We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel we have ever been on.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grapevine Hotel
Ranked #431 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    68
    82
    76
    232
See reviews for
101
114
75
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

For the money this hotel was better than others in similar price bracket. Our room was compact but had everything we needed, fresh towels were given each day. Although hotel offers free wifi we were on second floor and couldn't connect to it but could get it in breakfast room. Hot water was available at 6 in morning but not a couple of hours later, also the water pressure wasn't brilliant so water didn't come out at a great rate. Breakfast was better than expected but the older lady was a little surly, also the patio door wouldn't close properly yesterday,21/2, so room was draughty. The left luggage facility was great and man on reception was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again but maybe in a room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Try for a room on ground or first floor for wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The pictures of this hotel did not match what we viewed. A number of rooms did not have ensuites. Room was very dated. for a hotel that has had refurbishment completed in June 2012 they really need to take another look at the situation. the bathroom was not cleaned during our stay. having worked in the industry I have never seen a hotel in the state this one was in. in actual fact we booked in else where on the second night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
8 Thank Ciaran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Flexibility, reliability, accountability, are of more than just satisfactory!
If you see other bad reviews, just look at the price before saying no. If you paid this price, that's the best you can get in London! Moreover, noone wants to just stay in the hotel all day long in London, hotels are just for overnights! Furthermore, no deposits required at all, pleasant payment experience!
They provide storage room, so that you need not carry your luggages around when it's not time for you to leave yet.
I left the hotel, came back asking for help cause my phone ran out of battery and I didn't charge it when I was still in the hotel, they were kind enough to charge the phone for me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Grapevine hotel is one of the better bed&breakfast hotels close to Victoria station. It takes less than 10 minutes to walk there from the station, from where you can catch buses to Stansted and Gatwick airports The hotel room have a modern decoration, attached bathroom and free wifi. The rooms are rather small, but functional and clean. Complimentary breakfast is served in the basement and there is a good choice of continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a really bad experience. Toilet and shower down the landing and three days without hot water. we were promised £45 as compensation to be put in our account, but they never materialized. A very frugal breakfast and the room didn't have any space for the suitcases. it was cheap in all categories. but since it was the paralympics at the time, there was no alternative.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann-Cathrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Grapevine Hotel and found that you can't beat this place for value due to it's location. Our double room was cosy, clean and comfortable. The only slight issue we had was the level of noise the bedroom doors created each time they are shut, that aside I recommend this hotel to any traveller who is seeking affordable, clean & well located accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
New England Hotel
New England Hotel
#952 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#869 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#631 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#737 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#927 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Pimlico
Sheriff Hotel
Sheriff Hotel
#161 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapevine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Hotel

Property: The Grapevine Hotel
Address: 117 Warwick Way | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grapevine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel located in the heart of London within walking distance of major sightseeing attractions including Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, Tate Britain and Harrods to name a few. We are located within 3 minute walking distance from the Victoria Coach Station and within 5 minute walking distance from the Victoria Train/Underground/Bus.We have undergone major refurbishment and modernisation, completed in June 2012. With imaginative planning we have updated all our rooms to provide private shower and WC facilities (either en-suite or exclusive suite) and offer a great choice of standard, superior and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grapevine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapevine Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing