We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and service, but a bit noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #328 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good hotel and service, but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is very well located in central London, and offers excellent service. The rooms are well equipped but are a little bit too noisy, certainly those facing the main road. The automated closing of hotel room doors generates a lot of noise on every floor as well.

Room Tip: Avoid those facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for tkaing the time to review your recent experience with us. We were disappointed to hear that you felt that our rooms are noisy but appreciate that you enjoyed our central location and thye services provided. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    911
    261
    80
    46
See reviews for
334
731
208
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My daughter and I were staying in London for one night with a special event the following day. The hotel staff on arrival and during our stay were excellent , from making us feel welcome on arrival, serving our dinner early for us to go to a show, with any request never too much bother. This came from reception, bar, restaurant, and room staff. The room was also very comfortable and the food excellent in the restaurant. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor at the front of the hotel which was quiet for a room in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Hassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have been fully satisfied with all aspects of your stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel and the warm welcome from the staff is always excellent. Some in particular remember me each time I stay. However, the past couple of times I've stayed there the room comfort and noise levels have been a let down; rooms are to hot and the air con is noisy, rooms facing the main road are noisy too (what has happened to double glazing), the walls are quite thin and you can hear most things in adjacent rooms, pillows are like cardboard - no feathers here !? But there are great touches, over and above other hotels, even like the Hilton Doubletree next door e.g. a bottle of water as standard, selection of good teas in the room and I received a drinks voucher to use at the bar - customer service is great the rooms are letting them down right now!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the main road, higher floors have less noise from internal down pipes for wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experiences with us. We were disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with the choice of rooms we have provided you over the last few stays. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are glad that you are enjoying the customer service the staff is providing and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed near by at another hotel, and as friends were staying at the mercury we decided to join them for breakfast, and what a good decision that was, the breakfast was very reasonably priced of good quality and a very good choice, if you are ever bear by and in need of a morning feast make this your first choice

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank paulpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review about your breakfast experience in our hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel some time in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel ( Friday 1st Nov for one night ) I had been looking for a hotel that was modern and would meet my wife' expectations and also meet my budget! ( not easy I can tell you!!) Anyway found the Mercure and what a surprise.
I had send a few emails before hand to the guest relations coordinator as I wanted a surprise cake and drinks in the room on arrival... we exchanged what was required etc.. and I waited for the day to arrive.... Myself and my young daughter excited to see if our plan would come together... we arrived as planned and after check in went to the room to find all in place ( what magic! ) to find the cake glasses chilled drinks.. Room clean tidy and beds very comfy.. I had also planned a theatre visit and with the holtel being only a 10 min + walk to the Treatre Royal the stay was just how we wanted it.... If your looking for nice frendly staff and clean hotel close to treatre land this is for you.... not a hotel for views from your windows but depends what you are after, I can only say it meet all my expectations and more..........

Room Tip: Family rooms are great and clean and tidy and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryll C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that we have done everything to make your stay a special one without any faults and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmidlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife took me to the hotel for my birthday at the start of November, it was a deal off Amazon which included evening meal and breakfast. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were allowed to leave our case in their luggage area as we were early and our room wasn't ready.

When we returned after seeing a show our room cards were waiting and our case was quickly given to us. The room was well appointed and clean with tea and coffee making facilities, though I couldn't find a shaver socket. We chose our evening meal off the main menu though my avocado cheese and tomato salad didn't have any avocado on it, both our steaks came medium rare though my wife asked for medium well. Other than this the meals were ok.

We travel extensively throughout Europe and Africa (and further afield) the Mercure holds up well against other city break hotels and is well placed for Covent Garden and theatre district. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear that your dinner experience has not met your expectations. We sincerely apologise and will have it addressed with the relevant parties in the hotel. It was a pleasure to see that you have been satisfied with all other aspects of your visit and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night for business. A pleasant if somewhat small room, comfy beds, good air conditioning and an excellent bathroom. Breakfast was good but a expensive. Also would have appreciated more tea/coffee sachets in the room. VAT invoice provided with no problem. Would return, but would not bother with the breakfast at the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pwm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experiences at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the overall experience and hope to welcome you back for your next business trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#315 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#406 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#457 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Jetsetter, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing