We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in nice neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #336 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    940
    270
    82
    49
See reviews for
346
750
214
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to London for a weekend away with a friend, Used super breaks with train fair included. Hotel was 15min walk from Kings Cross and walk distance to Covent Gardens and Oxford Street and the theaters. The bedroom was very comfortable with all that you require towels were changed each day plenty of different choices of tea coffee and hot chocolate and air con. breakfast was buffet style with a choice to have something made fresh from the kitchen. the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely return to this hotel next time in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackietel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay with us and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to read that you found the staff helpful and pleasant and could use our central location in London for your plans. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here on a 3 night stop-over in London. This is slightly North of Oxford street on Southampton Row which has several major hotels but the Mercure is small and more modern. My room was up high to the back and overlooked the Swan Hotel in the side street below. Which, by the way, is an excellent English pub with great fish and chips! The closest Underground station is Russel Square - about a 10 minute walk. From here you are close to the British Museum, and then on to Soho and the West End, Covent gardens, Trafalgar Square, The Strand, and down to the Embankment and the Thames. My room was compact but nicely done, quiet with a comfortable bed and good complementary WiFi. I booked directly on the Mercure web site. Recommended if you want to stay in this part of London and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing about your recent experience with us during your stop-over in London. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and could take advantage of our central location to explore the sights. We hope to welcome you back on your next journey to Europe.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure hotel for a 2 night visit to London via Superbreak. We stay in this area when we visit London but decided to give this hotel a go. Check-in was quick and easy and staff very pleasant. We were on the 5th floor which is easily reached via lift. Room was at the rear of the hotel and quiet. It was very clean and had everything needed for our stay including the usual tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included and my partner said the cooked items were very good and I enjoyed the cereals and fresh fruits. The hotel is in a prime location for sightseeing and theatres and the local tube stations are nearby.

The only thing negative was that the room was very small, however, I would stay here again but would probably have to enquire about the rooms first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the services provided by us and could take good use of our central location. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your next visit in London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for a minimoon (mini honeymoon) and it was absolutely perfect. The hotel was easy to find, 100 metres away from the train station and very central.

Upon arrival we found the hotel looked stunning. It was very clean and well presented. The staff were excellent, so professional and attentive. Anything you needed they dealt with immediately. They even sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne, nibbles and card as a congratulations to us just getting married.

Our room wasn't quite ready on arrival but they held our bags so we could go off and explore until it was ready. When it was ready we were very happy with the room. It was a nice size, had everything we needed and we were surprised to find a bath in the bathroom as we were only expecting a shower. Everything in the hotel was of high quality and very clean!

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. It was very quiet and we didn't even know that there were other guests on our floor until we bumped into them in the lift. The room had air conditioning which was very easy to use, a TV, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fresh towels every day and complimentary toiletries.

There was a tea/coffee station in our room which was fantastic. It was regularly topped up and consisted of Nescafe coffee, Twinings tea and Cadbury's hot chocolate, as well as white and brown sugar and cartons of milk and cream. Very impressed.

We requested a quiet room and we certainly got it. We were right on the top floor and it was perfect. There was a lift available as well which made it even better as there was no climb to the top floor after a long day.

Breakfast was lovely. They provided a continental and cooked breakfast in buffet style as well as a separate menu. They had a very nice selection and there was definitely something for everyone.

We were very happy with our stay and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one on the top floor (there is a lift).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsnich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our staff made your minimoon extra special and you felt so comfortable in your room. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all services provided by the hotel and are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We made the most out of a groupon deal at the Mercure Bloomsbury. Staff were very professional and attentive and the food was fresh and tasty. The restaurant is located on a very busy road but in central London, this has to be expected. Overall a perfect place to treat yourself and watch world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Brasserie for Afternoon Tea. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the offer and had a comfortable visit. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is exceptional. The management and staff are so pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless. Breakfast - great choice. Location - so close to Russell Square tube station. If you are coming in from Heathrow airport, the Piccadilly Line is perfect. You are in walking distance to Coventry Gardens, The London Eye, Oxford Street. I would strongly recommend this hotel for your stay should it be business or pleasure. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your loveley review about your recent stay in London. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all services offered by the hotel and our staff. We are already looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#424 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#83 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#243 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing