We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbed and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #362 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Refurbed and comfortable”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for a night on a theatre trip to the sparkling lights and have no complaints. It's easily accessible and good quality for a mid-range hotel. I arrived from Paddington and my sister walked from Euston.

Beds are comfortable and the rooms have been fairly recently refurbished. Tea, coffee and yummy biscuits are provided in the room along with complimentary bottled water, although they were a bit stingy on the toiletries given that it was a triple room. I'm sure that they would have topped them up had we asked though. We were up on the 6th floor so not too overlooked, but on reflection I might have given the neighbours a bit of a tease show, as I only realised there was a roller blind in there after getting dressed for the day. Lucky them!

Staff were polite and efficient. I particularly liked the selection of free international papers in reception - Le Monde, Pais and Times were all there when we checked in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Laura Loves It

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your trip to London and we can not agree with you more, the biscuits are delicious, believe us when we say it is very hard not to raid the store they are kept in on a daily basis. Thank you once again and we do hope that we have the oppurtunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bloomsbury in the very near future.

Kind Regards
The team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    962
    285
    85
    52
See reviews for
358
771
220
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after been transferred from another hotel nearby due to overbooking. We had a lovely 2 night stay, breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Nothing was a bother to the staff. Rooms were immaculate, with lots of extras. The only niggle we had was the mattress wasn't to our liking, but you can't please everyone. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Carol B

Thnk you for your lovely review following your recent visit to us here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, although you were not originally meant to stay with us and we are very much hoping that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed one night here and found it excellent. Also within easy walking distance from Kings Cross, Covent Garden and The West End. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Only one minor gripe - the view from the bedroom window was so poor it had frosted glass in it. But that didn't spoil the visit at all. An excellent hotel. We had also stayed at a Mercure in Annemasse, which was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normandavies45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Norman Davies 45

We would like to thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent stay here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. We were delighted to see that we met with your expectations and we do hope that we can have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury again soon.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is not safe ! We were staying there at the end of december for eight nights. Went out to a show one night and came back to find all our valuables had been stolen. Security video showed two men entering our room with a key and by coindicence, a reception staff had recently "lost" his. Hotel did very little for us and now hiding behind a very restricted insurance policy. Thousands of pounds stolen from us and they offering 100 gbp in compensation. Clearly an "inside job" and you would have thought the hotel would want to put this right. Obviously they don't really care about tourists in london. Be warned !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tadeuaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Tadeuaguiar

Thank youf for taking the time to post such a candid review following your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you and your partner during your time with us.

Please be assured that we take accusations such as this very seriously and have helped with the investigation as best we can. The management and staff here at the hotel treat the safety and security of our guests with the highest of importance and it saddens us that you think one of the team was involved. We believe in the duty of care that we provide our guests and even go so far as to provide the use of guest safes in all bedrooms free of charge and should it have being used then possibly the outcome of your visit would have being very different.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do wish you all the best for the furture.

Kind Regards
The team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Located half way between King's Cross and Covent Garden, this medium priced, recently renovated hotel offers good value for money. Staff is very nice and helpful, more so than in other comparable operations. For tourists arriving on the tunnel train it has a splendid location.
However, sleeping comfort is not that good: beds have poor, cheap mattresses and sound isolation is not effective. Bathrooms are very small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Hblnk

We would like to thank you for posting such a candid review of your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel.

We were deligted to read your comments about our levels of customer service, our team here strive to ensure that every guest enjoys their time with us and are always willing to go that extra mile. However we were disappointed to hear that you did not sleep well during your time with us due to the mattress. When we completed our multi million pound refurbishment we invested heavily in a high quality mattress that we felt would meet the needs of our guests, although we do realise that a mattress is a very personal thing for a person and not everyone will like the choice that we made.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

The team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Although I was kept waiting for a few minutes whilst the reservations clerk helped another guest, I could not fault the service here. It is well located and even though the front is on a busy road, the room I had was quiet and comfortable, if not a little small. Having breakfast included was great and again, the staff couldn't do enough for me and. Felt very well looked after. Special mention to Jasper on reception who was very efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. My room was a little dated and had a mark on the wall but overall the Mercure is good value for money for a central London location. I would certainly consider returning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wyc0mbeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Wycombe Wanderer

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to read your comments about the team and we will be passing them on to them so they can see for themselves the reward of their hardwork, especially Jasper.
We do hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
The Mercure Bloomsbury Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#438 of 1,069 in London
1,046 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#298 of 1,069 in London
810 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Property: Mercure London Bloomsbury
Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing