We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Ranked #360 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and a great location”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Loved this apartment hotel. Neat rooms, clean bathroom, well equipped kitchen, awesome location and to top it all, what an amazing staff. Polite, extra helpful, friendly...and for someone who is not too familiar with the surroundings, they were a blessing. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shareshtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a fantastic experience and that you have become such a fan of our service and amenities.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Germana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    553
    207
    66
    48
See reviews for
364
375
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here due to its location near to work, for one night. I suppose it would also make a sensible tourist hotel as it’s close to Covent Garden, West End and near to tube lines (direct to Heathrow). There’s also alot of handy stores nearby for essentials.

The property is fairly modern and well looked after. Check in staff were friendly and efficient too. Small gym and lounge available downstairs. But as with any hotel you expect the basics: bed, bath, quiet. It failed on all counts.

The rooms are by definition studio like – but a few too many defects. There’s a tiny but really well equipped kitchen (flower vase and 2 types of wine glasses included). Fridge was turned off on arrival so you’d need to leave it a while before use. Alot of different lights so it’s either very dark or hyper bright. Enough space to move around generally. The ‘double’ bed was two singles pushed together and were too soft to be comfortable. Pretty much one of the worst beds I have ever slept in. The air con also made an intermittent squeaking noise disrupting sleep – if I was staying for more than one night I would have had to switch rooms. The TV was also very small, more like a monitor. Major win was the comp’d wifi.

The bathroom was clean but the shower leaked heavily through the screen onto the floor, probably due to it having the force of a car pressure washer. The toiletries provided were a bit random (bath salts and lotion) and the shower gel dispenser above the bath was actually empty. Also very small bath towels.

Can’t say I would stay again but if you were looking for something flexible in the Holborn area it’s probably the cheapest/best option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
I have taken note of your comments and I will certainly be following up with my Head of Maintenance regarding the bathroom.
If you do wish to return, please contact me directly so I can personally ensure your reservation is taken care of.
With warmest wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

One of the few hotels in London with triple rooms or small apartments, the Citadines Holborn offers good accommodation, nice large rooms with a nordic design and good facilities, bathrooms and kitchenette, and very good service, professional and present. Available a complete and satisfactying breakfast. It is in a very good position, walking distance to Covent Garden, Soho, British museum.
Rooms on the higher floors are definitely much better, nice view and very quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are definitely much better, nice view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaurizioPicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to read your comments and delighted to hear you had a good experience with us and you were happy with the service you received.
I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Germana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

High marks for just about everything at this hotel. My only complaint, but a minor one, is that our room was a bit chilly even with the thermostat set at its highest. (The hotel does make space heaters available, though.) A coffee maker is not supplied in rooms, but I knew that and brought my own (travel sized) with me. Consider doing same if you must have fresh brewed coffee first thing in the morning. Kudos to the staff for contacting me promptly when they found that I had left an important item in my room upon departure.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBinWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which I was delighted to receive.
I am so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and how much you liked one of our rooms. Our location is ideal for getting around in the city, but the best part of the hotel is the staff. Thank you for recognizing their efforts! We hope to see you soon!I have noted your comments about the temperature in your room and I will follow up with my maintenance team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines prestige London Holborn in the near future.
With our very best wishes,

Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location where the Holborn tube station is merely 2 min walk and Waitrose is across the place! Booked a studio premier and it was clean and comfy. Even though the LCD TV was quite small(it was about 19 inch) but the channel of choice is abundant. comfy bed and nice size of kitchenette. Staff are very attentive and helpful. U can walk to nearby Covent Garden market and do try the great Laduree macaroons. They are heaps of stuff to do in Covent Garden or you can continue to walk over to Oxford St or the Trafalgar Square. There is Pizza joint over to the right of the hotel and a Starbucks joint over to your left. You can't go hungry here as there are 100's cafe within 5 min walk of the hotel. Highly recommended. And do watch the Rock of Ages showing at nearby Shaftsbury Theather. Its worth it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuszry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our customer satisfaction survey. Your feedback will be shared with my executive team.

Feedback such as yours inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect.
Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind regards,
Germana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my first time at Citadines in Holborn. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was spacious (separate living room and bedroom) and very clean.

The fact that this is an apartment means that you have full cooking facilities - this is great if you have young kids or if you are on business and don't want to eat out all the time.

I will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goril4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Further to your recent stay at the Citadines prestige Holborn Covent Garden hotel I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online.

It is immensely rewarding to read such a positive review and serves as a great motivator to the team here at the Hotel.

We strive to provide our guests with memorable experiences in the hope that they will return time and time again. I am very happy to read that this is exactly what you intend to do and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Germana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is our 3rd stay in a studio room but this time on the 6th floor which is quieter than the 4th.The small kitchen and utensils are very adequate for our needs.Reception was smooth and friendly as always.Free wifi.They will give you a code.The room deco is very contemporary,very clean,not dusty ( i m an asthmatic so this is vital) and not cluttered.We had a few takeaways which are plentiful nearby.It is also an extremely safe area to us at night with public transport and Soho within short walking distances.
If the hotel is quite full,noises do bounce off closing doors especially early mornings.It's not a bigly problem for us.The courtyard rooms facing the offices are much quieter.We will certainly return if we get a good deal

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a fantastic experience and that you have become such a fan of our service and amenities.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely
Germana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,069 in London
1,536 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,069 in London
3,197 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,069 in London
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Property: Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Address: 94-99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in London
#256 Luxury Hotel in London
#258 Romantic Hotel in London
#310 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London England
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing