We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONLY IN DESPERATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guilford House Hotel
Ranked #458 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Ashton-in-Makerfield
1 review
“ONLY IN DESPERATION”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nine out of ten for location,but that is all this "hotel" has got going for it.The high presence of air freshener should have told us maybe they were to mask the nasty smells.One good point,the bed linen was clean. Looking at the kitchen,we decided to give the breakfast a miss.My advice is give this "hotel"a miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    29
    26
    80
See reviews for
26
28
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

To tell the truth the location is excellent, 10 minutes walk from British Museum. The metro is a bit far, but in 7-8 minutes walking distance. A Russels square is nearer, than the Kings Cross metro station. The breakfast is 2 toast with some jam and butter. You can leave the luggage in the hotel on the check out day, and go for sight seeing if you have a late journey.
Our room on the last floor under the roof, was a bit ugly. The floor was not horizontal so first we had to repair the leg of the bed not to slip onto the floor during the night. (true)
Perhaps we should have asked for an other room, but we spent there 3 nights so we didn't moved. Altogether it was a cheap accomodation in London, if you can not accept the inconveniance you should choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept the room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I booked a room for 3 nights. On my arrival and entering the B&B I was greeted by a weird smell which seems to linger throughout the whole building. However the staff were friendly and were willing to help with my needs. The room itself is small and still has the strange smell that I mentioned earlier, luckily they had air freshener in the toilets so I was using that every half hour. The toilets themselves are also very confined, I had to go back downstairs as they forgot to put toilet roll in there. Also the bed sheets were stained which the cleaner decided not to change. The B&B is located near the main roads as well so getting a good nights sleep can prove difficult. I had to stay an extra couple of days and in the end I decided to book another place elsewhere. For its money I would not recommend this place, there are B & B's out there which aren't that far away for roughly the same price and overall a better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were 6 girls on a hen night, we arrived at the hotel only to be told the room we had booked (months in advance) had started leaking last night (they did not call us to inform us of this) so they decided to give us a room for 2 and a room for 3, the 6th person was offered a matress to sleep on the filthy floor, for a £15 reduction. When we questioned this (as it is ridiculous to even suggest that one of us slept on the floor) the man at the front desk was incredibly rude, started raising his voice and behaving as if we should be greatful for what we had been offered. He then finally offered us a room for two 'next door'. This room and whole building was derelict, covered with work tools and we felt hugely unsafe as if we would be attacked during the night. The whole 'hotel' smelt of urine and was filthy. The rooms had beds touching each other and the 'ensuite' was like a train toilet. We were taken advantage of as we were 6 girls only looking for a place to sleep on a hen weekend, at 5pm on one of the busiest weekends of the year(the london marathon) He knew full well that we were desperate and took full advantage of this. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! As a matter of principle we left and did not stay in that dump for a minute longer. (We finally found a place at the fantastic 4*Holborn hotel and had a fantastic hen party!)

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked a 4 pax room... no space, very little WC cabin, many items broken (for instance water boiler), not very clean, no luggage room, very poor breakfast, and last day no heating and no warm water. for the same prize, many other htls avalaible

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Urpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#750 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#261 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#52 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#360 of 573 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Clerk & Well Pub
The Clerk & Well Pub
#58 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Bloomsbury
Goodenough Club
Goodenough Club
#27 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilford House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilford House Hotel

Property: Guilford House Hotel
Address: 6 Guilford Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilford House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guilford House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guilford Hotel London
Guilford House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing