We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shoe Box room and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #399 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Shoe Box room and noisy”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

£131 per night for a single room which was the size of a shoe box and located right next to the cleaners cupboard...... Don't expect to get a long lie as they will be chatting, singing and rattling trolleys from the early hours. If you check in and get room 223 ask for a change!
Nice enough hotel but overpriced and lacking attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandylion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, however, I am very disappointed to hear that it was not to your satisfaction.

The room you stayed in was not one of our larger rooms being a Standard single room however, should you wish to stay with us again, I would advise you to book one of our double rooms which are more spacious.
I am also very sorry to hear that that the housekeeping team were loud outside your door and have already discussed the matter with the head housekeeper.

Once again, I do apologise again for the inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you back to the Kenilworth hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    974
    439
    212
    132
See reviews for
318
856
302
889
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stopped last night after booking 2 double rooms. Based on the reviews I had read on here I was very nervous that i would be stopping in a shoebox but I had no need to be concerned as the size of the room was more than adequate. The rooms were tired but reasonably clean. Comfortable beds! The security was reassuring with card pass on the corridors aswell as the rooms. The staff were well meaning but we had a 15 minute wait for breakfast because of staff shortages and the they did struggle to keep things together. The breakfast was good, no complaints there despite the wait. HOWEVER, the location was great for Theatreland, Soho, Covent Garden and only a £10 cab ride to Kings Cross. If we were looking again in that area we would book again.

Room Tip: We booked the rooms on the first floor above the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixieChix999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the hotel and its location.

As you mentioned, the Kenilworth is well placed for the city, the west end or Eurostar’s St Pancras terminal. .

Once again, I do appreciate you sharing your comments with other Tripadvisor users and the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were brought an overnight stay from our family to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary along with a trip to the theatre. On arrival, the receptionist knew it was a gift for our anniversary and we were upgraded to a lovely suite. In addition, we were given a complimentary bottle of wine! All staff were most helpful and friendly in particular the lady with blonde lady on reception (sorry we can't remember your name!) So thanks everyone!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to the Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay for your 25th wedding anniversary. We pride ourselves on the excellent service that we provide to all our customers. We understand that all our customers have different needs and we strive to provide an entirely personal service.
I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kindest regards,
Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we stayed at radisson edwardian kenilworth for a wedding anniversary treat . we had a wonderful stay. the reception staff were lovely and one i particular raymonda was so helpful she made our stay.taking the time to find a restaurant and make booking for us. i would recommend this hotel and will be making another booking in the future

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor which was quiet we also upgraded to a suite which was small but very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellieHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the hotel. Reserved a superior double. The room was clean and up-to date.The bed was big and comfortable, good linen. Bathroom was nice. No breakfast included in Room rate. 15 min walk from Coven Gardens. A nice hotel but not with so many other great hotel to choose from I most likely will not return here. Several of the staff were hard to understand due to english being a second langauge. Staff were very helpful with all our enquiries about the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSnickerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spend few days in this hotel , the room was not big but well organized and the service was really good and the people in the reception office were very friendly especially for one of them his name is Mostafa he was very helpful and he could solve any problem you may face in your room, but totally the hotel is beautiful and you could spend a great time in this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor room keep you away from the noise in the street .Best to choose the room in the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokhtar294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear reviewer,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel and I am grateful for your complimentary review.

Thank you also for mentioning the quality of the service offered by the team and I shall pass on your feedback to the team.
Once again, I do appreciate you sharing your comments with other Tripadvisor users and the team and I would be more than happy to welcoming you back to the Kenilworth in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have just checked in and am very disappointed. After a long day I was looking forward to my stay in this hotel which is described on its web site as ' luxury hotel'. I am very disappointed.

My single room is tiny.

When I entered the room there was an unpleasant smell.

I discovered that this was due to the toilet that had not been flushed by the previous user.

Having flushed the unpleasantness away I tried to flush again only to find that the flush did not work.

There is no privacy curtain at my window - so must completely pull down heavy blinds when dressing otherwise the people in corridor which looks directly into my room will see me.

Chair at desk is too big to fit under desk thus reducing floor space even further.

I always associated Radisson with good standards and I'm afraid I'm disappointed.

I am a regular traveller and am able to compare standards.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkh190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review although naturally I am disappointed that you feel your stay was not as it should have been.

The room you stayed in is not one of our larger rooms but I would like to offer you the opportunity to return to us & I will organise a larger room if you notify the hotel of this request.

I have discussed the cleanliness issue with the head housekeeper for her to take immediate actions as it is not the usual standards of the hotel.

Once again, I do apologise for the inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you back to the Kenilworth hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#338 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 97 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3LB, England (Formerly Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#265 Romantic Hotel in London
#280 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Business Hotel in London
#329 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style Hotel situated downtown in literary area of Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing