We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new manager, dreadful service by the manager herself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Ranked #361 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new manager, dreadful service by the manager herself”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

we had been regulars for the past 4 years and always happy abouth the accommodation. Until this time! I was waitng to check in, and watched the receptionist making troubles to some french guests. I interfere, trying to help, and was kicked off
by her, asking me stay out. I was rather disappointed and when I had to check in, then
she was so impolite that I felt I might get a heart attack., If I had not known the hotel, I would have gone away. I asked to speak to the general manager, and she told me that she was the new appointed manager.

I fortunately, knew some of the staff, and inquiring about the new manager, they confirmed that I was not the only guest to complain for dreadful service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencerexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    364
    174
    47
    29
See reviews for
119
295
64
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Itlay
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. A very nice and clean hotel, which is in a very good location. It is close to the central london which is perfect even for night go out, and 5-minute walk to the canary wharf tube station which was very useful. We did have a problem when we arrived for twin room but then friendly receptionst especially the Manager who sort it out the problem by putting extra bed for us, though they don't do this normally.The breakfast was fantastic with so many different items, though they need to add some items in the hot buffet as there was more variety in cold buffet, which is really good value of money.

The staff (Althea, Himani, Raj & Narinder ) were very friendly and helped in everyway they could, especially Althea who even let me print my online borading passes using his own PC. We decided to do the tours and visits ourselves, and glad we did! Some of the brochure prices were too high - but the staff given us good information about the travelling and cheapest way to visit the best attractions of London for example London Pass and viewing from the boat as it passed, but did include lunch and probably a tour guide. There were other trips as well, which in my opinion can be done by yourself with a little help from the tourist information centres. You will save a lot of money if you put a little effort in ofcourse the hotel staff guided me for all this.

We had a little hiccup at the end when checking out, where the system thought we owed them money even though I cleared the balance the night before - but I guess that was the computer system problem rather than a staff problem. In the end, it was all sorted. Apart from that, a great stay in a great budget hotel and I would definitely recommend to anyone. I am also become a memeber of A club.

Helpful?
Thank creativelondon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

The staff was very friendly and helpfull, at arrival they offered us to provide a baby cot and at breakfast they brought a highchair to our baby. They gave us information about the city sightseeing as well. So they looked after us. The room was really clean and seemed new. The breakfast was fair, it was not expensive and we had buffet table choice. The location of the hotel was very good, the public transport was walking distance, it was great because we were with our baby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita-family-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2009

good location,
economy hotel,
friendly, helpful staff,
clean, comfortable room
delicious food
good value

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Rooms are very basic but clean.
The hotel is situated near to a very busy roundabout so our room was very very noisy with the window open.
Breakfast once again is very basic and I had to ask many times for things as it seems they were struggling to keep up with restocking the food, cutlery, napkins etc.
Parking is great though. Plenty of parking and costs just £5.00 for the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Receptionist polite and friendly. I was tired after travelling, so elected to eat in the room. BIG mistake - the beef dish resembled dog food, and the frozen peas and carrots were still frozen in the middle. I should have gone to McDonalds across the road!

Room was clean, though decor very tired and worn. Bathroom immaculately clean.

Seemed to be lots of people complaining about various aspects of their stay (I counted 4 and I only stayed overnight!). I often use IBIS on overseas, and this is the worst one I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Causette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Stayed when going to O2 for a concert, rooms clean & tidy, staff friendly and helpful. Fine for an overnight but is a bit basic this is reflected in the rate which was very good for a London hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weller_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Docklands
#577 of 1,069 in London
1,178 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#482 of 1,069 in London
2,027 reviews
Docklands Lodge
#629 of 1,069 in London
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf

Property: Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Address: 1 Baffin Way | off Preston Road, London E14 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Green Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf hotel is an economy London hotel in the Docklands area. Your hotel booking puts you minutes walk from the commercial and financial hub of Canary Wharf, and a short light rail journey from ExCel and the O2 Arena. The 87 modern guestrooms all come with satellite TV and free internet access. Bar and Restaurant open 7 days a week. City Airport is just 5km from the hotel, and there is secure onsite parking for up to 30 cars. There is a free web corner in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Docklands Hotel London
Accor London Docklands
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing