We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #336 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Admittedly, we had just left one of the most beautiful hotel suites we'd stayed in, in Bath to spend three nights here during an expensive London Marathon weekend. It was always going to be a hard act to follow but the room was small and dark and we couldn't get the free wifi to work once during our stay. (But we could get onto the Thistle's next door). Staff were friendly and helpful and apologised about the wifi and did follow up, so well done there. The location is nice, quiet, safe and central.

An old friend had forgotten my phone number but tracked me down in the hotel and a message was put through the door so we could reconnect. Impressive service.

The automatic light in the bathroom is genius and I wish more hotels would have these so you don't have to flail around looking for the light in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaczc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Please accept our apologies in regards to the connectivity issue which has already been reported to our IT department in order to rectify.

We are glad to hear that you have been satisfied with all other services provided to you by our freindly and helpful staff.

Your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    939
    269
    82
    49
See reviews for
346
749
214
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice small hotel with friendly personnel. Good breakfast and good service. Small rooms though and WiFi access worked only once during three nights spent in hotel. I might visit this hotel again but for business trips one really needs a working WiFi connection.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We were disappointed to hear that you had difficulties with the free Wifi connection during your stay. Our IT department has already been informed in order to rectify the connectivity issue.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you abck to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice little hotel that made an ideal overnight stay. I chose the hotel more to do with location than anything else. I was running the London Marathon the day after and wanted somewhere well connected, but also where I could go exploring the afternoon before. It was perfect for that - which may explain why there were other runners staying there.

It is just a short walk to the British Museum, where I spent a few hours.

Staff were very friendly and room was very clean and obviously been refurbished relatively recently. TV had a big range of satellite channels, the only downside being there were some that didn't stream very well. A small problem.

The bed was very comfy and I slept really well ready for the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjrs1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had a satisfying stay and were able to explore the city before running the London Marathon on the next day.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Good location to explore London. Within walking distance of underground station with connections around London. Would definitely use again when next in London.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you reviewing your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time and could take advantage of our central London location.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was very worried booking this hotel for my friends 40th birthday. I was very relieved with its location as it is situated a few minutes walk to Russell square tube station and we could get to where we wanted to get to within three stops on the tube. The hotel was the friendliest and cleanest hotel I've stayed in. The breakfast was very fresh with good quality food. This made my whole stay and weekend one to remember. Would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M76s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your time at the hotel and we have been delighted to hear that we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights as it was around the corner from my son's apartment while he was studying abroad. Wonderful location, close to the tubes, friendly, helpful staff that went out of their way to be accommodating, nice room, great buffet breakfast. Couldn't have been a better stay!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor facing the street and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa201259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your time at the hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.

Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#424 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#490 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing