We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40 pounds to upgrade to a King Room that wasn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #399 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Mercure charged 40 pounds per night to upgrade from a standard Double room to a Superior King Room. 2 couples agreed to pay the fee. Couple 1's room was ready upon check in, Couple 2 was not. Upon entering the upgrade Superior Room couple 1 found a room of standard size with 2 twin beds and definitely not Ergonomically designed. When the front desk was informed they said..oh housekeeping didn't put the beds together. We all know this is a common practice, but the room still was not Superior. When couple 1 asked if they keep the beds as twins can they forgo the upgrade charge...yes they can, so they did. (40 pounds to push 2 beds together?) Off everyone went to explore London and returned late. Couple 2 grabbed their stuff from Couple 1's room and checked in to there's. Couple 1's AC did not work and the room was warm and stuffy. Engineer was in the room from 6am trying to fix the AC with the door propped open with a suitcase. Couple 1 went to their friend's Superior King room to find an actual Superior Ergonomically designed room at the end of the hall. Couple 1 then inquired about the difference and since their AC didn't work, they would like the real Superior King room and will pay the 40 pound per night fee. Front desk says...we are sold out for tonight, but someone is due to check out of the Superior King room end unit today with someone checking into it. If you are willing to pack your stuff and move out, we can clean both rooms and you may have the Superior King room at the end of the hall just like your friends. My question..where do you think the person who was supposed to be in the Superior King room actually stayed? In the Twin Room with no AC? Other notes about Mercure....Great Breakfast, Great doorman/concierge Gilbert restaurant open at night, good location...DO NOT ask to borrow a flat iron, you will get someone's personal equipment with hair in it. And really what is ergonomic? The lights turn on when you get out of the bed? OH...and the standard double room is nice and cozy...the door does not open all the way and if there are two people in the room, one may have to crawl across the bed to enter it. I myself found my standard double room, although small to be perfectly fine and the bed was very comfortable. It was the strange way they ran the front desk that was the sad part.

Room Tip: Rooms are cozy, but they are fine...a standard 3 star hotel. Be sure to your Superior King room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfolsom521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are very concerned about your feedback in regards to our reception team and would kindly ask you to contact me directly by email on b.dacosta@mercurebloomsbury.com
Kindest regards Bruno Da Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Bloomsbury. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was comfortable and had all we needed. The hotel was clean and smartly furnished and the breakfast was excellent. Add to that its great location with buses passing right outside, it made for a delightful break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ex-golfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the design and all services provided to you. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your next break in London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel was well located near Bristish Museum and only walking distance from Covent Garden. Two metro stations close by. Very friendly staff and good breakfast. Rooms pretty standard. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time and could take great advantage of our central location for your shopping trip. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We always see the New Year in London and stay at a different four star hotel each time. Leaving the booking until last minute this year, we did not have many options but the Mercure sounded good and was ideally situated for all the west end attractions. The reception process was the quickest we've ever known and the staff were lovely throughout our stay... very friendly and cheerful. Incidentally, these were the only hotel staff we've come across who have gone out of their way to wish us all the very best for the New Year and insist on shaking our hands. As we approached room 102 on the first floor we were aware of a very stale fusty smell in the corridor. It was even worse inside the room. In fairness to the hotel, the smell may have come in from outside but it was oppressive. After settling in we mentioned it to the reception staff as we left for a walkabout and asked if housekeeping could spray some air freshener around. The staff were horrified and very apologetic. Whether anyone did do something or not, the smell was just as bad when we returned three hours later. It persisted for the two days of our stay. This could be specific to our room which overlooked a grubby back alley, so please do not think that this is a common occurrence with this hotel as no one else we spoke to was suffering as we did. As you will see from one of our photos, there was barely enough room between the end of the bed and the radiator to get over to the coffee making facilities. We are both average build but I would imagine that larger framed guests would not be able to navigate this obstacle with only five to six inches through which to squeeze. Hotel groups have to make the most of what they have but this space limitation did not strike us as typical of four star establishments. One other 'grumble' was the lack of a fridge. Even if we have not intended using the minibar because of the cost in other hotels, we have never known there to be no fridge at all and we missed it. Maybe our smallish room was exceptional in not having one but we forgot to ask other guests if they had one. The room was spotless with a very comfy bed, loads of luxurious pillows and extra bedding if we had wanted it. The bathroom was most of the nicest we've come across with a lovely shower unit and illuminated mirror that came on automatically when someone entered the room. This was a really useful feature avoiding the need to disturb the other guest by putting lights on in advance though the pictured blue led lights leading the way to the bathroom which stayed on all the time the main lights were turned off, were a little too bright keeping both of us awake the first night. Breakfast was to die for! As a French group you would expect the food to be good and it was... the best breakfast we've ever had ! The scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection not hard and dried out as so often happens in hotels. All food was brought out in relatively small amounts presumably to ensure everything was consumed quickly while fresh. The choice and frequency of replenishment was superb. We never ate in the evenings but others seemed very happy including a large group of Americans we believed were taking part in the New Years day parade, notoriously difficult to impress hotel guests! Would we stay here again? Yes but we would ask not to be given that particular room. The hotel is in an ideal location well served by public transport, supermarkets and alternative restaurants. The staff are wonderful, food is excellent and rooms very comfortable. Please do not be put off by our niggles, I believe they were specific to that one room but any review must accurately reflect your experience or it is meaningless. Respectfully, perhaps the management should consider closing that room to paying guests and using it for say storage?

Room Tip: Avoid 102 ! All floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent experiences with us. We were disapponted to hear that you have not been satisfied with the room allocated to you by our staff. Due to the design of the Victorian building the hotel is situated in all rooms are having a different size as well as shape and we sincerely apologise if this room has not met your expectations. Every room is provided with complimentary bottles of water and as we are having a 24 hours room service we are not providing a minibar in our rooms. Please be advised that we are having fridges subject to availablility upon request. We certainly were delighted to hear that you truely enjoyed your breakfast experience as well as the freindly and helpful staff in all our departments. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a genuine hassle-free stay.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed for a night at this hotel. The whole place is immaculate and the room was small, but perfectly formed. As well as the usual luxuries in the room, I was pleased to see there was a Nespresso coffee machine, and a room safe included. The LED ceiling lighting was a good design touch, and helped make the room feel larger. I had a room overlooking the central light well of the building, which helped to ensure a peaceful night's sleep, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was gleaming, and the shower plenty powerful enough. Breakfast in the morning wasn't included on my room rate, but for £10 extra it was money well spent - good range, great service and unrushed. Perfect. What made my stay though were the staff - all those who I met were friendly, helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Thoroughly recommended, and I will be staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you specifically enjoyed our helful and freindly staff throughout the departments and that you have been satisfied with all room amenities provided. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kip S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The first thing I noticed when I walked into this hotel, was the two receptionists standing behind their desks with the most genuine of welcoming smiles. I defy anyone to have a bad stay after a welcome like that. Check in was very fast and efficient and about one minute after walking in I was pressing the button for the lift. As other contributors have said the rooms (mine was a standard double) are cosy, but not unreasonably small. Everything you need is there and it is more than adequate for a one or two night stay. For me the two best things about this hotel were the cleanliness and the service. The room was spotless and the bathroom positively gleaming!! I would much rather have a small clean room than a big dirty one!! As for service, I have mentioned the lovely receptionists but also when I got to my room I found that the remote control wasn't working. I rang reception and quick as a flash they sent someone to sort it. The lady from housekeeping who they sent was lovely. She had a really easy friendly manner. She was chatting away as she worked, only small talk but still very engaging. As it turned out I needed new batteries. She went away and came back really quickly with batteries and a little screwdriver, sorted the problem and off she went, cheery as you like!! Maybe I am easily pleased but give me a clean room and cheery staff and I'm happy. I will definitely return. My summing up of this review? I guess it is not to be put off by other contributors who have complained about the small rooms. The rooms are small, but as my husband always tells me, size isn't everything!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent experiences with us. We are absolutely delighted that you have been so satisfied with the clealiness and especially the friendly and helpful services provided by our staff. We ceratinly hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#453 of 1,081 in London
1,118 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#366 of 1,081 in London
844 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Business Hotel in London
#234 Romantic Hotel in London
#280 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing