 4-star hotel that is recommended at a discount price, but the rack rates don't represent a good value. My wife and I holiday in London 2-3 times a year, and only use this hotel when we get a good discount rate, which I consider to be around USD 225.

The hotel is well located for shopping. It is in the northwest corner of Portman Square, two blocks north of Oxford Street. It is closest to Marble Arch tube, but only a five-minute walk from Bond Street station. The hotel is a short cab ride from the Heathrow Express at Paddington.

The hotel has two towers connected by a large, contemporary lobby. The west tower contains the smaller, standard rooms. The west tower rooms include some floors with special international decorating themes. This time, we went with a superior room in the east tower, room 501.

Reception was businesslike, but not particularly cheerful. Since we know London well, we didn't call on the staff for any special services.

Even the superior rooms are not large (see photos). Our room contained a queen bed set at an angle. The headboard was over six feet high and served as a partition enclosing a desk area in the triangular space behind the bed. Free Internet access was included.

The room had a modern bathroom with average toiletries. There is built-in closet and drawer space, but not a lot of room for hanging items. Both the room and the bathroom were well-maintained and clean. Our nights were quiet, with little corridor noise.

Our rate included a buffet breakfast served in the restaurant at the east end of the lobby. When we were there, the buffet was crowded, and there was a short queue for tables one morning. The selection was typical, with juices, rolls/pastries, a selection of fruits, cereals, cold meats/cheeses, and hot dishes, including scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes (fried in fishy oil), tomatoes, and baked beans. Overall, the breakfast was somewhat better than average in both selection and quality.

In summary, this is a large hotel with a good west end location (especially for shopping) and smaller -- but clean and updated -- rooms. It is an acceptable value at discounted rates.

  • Liked — Proximity to Oxford Street
  • Disliked — Sometimes difficult to get discount rates
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PhotoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Just had to write about the Portman. Spent the weekend there and was most impressed by the hotel facilities and the service. I booked the hotel and theatre tickets for The Lord of the Rings, through Show-and-Stay. The hotel itself, the service, reception, breakfast all were excellent, and as for the beds, I dont think Ive ever slept in a more comfortable hotel bed. Everything was spotless and the staff went out of their way to accommodate and were most helpful with information on travel, etc.
I cannot understand some of the previous negative reviews - were these people from the same planet??? The location could not be better - 5 minutes walk from Marble Arch and a short taxi journey to the Theatre. Id certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends, and would definitely stay there again when in London. (The only down side to our weekend was that our flight was 4 hours late and we arrived at the hotel very late but again the staff could not have been more helpful even at this late hour.)

  • Liked — Every aspect was perfect
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

Helpfull breakfast room staff, good location for the shoppers (oxford street), free wi-fi, ice maker in the corridor. In general everything is OK. Rooms could be bit bigger.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SauliusAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

We stayed this hotel, everything is great (Location, Service) Especially custumer oriented staff is excellent. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDFULK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed at the Radisson for our anniversary, we booked through lastminute.com, excellent hotel, room was lovely, hotel staff extremely polite and helpful. We went to see Dirty Dancing on stage, which was fab. Got a Taxi there and back cost about £20 return, used the original tour company buses to see the sights, one of the many routes departed form the side of the hotel, very handy. Hotel in excellent location for shopping, oxford street a few minutes walk away. Defiantly return later in the year with the children.

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarwickshireBaby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#307 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#385 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,823 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#68 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London

Property: Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Address: 22 Portman Square, London W1H 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#287 Luxury Hotel in London
#295 Family Hotel in London
#303 Romantic Hotel in London
#324 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel situated on Portman Square, convenient to Oxford Street shopping & Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing