We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #337 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a theatre weekend break with my two grown up daughters. The hotel location is excellent, the staff were probably the most courteous I have ever encounted on my travels. Breakfast was a delicious hot and cold buffet, with a very good selection, just remember if you dont want scrambled egg to ask for your eggs however you want them. Our room was for three and it was more than big enough, plenty of room! The beds were extremely comfortable and only for the fact that we had a busy day planned it would have been hard to get up. Overall it is a spotless, well run and managered hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannycath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Nannycath53

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you and your daughters enjoyed your theatre break to London and we do hope that we can welcome you all back very soon.

Kind Regards

The team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    922
    266
    81
    49
See reviews for
341
740
210
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Hotel location offers so much to do without the need to travel on the underground or other. Lots to do within walking distance.

The staff were exceptional and courteous.
The room we had was very pleasantly appointed albeit a little small but lovely and clean and had everything we needed.

The breakfast just brilliant as it offered all the items I usually have such as berries, fresh fruit, seeds and nuts, yogurts along with the traditional English cooked that was presented in Hot Hold area.. We opted for freshly cooked omelettes to order as I do prefer freshly cooked hot food.

The bar staff and service was very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groveggh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear groveggh36

We would like to thank you for posting such a lovely review of your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were deliughted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we were especially pleased with your comments about the team here, we will be passing on your review to them as they are always happy to hear when their hard work gets praise.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We've just left the hotel after our Theatre break. What a great hotel great location for everything. Yes the rooms our a little small but never spent that much time in there so I can't say that it was a problem!! Rooms are very very clean infact the whole hotel is spotless. Breakfast was lovely everything fresh and hot which iv never expereniced before. Staff very helpfull nothing was too much trouble. Would I recommend this hotel big YES would I stay again a big massive YES. Thanks for making our stay great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. I could not fault a thing. The service from all staff was exceptional and they really do make you feel very welcome. The hotel itself is spotless. Yes, the rooms are small however they are very clean, have all the tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, room safe, iron, ironboard and toiletries are provided. What else do you need! My stay was for a Theatre visit and the location is absolutely fantastic, so close to Oxford Street. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights for a leisure visit to London. Positioned between Russell square and holburn tube stations the location couldn't be better. However, this is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My job means that I stay in hotels up to 4 nights a week and this one is insultingly small. As a previous silver Accor card holder I like and stay loyal to the brand, however this will make me think twice about choosing a mercure again. While I appreciate that the location comes at a premium, this is just ridiculous. I also had trouble with the air con which, despite the efforts of the helpful reception staff, did not work and I had to resort to sleeping with the window open in a very noisy part of London. Won't be returning

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Purmus

Thank you for posting such a frank and honest review following your recent visit to the hotel. We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the single room that was booked for you. Should you change your mind and wish to visit the hotel again please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be delighted to give you the best available rate for a daouble room.

With regards to the air con, we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Since reading your feedback we have reviewed our preventive maintenance checks to ensure that this type of situation does not re-occur.

Once agian thank you for your review and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for a night on a theatre trip to the sparkling lights and have no complaints. It's easily accessible and good quality for a mid-range hotel. I arrived from Paddington and my sister walked from Euston.

Beds are comfortable and the rooms have been fairly recently refurbished. Tea, coffee and yummy biscuits are provided in the room along with complimentary bottled water, although they were a bit stingy on the toiletries given that it was a triple room. I'm sure that they would have topped them up had we asked though. We were up on the 6th floor so not too overlooked, but on reflection I might have given the neighbours a bit of a tease show, as I only realised there was a roller blind in there after getting dressed for the day. Lucky them!

Staff were polite and efficient. I particularly liked the selection of free international papers in reception - Le Monde, Pais and Times were all there when we checked in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Laura Loves It

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your trip to London and we can not agree with you more, the biscuits are delicious, believe us when we say it is very hard not to raid the store they are kept in on a daily basis. Thank you once again and we do hope that we have the oppurtunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bloomsbury in the very near future.

Kind Regards
The team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#290 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#411 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing