We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Ranked #445 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, but some problems”
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The hotel is in a great location for Oxford Street etc, Marble Arch Tube only a few mins away.

Free Wi-Fi Internet access which is great.

Booked a Superoior Room on the Hotels Web Site, stayed in Room 754, the room is SMALL !!!!!, not enough space for 2 adults to move arround, hate to think what the standard rooms are like.

Bathroom is fair, but could do with updating.

Breakfast Room is to small, people eating at coffee tables in the bar area and at the bar itself, Breakfast itself is more than ample, but hot food needs to be hotter, its only luke warm.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of Room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank stevebearsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    528
    289
    133
    60
See reviews for
248
462
67
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We booked into this hotel to attend a friend's wedding at a hotel next to the Radisson (we coulnd't afford the 5 star rates!). We were pleasantly surprise with this Radisson. Having been to London many times and having some horrendous experience with some hotels after having paid through the nose, this is by far one of the best Radisson i have come across.

We were upgraded to the business floor after having paid GBP109 per room for a standard room for our two night's stay. Check in was relatively smooth and straightforward with surprisingly friendly staff. The room was large with the usual amenities including...wait for it, a NESPRESSO machine! It was clean and had very comfortable bed. There was complementary Wifi for guests and good selection of tv channels. The only problem i had with the room was the sound insulation wasn't the best. There was a really loud man next to our room who wouldn't shut up even at 4 am, obviously after a night out in town!

The hotel is in a very good location being very close to the Marble Arch and Bond St tube station. It's also within walking distance of North Oxford St. The business center is not exactly the most impressive one i have come across. It was small and only had one computer terminal. They had the usual printing and faxing services. Our tv internet wasn't working but that wasn't such a big deal as we were there on holidays anyway. We were so pleased with our stay that we extended a night there!

I highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure for a reasonable 4 star price!

  • Liked — Great location and well-appointed rooms.
  • Disliked — Noise from adjoining room.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank noxioust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

hotel is clean and great location. everyone was friendly and nice but later found out that the concierge ripped us off. it was our first night going out and he suggested that we take a taxi which he arranged for. the taxi did not have a meter and we were charged thirty pounds for a ride that should of cost eight pounds. I later found out that the driver pays the concierge to take advantage of tourists. This trip was a mother daughter getaway so it was upsetting that our trip started off like that. bottom line only take taxis with meters

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank ckm7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, the hotel was full to capacity, our room was on floor11 no lifts above 10 but was clean and tidy, the mini bars had been removed and no ice bucket in the room, had to improvise to cool the champange my daughter had padked for us as it was our 20th wedding anniversary . smaller than any other radisson room i have ever stayed in, we were allowed a late check out on our last day, reception staff forgot to reprogram the room card so when we went to the room to shower before leaving we found we couldn't get in. I had to go to reception and then wait with people wanting to check in to get the matter sorted,15mins. Breakfasr was as you would expect from radisson very good although bar prices a little high at £10.50 for a glass of wine and a beer, the bar in Soho we drank in before returning to the hotel was £6.50, On checking out the receptionist did appolige for our room saying she would normally upgrade radisson card holders but was unable to as the hotel was full. my persnal view is that this would be a high 3* rather than a 4*.

  • Liked — breakfast was good
  • Disliked — room small and no lift to floor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank michaeljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

This is a solid 4-star hotel that is recommended at a discount price, but the rack rates don't represent a good value. My wife and I holiday in London 2-3 times a year, and only use this hotel when we get a good discount rate, which I consider to be around USD 225.

The hotel is well located for shopping. It is in the northwest corner of Portman Square, two blocks north of Oxford Street. It is closest to Marble Arch tube, but only a five-minute walk from Bond Street station. The hotel is a short cab ride from the Heathrow Express at Paddington.

The hotel has two towers connected by a large, contemporary lobby. The west tower contains the smaller, standard rooms. The west tower rooms include some floors with special international decorating themes. This time, we went with a superior room in the east tower, room 501.

Reception was businesslike, but not particularly cheerful. Since we know London well, we didn't call on the staff for any special services.

Even the superior rooms are not large (see photos). Our room contained a queen bed set at an angle. The headboard was over six feet high and served as a partition enclosing a desk area in the triangular space behind the bed. Free Internet access was included.

The room had a modern bathroom with average toiletries. There is built-in closet and drawer space, but not a lot of room for hanging items. Both the room and the bathroom were well-maintained and clean. Our nights were quiet, with little corridor noise.

Our rate included a buffet breakfast served in the restaurant at the east end of the lobby. When we were there, the buffet was crowded, and there was a short queue for tables one morning. The selection was typical, with juices, rolls/pastries, a selection of fruits, cereals, cold meats/cheeses, and hot dishes, including scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes (fried in fishy oil), tomatoes, and baked beans. Overall, the breakfast was somewhat better than average in both selection and quality.

In summary, this is a large hotel with a good west end location (especially for shopping) and smaller -- but clean and updated -- rooms. It is an acceptable value at discounted rates.

  • Liked — Proximity to Oxford Street
  • Disliked — Sometimes difficult to get discount rates
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PhotoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Just had to write about the Portman. Spent the weekend there and was most impressed by the hotel facilities and the service. I booked the hotel and theatre tickets for The Lord of the Rings, through Show-and-Stay. The hotel itself, the service, reception, breakfast all were excellent, and as for the beds, I dont think Ive ever slept in a more comfortable hotel bed. Everything was spotless and the staff went out of their way to accommodate and were most helpful with information on travel, etc.
I cannot understand some of the previous negative reviews - were these people from the same planet??? The location could not be better - 5 minutes walk from Marble Arch and a short taxi journey to the Theatre. Id certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends, and would definitely stay there again when in London. (The only down side to our weekend was that our flight was 4 hours late and we arrived at the hotel very late but again the staff could not have been more helpful even at this late hour.)

  • Liked — Every aspect was perfect
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Helpfull breakfast room staff, good location for the shoppers (oxford street), free wi-fi, ice maker in the corridor. In general everything is OK. Rooms could be bit bigger.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SauliusAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#288 of 1,067 in London
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,067 in London
1,551 reviews
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#391 of 1,067 in London
5,993 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London

Property: Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Address: 22 Portman Square, London W1H 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in London
#295 Family Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#303 Romantic Hotel in London
#324 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel situated on Portman Square, convenient to Oxford Street shopping & Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing