We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and wonderful service in a gem of a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #10 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely small hotel finding it to be a wonderful location for exploring London. Although the hotel is in the middle of the city, the rooms facing the garden were extraordinarily quiet and a welcome oasis. Our room had been renovated recently and we found it to be modern, well appointed and very well maintained. The highlight of our stay however is their extraordinary staff. The front desk and the concierge were exceptionally welcoming, accommodating of special requests and very well informed. When we did have one awkward moment upon arrival the entire staff went to work not only to rectify the problem but to create a resolution beyond our expectations. This hotel offered us excellent value as we took advantage of one of their special offers making this a hotel worthwhile stay in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,406 - 3,412 of 4,330 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

If you're thinking of booking at the Montague, you've already made the imaginative leap to what a four-star hotel in London costs. Given that, the Montague is excellent value for money. We found the staff helpful and pleasant without being obtrusive or obsequious. The location is perfect, very close to the British museum and the pleasant Russell Square, walking distance to Covent Garden, Soho, the Strand, and several Tube stops/lines. Our room - a deluxe Bloomsbury King (on the "may as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb" theory) - was big by any standard, with a separate step-down dressing/lounge area and a big marble bathroom in addition to a generously proportioned bedroom. Room was gorgeously quiet: no street noise, no hotel noise. Decor may not be what I'd choose in my own home but was very nice and not at all shabby (as per some reviews here): perhaps they are refurbishing rooms? Ceiling in the BR was very high, adding to the sense of spaciousness. The room is thoughtfully appointed with good bath products, a selection of books and magazines, and even a few office supplies. Turndown service at bedtime is a very nice touch and they offer a more extensive room service than I've experienced, with the option of movie snacks etc. Only ate at the Blue Door Bistro once, where the food was very good. (We did not opt for breakfast.) Wifi worked great in our room for all devices; it's free. There's also TV-based internet if you don't bring a laptop, and high-speed wired internet too. Room has A/C and windows that open. Don't count on the fitness centre, though honesty compels me to report they have one: it's 2 bikes and a treadmill. Hotel is pet-friendly, which worried me a little (we are not dog people) but there was no sign of pets in our room. We got a special rate of 184/night and I feel we got excellent value for our money. It's very nice to be here when the Cdn dollar is strong, since I'm not sure I can go back to my usual three-star ways!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felix78901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We booked this hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and the wonderful pictures on the hotel website. We have consistently found Trip Advisor reviews to be fairly accurate and in fact, this was the third hotel on this trip we found through Trip Advisor, the other two being excellent as promised.

What we found when we went to our "suite" was a very worn and dated room, quite chopped up with thread bare carpets and a dusty smell. The garden view was mostly a roof top of the hotel restaurant. We went to the front desk to express our disappointment and to their credit, after saying they had no other rooms, they moved us to another suite. The second suite was better but there is little doubt that this property needs some attention.

The hotel website and brochures throughout the hotel touted the wonderful evening BBQ. When we asked about it they said they didn't do it. The suite was supposed to have "Canapés delivered nightly" and what was actually delivered was 4 sad looking strawberries dipped in chocolate only 2 out of the 3 nights. We also received newspaper delivered to the door only 1 morning of 3. The bathroom is badly in need of new caulking with dirt and gaps around the tub and sink.

This hotel may have been wonderful at one time but I will give it a pass next trip to London.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mhny2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel. It is important we receive your feedback to help us improve the services and facilities we provide.

I would like to take this opportunity to offer my sincerest apologies for your disappointment with the suite that was allocated to you.

Your original suite was one of the few remaining rooms in the hotel that have not been part of our recent refurbishment program, however I am truly disappointed that the daily maintenance checks were clearly below our usual standard. I can assure you that my Chief Engineer is making this a priority following your feedback.

I was surprised that you were advised that we do not hold evening barbecues as throughout the summer period our guests can enjoy our Burger Barbecue menu on our wood deck daily.
On occasion, we do host private al fresco functions which prevent the barbecue option being available outdoors and perhaps this was not communicated clearly to you.

With regards to the canapés, during the summer we change our evening canapés to chocolate dipped strawberries in order to keep these treats seasonal, however I have taken your comments on board and will look into the presentation of these.

I would like once again to apologise for the inconsistent service and for not meeting your expectations and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Yours sincerely
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Hotel was wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast as advertised. Location great and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deserttravelers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The great strength of this hotel is its staff - I don't think I have ever met such cheerful and helpful staff in any other U.K. hotel.

The hotel is only a few yards from the British Museum which puts it within easy walking distance of all the attractions of central London. It is situated on a quiet street with little traffic and quite distant from the nearest "busy" road. That means that it is quiet, a special boon whilst we were there as it meant that with temperatures in the high 20s and low 30s we were able to have an undisturbed sleep with our window open. It was actually quieter to do this than keep the air conditioning on throughout the night. Because we had read that some rooms are on the small side we opted to go for one of the bigger rooms - a "Bloomsbury King" - and we had no cause for complaint on the score of room size. There was no mini-bar in the room but who needed that when the bar downstairs stayed open until 2am and free bottled water was brought to your room at any time. Otherwise all mod. cons were provided for.

Breakfast was an extra but we didn't partake in deference to enlarging waistlines so cannot comment. We had Sunday lunch and that was the only disappointment. The magazine provided in the room stated that there was a "traditional Sunday lunch" etc but in the event none of the staff knew about it. Of the two main courses that we did have, mine was quite acceptable - nothing to rave about - but my wife's was quite tasteless (I didn't detect any chicken taste in the liquor of her "pot-roast chicken").

However, that was the only disappointment, However, there are a host of very good restaurants of various genres in the area.

I have given a score of 4/5 for value as all hotels of this standard in London are expensive and it took a great deal of heart-searching before I opted to spend so much money for a 5 night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guernsey_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My family and I spent our last 2 nights in London here, and we enjoyed our stay very much! Upon arrival were were warmly greeted and our room, the Duchess Suite, was VERY nice and spacious. The location is in a pretty good place, literally across the street from the British Museum, and withing a 15 minute walk to the National Gallery and Covent Garden, and about a 20 minute walk to Big Ben if you go through Trafalgar Square. The hotel is in the area of Bloomsbury, and the area was nice, although we liked the Mayfair area a bit more. The conceirge was very helpful, Jorge, helped us arrange our transportation needs and assited us with finding good places to eat dinner. The breakfast was delicious at the Montague and was buffet style, which was great! The hotel is also only a 10 minute cab ride to St. Pancras Station and Paddington. Overall, our experience at the Montague was wonderful. I would reccommend this to other families of 4 traveling to London.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris10UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We, two adults and one child, stayed at this hotel during mid-June. Our room rate was a special offer, 5 nights for the price of 4.

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and service- minded. Our room faced the street but there was no noise to disturb us. The breakfast was lovely and the bar snacks we ordered were also very good. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and enjoyed it very much as well. Our daughter was paid lots of attention by the staff, in the form of lots of smiles, a constant supply little chocolate soccer balls (in honor of the ongoing world championship) as well as a large chocolate bar when we checked out.

And the location is great for families, with Russell Square Gardens and Coram's Fields (lots of playground equipment) nearby. The garden behind the hotel is off-limits to anyone other than the professionals who keep it looking so nice.

There is nothing negative to report about this hotel. It was a very positive experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,069 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $219 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing