We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the same room for 3 months”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Ranked #362 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stayed in the same room for 3 months”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to london for a business trip for 3 months. Chose Citadines studio apartment as it feels like home if you have the kitchen with you. The location of this hotel is great as it is in the heart of central london. Rooms are decent however 1 thing i disliked was that despite of me staying there for 3 months they gave me a room with no view at all. There were no discounts given as well. The staff there is average.

Room Tip: Take a roadside view if you don't wanna feel a loner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dssavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry we could not make your stay more enjoyable . If you ever come back to London please call me directly so I can ensure your requests are met.

Kind regards

Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    560
    211
    66
    48
See reviews for
373
382
75
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really clean and pleasant rooms. Did seem a bit odd having a fridge and cooker in the room but means you can do your own thing for dinner or breakfast. You can buy provisions across the road so you can have any form of food depending on what you fancy. Nice big rooms, comfy beds and nice hot showers. Didn't eat there as it is close to Covent Garden. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to read your comments and delighted to hear you had a good experience with us and you were happy with the service you received.
I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I was here for 4 nights working in London so location was the main factor for selection and for that it can't be faulted. Nothing is that far away in London but you won't want to drive ;) - Holborn tube just over the road so all good. They have a carpark also - but cheekily want to charge £25 per night for that privilege.
So - services wise I can't comment on as I worked nights so no breakfast for me. Amusingly they did call me one morning to let me know there was a do not disturb sign on my door. Genius.
Staff all friendly. Rooms bright and clean. Compact but hey you're in central London.
Good kitchen for the time you'll need it, supermarket opposite.
If I'm fussy - 21 inch TV is a bit small. Even in that room. And the bed was not comfortable at all. Sagging in the middle after one night.
Aside from that. Good enough for the money. No massive issues.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harpersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. I am glad to learn that overall you have enjoyed your stay and I am truly sorry for a couple of frustration you have faced, I will speak to my executive team to address them. I also would like to share with you that we offer larger flat screen TVs in our club and 1 bedroom apartments.
I sincerely hope you will visit us again, until then take care

Regards

Germana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have originally chosen this hotel on its closeness to the University of Arts and was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality.
We have stayed in a normal twin studio - the size of the room was more than adequate for London , it had a small nook with a kitchenette and the bathroom is a normal size for a London's hotel . The only thing I'd change was the light in the bathroom , a bit too dark for my liking .
It's surprisingly quiet inside and the mattresses were just the right shade of firm.
Location-wise it's surrounded by fast eateries and sandwich shops which do get busy in the mornings with the office crowd ( high holborn area is an office hub so expect plenty of people at rush hours). It's within easy walking distance of both covent garden and Tottenham court road ( where the Oxford street shopping starts ) . The strand, Leicester sq, restaurants and west end theaters are reachable by foot or a short taxi ride away.
We did not take the breakfast option at the hotel - as soon as you go into the side streets on the way to Oxford street or Covent Garden , there are plenty of cafes offering full English breakfasts for under five pounds.
I have to say that this hotel will definitely be one of the first ones I look up when visiting London .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a fantastic experience and that you have become such a fan of our service and amenities.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Second time here and the same conslusion: good location, nice design of the rooms but the hotel doesn't seem to be properly maintained. It's amazing how everyone complains about the same things (heating, beds etc.) and how they don't seem to be doing anything about it... I could summarise this as a reasonable hotel at an un-reasonable rate. As long as the company's paying for it, it is ok, but I would never chose it for my holiday hotel, due to the high price which do not reflect in the comfort ofered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely sorry for the frustrations you experienced during your stay . I would like to share with you that we have this week changed over half of the mattresses and we are now looking into resolving the issues we are facing with tegh heating system.I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future when I would hope to meet with you personally.
With my best wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location is very good; only two tube stops from King's Cross and easily walkable to Theatreland. Check-in was fine, room 433 looked fine upon first inspection. It's nice to have a sink, cooktop, fridge and cutlery/crockery.

Bed was not very good; we could feel the springs.

Next morning, upon showering, we found that the water temp was close to uncontrollable; hot water dangerously hot. The shower rod was loose on the wall and the shower head assembly could not be tightened so it slid up and down and also kept banging into the wall. The glass panel leaked water all over the floor. It was close to impossible to have a shower. In the middle of this, reception called the room and asked if everything was ok as the smoke detector had been triggered. The detector was located directly outside the bathroom door - genius design.

We complained about the problems with the shower upon checkout and were met with the 'Oh, sorry about that, so, everything ok then?'

Last time we stayed, the heat didn't work in the room.

This hotel looks the part but does not deliver. There was something wrong both times we stayed. We don't see a reason to return. For £140 per night, I can find something else that is conveniently located with a working shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philhealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
I was so sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your recent stay and I would like to take this opportunity of offering you my personal apologies.I have taken note of your comments and have followed up with my Head of Maintenance regarding the issues you have faced. I am also aware that my assistant Paul Cahill has already contacted you privately to offer a service recovery gesture.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Citadines prestige London when I would hope to restore your confidence in the Hotel. If you do decide to return, which I very much hope, please contact my office directly and I will personally ensure you are well looked after.
With warmest wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed beteen christmas and new year 2012 two rooms booked jr suites first rooms on 2 floor at back good view of office block next door very unhappy as room small and not like photos.
very expensive 290 pounds a roomx2 = 4 nights (time of year) poor value for money wanted room of a suite but got a room with little kitchen. Asked reception to please move to a better aspect ended up on 4 floor at the front much better for our needs at least it did have a couch and more room unfortunatly turnrd on bathroom light and shorted all power ! in our room so was moved to simalar room 408 was given a free b,fast to compensate eggs(boiled) and toast very poor glad i did not pay the eight pounds.
also for the five days we stayed there was only one lift working long wait to get to your room not acceptable at these prices.
To be fair as it is a french run hotel and all staff seemed to be french. Communication may have been a problem as we are Australian and sometimes the English dont understand us either
Also it was very busy time of year a peak period but better communication on us checking in could have solved a very bad situation.Left me feeling upset.
But on the positive once we settleted in the hotel. It is close to the station with many resturents close by
Good location with bit of a walk to covert garden and lester square but doable.
a special occcasion for me and my family was spoiled by poor choice in hotels expectations not reached for us very expensive failure.Better choices avalable in area.

Room Tip: Rooms at front much better aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Citadines prestige Holborn Covent Garden hotel, I appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences on this site.

Naturally your comments are deeply concerning to both myself and my team, who all share a passion for great customer service. Please be assured your experience is completely incongruous, as many reviews on this site demonstrate. However one review such as this is one too many I am extremely embarrassed that your time with us was marred by so many issues.

It would be churlish of me to try to justify the situation; clearly we failed you as a guest.

I would like to apologize that you had such an unacceptable experience, as a first time guests to the Citadines we missed a vital opportunity to win your loyalty, I can only hope we have an opportunity to alter your current perception in the future.

Regards

Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,069 in London
1,567 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#243 of 1,069 in London
3,271 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#164 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Property: Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Address: 94-99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
#258 Romantic Hotel in London
#310 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London England
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing