We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all-rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Ranked #392 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel strikes a good balance between value and comfort in central London. The rooms were perhaps a little small for a long stay, but spot-on for a weekend visit and with enough touches to feel at home. I found the staff to be really helpful and orientated to making sure that I was comfortable. They upgraded me to a double room from a single, and then to a nicer room when it turned out that my safe didn't work. They also knew the local area well and could advise on transport, directions etc. The rooms are modern with good showers and all the standard amenities. The location is good for London first-timers who want to be within walking distance of a lot of the main attractions, and don't yet have a favourite neighbourhood. My only complaint is that my bed wasn't quite even, somehow my feet seemed higher than my head!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VasaBee_and_KingBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

Being a solo female traveller I was keen to stay somewhere I felt comfortable. The hotel has just undergone a major refurbishment and everything is looking very clean and smart. The restaurant serves decent and not over-priced food. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room I had was a double was very quiet for central London. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

Also has free Wi-fi in the bedrooms which is great if you are a business traveller.

Biella of Gloucestershire

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I chose this hotel purely by chance and was pleased from the moment I arrived. The hotel was stylish and modern. Staff could not be more helpful and special kudos to Gilbert, who couldn't do enough, from suggesting places to visit, to hailing a taxi for our outings. Rooms were small (which I expect in cities such as New York and London) and extremely clean. This building was within walking distance to many attractions and close to the subway which takes you to anyplace you may want to visit. I cannot wait to go back and spend more time both in this hotel and wonderful city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebbieS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed for two nights on business. Very easy to get to from Russel Sq tube stop. Restaurant not yet open but got complementary buffet breakfast, with great coffee, delivered to my room. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Got an upgrade to a king room which was great. Clean, well equipped. Very comfy bed. Traffic noise very low for centre of London. And free internet although very slow.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I loved my room in the Mercure London Bloomsbury and look forward to returning.

On three my the last four visits to London I thought I'd found thee place to stay but on each successive occasion I was unable to book any of my previous favourites at an acceptable rate. London Hotels are really expensive - undeniably so and this is always a major consideration when travelling on business at my own expense. Work-wise I need to be near Liverpool St. and if Arsenal are at home I like to be within striking distance of the Emirates Stadium on the off chance of a spare ticket for the game so the cheaper alternatives further West in the city don’t suit me.

Prior to this trip I considered every available option in Islington, Kings Cross, the City and Bloomsbury before settling on the Mercure which proved to be an excellent choice. In the end it was an easy decision not just because of the Mercure's location but also due the rate £129/€152, the recent renovation which I correctly reckoned would guarantee a new, fresh room and finally the free wifi which is worth mentioning as I've paid as much as £15 for 24 hours in other London Hotels.

The Mercure is located just off Russell Square, not quite half way between Russell Sq. and Old Holborn tube stations but a very short walk from both which makes it easy to get anywhere on the Central or Piccadilly lines. Russell Sq. is closer - two mins and Old Holborn is 5 mins on foot. Kings Cross & St. Pancras are also only a pleasant 10-15 mins walk away. This is particularly convenient if arriving in London by air and onward into the city by train. Heathrow is 50-60 mins by tube for £8 one way, Luton Airport is 22 mins by train from St. Pancras at £14 one way and the Stansted Express departs from Liverpool St which is only 2 stops or ten mins on the Central Line.

Upon arrival at the hotel I was instantly impressed with the automatic glass doors which, surprisingly, open outwards to welcome you into the pristine foyer, to be greeted by pleasant professional reception staff who checked me in under two mins and granted my prior request for a room on the top (7th) floor. Top marks Carlos!

The lift gave rise to some slight apprehension as it whisked up through the floors affording a glimpse of each one and the wood/glass partitions that enclose the lift's entrance at every level. I don't think these partitions have been replaced in the refurb. and for a split second I feared that the rooms might not reflect the modern, renovated reception area, which has happened to me before, most recently in the Thistle Barbican Hotel.

I need not have worried. ALL the Mercure rooms have been completely renovated to a very high standard. They are small. Some might say cramped but in my opinion they are very well appointed and perfectly equipped. The 7th floor is effectively the attic so space is further reduced by the trusses and joists, which is particularly evident in the awkwardly angled bathroom, with the WC located just inside the door but this a measure of how the designers have made maximum use of every available inch of space. The bathroom also contained a marble vanity unit with backlit mirrors and full size bathtub with rainfall shower.

Although small the room had individually controllable radiator and aircon unit, a large wardrobe containing hairdryer, iron and ironing board and with a useful full-length mirror mounted inside the door, a decent work-desk and a moderate sized wall-mounted flat-screen TV. Complimentary water, tea coffee and hot chocolate making facilities and delicious chocolate chip cookies - not the mention reliable, high-speed free wifi. The bed queen bed, with its abundance of pillows was hard to get out of in the morning! Best of all the array of lamps, spotlights and useful reading lights (which match the clever recessed lighting in the ceiling) can create an ambience to suit your mood.

I hardly left this room except for a short stroll to pick up some essentials and later to eat. I was impressed with this area of London - lots of shops, restaurants and cafes. I was genuinely spoiled for choice and eventually ate across the road in Denise’s, an informal French restaurant with great service and varied, reasonably priced menu. There is also a convenient Tesco Express just a couple of doors down from the hotel and an equally convenient, if slightly more expensive liquor store a few yards in the opposite direction.

The only slight negative about is hotel is that the renovations are slightly behind schedule. The restaurant is not open and the bar, although inviting is empty. No doubt this will remedy itself once the works are fully complete.

The Mercure provided a perfect bolthole for me on a very short business trip and it allowed me to relax and prepare in total comfort while also catching the Arsenal game online using the free wifi.

I’ll definitely stay here again if at similar or even slightly higher rates and I strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MP1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Clean rooms, new bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, free bottle of water, tea making facilities, reasonable price (GBP99 for a small single room). Free WiFi worked, but had to connect to the Waverly WiFi via the Waverly Hotel landing page (strange).
Staff were friendly and helpful but it didn't feel as smooth running as a 3* "Accor" hotel usually does.
The hotel was taken over by Accor; used to be the Waverly. In some ways the decor feels more kitch/cosy (less continental) than the others from the chain; some people probably prefer it that way.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Within easy walking distance of Euston and Covent Garden. Modern rooms, yes a bit compact but adequate. There was no restaurant, under going a refurb, when we visited so no breakfast option. Staff friendly and rooms very clean Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moggym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#472 of 1,078 in London
1,088 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#352 of 1,078 in London
833 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Business Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $128 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing