We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with serious rejuvenation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Ranked #452 of 1,072 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here on business & to be honest was shocked at how dated and stained decor was in first room they offered, given the window wouldn't close properly I asked for alternate room as there was already a lot of noise from the street. Second room had advantage of a closing window but decor from the early 90's and that's being optimistic. I tried to ignore stains to upholstery and mold ink bathroom as to tired to change gain. There are much nicer hotels near this location, i definitely would avoid staying here gain.

Room Tip: Be persistent & don't take first offered...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us.

I regret to read that you were not satisfied with your stay with us and I would like to sincerely apologize on behalf of the Hotel for your disappointing experience. We offer a range of room types that vary on both décor and size and we would be happy show you different types of rooms upon your next stay. Our Executive Housekeeper would like to extend her apologies for the issues regarding the cleanliness of the room and rest assured the matter will certainly be followed up accordingly. May I kindly ask you to contact me directly to discuss your experience further as I would certainly like to make it right for you?

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon again and I hope that upon the next visit we will be able to meet your expectations.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location is very good for Oxford Street shopping (its just a block or 2 behind Selfridges). We had book 2 premium rooms (supposidly identical). 1 was a lot bigger than the other! Also one of the rooms had bathrobes and slippers and the other room we had to request them. The downstairs of the hotel is nice. We did not use the restaurant or bar and so may places to eat we did not need to spend £20 per person on breakfast.

I came away for a week end of theatre, shopping and some rest. I don't object to outside noise but I was woken up early by other guests knocking on doors and could hear the TV from next door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesholidaysLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us.

Our locations is indeed great as we are close to both Oxford Street and Marble Arch. We do have different kind of rooms even in the same category and for your next time if you have any requests when it comes to the rooms, you are always welcomed to contact us in advance and we would be happy to note the requests to your booking.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Until then if there is anything else I can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is nice enough and the location is good, BUT, they tried to charge me £50 extra per night to put a fold up bed in the room for my son. I had booked the room as two adults and one child, but there was no mention of this extra charge until I checked in. A nominal charge of perhaps £10/night might be acceptable, but £50/night is ludicrous. I could go out and buy a bed for the cost of the not particularly comfortable fold up bed. After complaining I got a reduction from 3 nights fees to 2 nights fees, but still I consider it a mean trick to play on families staying at the hotel. I shall avoid Radisson in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sacha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to see that you were pleased with our central location, but regret to see that we were not able to meet your expectations. For the families and our little guests we do offer the possibility to stay free in the parent’s room on existing bedding for children 17 and under. In case our guests prefer the extra bed we do charge £50 per night, which is a competitive price when compared to the other Hotels in central London. The price is mentioned in our brand web site and I am sorry to hear that the charge was not clear enough when you booked the room. We will certainly follow up on this. May I kindly ask you to contact me directly, if you would wish to discuss your recent experience further?

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you soon again. Until then if there is anything I can help with, please do not hesitate to contact me.


With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a three-course meal here with friends, very nice food and what really made it a great experience was the friendliness of the staff we met and the impeccable service from the waiting staff. Recommended, and a good location within a five minute walk of Marble Arch tube station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuftynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your uplifting review regarding your dinner.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at the Portman Corner Restaurant. The staff is indeed very friendly and attentive and we couldn’t be happier that this was overall a great experience for you. We are happy to hear that you were also pleased with our central location near the Marble Arch Tube Station.

We hope to see you back soon again.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Third stay this year. Small problems rose with lighting in the room but were fixed almost immediately. Great location, mostly great service attitude and we will certainly come back. We prefer the rooms higher up!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

We couldn’t be happier to hear that you had a great stay with us yet again. We are delighted that you are pleased with our staff and service. We do take great pride in our staff and I agree that friendly and helpful service truly makes a difference.

We hope to see you back soon again.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel on a trip together with my son, in London to watch football. Was fortunate enough to use points from both Carlson Club and SAS Eurobonus, so cannot comment on the quality compared to price.

However, was upgraded to a business class room, which is a good-size room with a little extra amenities. Breakfast (the super-duper breakfast, or something like that), was OK, but not all that special. Very crowded on Sunday morning, much better on Monday morning.

Location is excellent, just two blocks from Oxford Street. Would absolutely stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Napoleon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you were pleased with the complimentary upgrade given. The Business Class rooms are indeed more spacious and the extra amenities make the room even more special. Location is indeed excellent with Oxford Street only a short stroll away.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you soon again.

With Kind Regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a long wait to check in, we arrived approx 1.30pm. Our room was a standard room but was very small and basic in my opinion, we enjoyed our stay here last year but we were lucky to have been given a business class room which seemed slightly bigger and better decorated.
We had a bad heat/air con unit which constantly whistled on and off all night even though I had turned the unit off, I did let the front desk know and they kindly offered us breakfast, however that didn't make up for getting no sleep ( In a premier inn the room would of been free ! ).
Good location but not sure if we will stay again as the standard of room was average and I know there are better around.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us the first time, but regret to see that we were not able to meet your expectations during this stay. We do offer a range of different room types that vary in size and upon the next visit we would be happy to show you some of the other room types to find a room better suitable for your needs. We would sincerely like to apologize for the issues with the air conditioning system and the inconvenience it caused. Rest assured this will certainly be followed up by our Chief Engineer to ensure that such issues would not reoccur. May I kindly ask you to contact me directly to discuss further your recent experience with us?

I do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again and upon the next visit we hope to meet and exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#308 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#82 of 1,072 in London
1,685 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London

Address: 22 Portman Square, London W1H 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in London
#295 Family Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#303 Romantic Hotel in London
#324 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $218 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel situated on Portman Square, convenient to Oxford Street shopping & Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing